The First Day of My Knitting Blog

Well, I never thought that I would start a blog, but here I am!!!

My knitting history: My mother taught me to knit when I was a kid. I attempted 2 blue scarves in the garter stitch and never finished either one. My attempts looked horrible, too (i.e. gaping holes everywhere and shrinking width due to lost stitches). I gave up knitting for about 15 years, and during that time my mother didn’t knit either. Recently, she started started up again. Over Thanksgiving 2004, we went to a knitting store together (Creative Hands in San Carlos) and I was inspired to start knitting. I picked up 2 balls of Trendsetter’s Blossom yarn and a pair of Brittany size 11 needles to knit myself a scarf. (As a side note, I ended up frogging the scarf at least 5 times and later gave the yarn to my mother because I didn’t like knitting with it. She tried to knit with it and she doesn’t like it either!) The same weekend, I went to Rumpelstiltskin in Sacramento to search for a knitting book because I didn’t know how to do anything other than cast on and knit. I ended up with Stitch N Bitch, and it has become one of my main reference books. Since then, I’ve been knitting away…I have completed 5 scarves as gifts and have 2 more in progress for myself. Hopefully I will eventually move on to knitting other items! I also discovered the Knitter’s Review forum and have found a wonderful community of knitters who are great at encouraging newbies!

On the needles right now:
(1) Manos “so-called scarf” in Wildflowers
(2) Debbie Bliss Cashmerino double seed stitch scarf in light purple

