Scarves

Last night I worked on my in-progress scarves for about half an hour each. It’s funny because I love the look of the so-called scarf , but I don’t particularly like knitting it. Maybe it’s because I’m using big needles (#11) and I still think my stitches are too tight…or maybe it’s because this one just takes more work! On the other hand, I love knitting the double seed stitch scarf in Debbie Bliss cashmerino, but I’m not in love with the pattern. I like it and think it looks nice, but I wouldn’t say that it’s my all-time favorite. Maybe I like this one more because I’m using “small” needles (#8) and it only requires the basics.

I’m still trying to figure out whether I want to start another project right now. And if I do, what should I start? I’d like to knit the Lacy Scarf from VKOTG Chunky Scarves and Hats, but it’s going to take some time to get that one rolling because I need to figure out the first row of the actual pattern. I was having trouble matching the number of stitches on my needles to what the pattern calls for. I posted on KR about it, and one member actually tried the directions twice and they worked for her. (I thought it was so nice that she actually knitted it!) If they worked for her, then I must be doing wrong. I need to go back and troubleshoot some more…Another potential project is to try knitting a scarf using a lace pattern from Barbara Walker’s Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns.

One Comment on “Scarves”

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hello. I thought I’d stop by and see how things are going on your new blog. It appears that another thing we have in common is the color pink (I used it on my new blog too). How do you think the first day went? Are you telling your family and friends about your blog?Now, on to the scarves. I think you might qualify as a scarf professional by now. I’m actually going to make another scarf for a friend – a good luck piece for when she takes the bar exam. It’s the super skinny scarf from the Hollywood Knits book. Have you looked at it yet? Good luck with your blog. I’ll try to check back in regularly. Maybe I’ll try to put a link to your blog on my blog – sounds complicated, but maybe I can figure it out.