Scarves Part II

Yesterday I asked a KR member for more help on the Lacy Scarf from VKOTG Chunky Scarves and Hats. She was kind enough to provide additional insight, and last night I made another attempt at knitting it. But it still didn’t work for me and I got a bit frustrated. So this morning I went to Rumpelstiltskin with the hopes that I could ask one of their saleswomen for help. Amazingly, there was only one other person in the store and the saleswoman was free and didn’t mind looking at the pattern with me. First she counted out the stitches and came up with the same total that I did (which is the wrong number). Then she actually took out her own personal knitting and tried knitting the problem row. She encountered the same issue that I did. She also thinks that she knit it correctly. So when I got home, I sent an email to Vogue Knitting asking for clarification about the pattern. Maybe we’re both misunderstanding it, or maybe there really is an error.

Last night I really got into a good groove with the Manos scarf. I made a lot of progress between last night and today. I’m pretty surprised because it’s 30″ long already and I haven’t even finished the first hank. And this hank was cut short by my discarded wrong attempts, so when I’m done knitting two hanks it should be over 60″ long. I’m a bit concerned about the “wrong” side, though, because the stitches on one edge look loose.

Since I’m not going to be working on the Lacy Scarf just quite yet, I think I might start knitting the Felted Marsupial Tote from Stitch N Bitch. That should be a challenge because the pattern calls for skills I haven’t done yet (like picking up stitches and knitting in the round).

Below are photos of my works in progress…


Manos del Uruguay “so-called scarf”


Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran scarf in double seed stitch

3 Comments on “Scarves Part II”

  1. Cyndi says:

    Hi Caitlyn. Your Manos scarf is looking great! Send me an e-mail when you get a chance… turns out we live in the same city. Maybe we can get together to knit sometime. I have yet to visit Rumpelstiltskin… I’ve heard it is a fabulous store. Have fun finishing your scarves!

  2. caitlyn says:

    Hi CyndiLu,Thanks for your comment! I haven’t figured out how to email you, so instead I will leave you a private message at the KR forum. =)Caitlyn

  3. Stephanie says:

    I love the “so-called scarf” and have actually been thinking about trying it. I was just looking at the pattern and wondering if it was something I should attempt. Another thing we have in common. I can’t wait to see it when it’s done.