Felted Marsupial Tote


Felted Marsupial Tote: The Beginning

Last night I started knitting the Felted Marsupial Tote from Stitch N Bitch and it’s been an interesting experience so far. Lots of “firsts” involved…first time knitting on circular needles (and I really like the Addi Turbos, by the way), first time knitting with two strands at once, first time picking up stitches, and first time joining the round. I had a lot of difficulty picking up stitches. First I picked them up in the wrong order and then had to put some stitches on a holder so that I could correct the order. Aside from that, I think I did it right along the sides but I’m not so sure about the cast-on edge. If I picked up the stitches incorrectly, will my bag be completely messed up? As for joining the round, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be but even with the stitch markers I have a hard time remember how far I have gotten in a particular round. LOL

So the picture above is supposed to show the bottom of the tote…I say “supposed to” because I’m a little skeptical. The bottom of this bag looks nothing like the bag in the picture…Ummm…maybe it will change after felting? I certainly hope so. So far, though, I really like knitting with the Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted.

3 Comments on “Felted Marsupial Tote”

  1. Ruth says:

    hi hi hi! just wanted to say hey and that you have very lovely pieces that you’re working on hee hee =) Also, guess what! while i was cooking dinner, i sliced part of my finger.. the right side of my left first finger. i was so devastated… i tried knitting with a bandaid and it still hurt too much… i’m out of commission for awhile (even typing hurts) =(

  2. Anonymous says:

    It’s brave of you to try something other than scarves. My first knitting project was a dog sweater which I crocheted together because I had no skills other than garter stitch. You are on your way now.Debra

  3. caitlyn says:

    Ruth,I’m so sorry to hear about your finger! =( Last week I slammed my thumb against the bottom of a hard wooden desk (don’t ask) and my first thought was “can I still knit”? =) I hope it heals quickly.Debra,Thank you for the encouragement! =)