I Finished the Marsupial Tote!!!

I am soooooooo excited that I finished knitting the Marsupial Tote!!! YAY!!!!


Marsupial Tote before felting

So now I have to felt it. I read the Felting Basics chapter from Felted Knits, and I bought a zippered pillow protector from Target (thanks for the tip, Cyndi!). I couldn’t find any Ivory Flakes at Longs (where can you find Ivory Flakes?), so I guess I will wait my Eucalan to arrive and use that. I don’t know if I’ll have time to felt during the week — maybe I’ll wait until next weekend.

I am concerned about a few things with the bag, though. First, the bag looks really long. The photo in SnB shows that it’s supposed to be wide, not long. Also, the proportion of hot pink to green seems to be off. I think I followed the pattern correctly with regards to the number of rows, but in the book’s photo the strip of hot pink at the top seems to be much bigger. Lastly, the handles are curling!!! I certainly hope that felting will resolve these problems. If not, then I’ll have to try again!! I have enough yarn left over to knit a slightly smaller version of this tote. I will just have to reverse the colors, which I wouldn’t mind at all since I love hot pink.

As for my Peruvian Collection Highland Chunky poncho, it’s coming along slowly. I have knit about 7 inches so far. I don’t think I have enough yarn — I’m short at least a skein. So if you have an extra skein of the Highland Chunky in malt heather (color #208) and are willing to part with it, please let me know!!! I have already posted on KR and the Elann Swap Center, but no one has responded.

I haven’t touched my purple cashmerino double seed stitch scarf in over week. I’m about a third of the way through. Right now I’m not too excited about it. So I guess it will have to sit on the back burner for now.

On a different note, I bought the Winter 2004/2005 issue of Vogue Knitting yesterday. I really like the orange seed stitch jacket on the cover! It’s an intermediate pattern, and after reading through it I know I’m not ready for it, but maybe further down the road. I realized, though, that if the model was wearing the sweater in a different color (like dark blue or black) I probably wouldn’t have bought this issue!!! I’m just drawn to orange!!

3 Comments on “I Finished the Marsupial Tote!!!”

  1. Stephanie says:

    I really like your tote and can’t wait to see what it looks like after you’ve felted it. I’ve never done any felting so I can’t help you with your questions – sorry. Hopefully someone will come through on the yarn you need. Have a good week.

  2. Gracie says:

    Cute cute bag! I can’t wait to see the felted bag!Don’t you just love the VK issue? I adore it. It is one of my favs – I just want to make everything!

  3. bluFELICIA says:

    I like the colors of the bag. If you haven’t already felted it yet, I have found one way to get a great felt result is to put a bunch of clean tennis balls in the wash for friction. I was able to felt down a terrific bag with the tennis balls, and it only took about 20 minutes of agitation in super-hot water. Don’t worry about the length-it truly will work itself out in the wash!blufelicia http://blufelicia.typepad.com