I felted for the first time!

I felted the Marsupial Tote on Friday!!! It’s still drying, but here is a quick photo:

It took about an hour to felt. I used Eucalan and threw in 2 pairs of old jeans with the bag. The finished dimensions are 11.5″ high by 10″ wide (at the longest points). It feels pretty thick. I am happy with it because I think it’s the perfect size for me! But it’s not the size indicated in the pattern…according to Stitch N Bitch, it’s supposed to be 10″ high by 13″ wide. I wish I had measured the tote before I felted it. My feeling is that it was never 13″ wide even before felting. As I mentioned last week, my bag is a lot taller while the tote shown in the book is a lot wider. Actually I think I ended up with a purse, not a tote. =) LOL Fortunately I don’t mind, but I wonder why my bag wasn’t as wide as it was supposed to be? I must admit that I didn’t knit a test swatch to check my gauge…uhhh…did that have anything to do with it?

Random thoughts and questions I had during the felting process:
1. I wish the Eucalan smelled better. It made my whole laundry area (as well as the surrounding rooms) smell very chemical-ly.
2. When I keep resetting the washer to prevent it from rinsing and spinning, no new hot water is added. So over the course of the hour that it took to felt, I assume that the water gets progressively colder. Maybe not by much, but at least a little, right? Would this slow down the felting process?
3. After the object has reached the desired size and you remove it from the pillow protector, what do you do with the pillow protector? I zipped it up and threw it back in the washer and let the cycle finish out. After washing, I picked the lint balls out of the pillow protector. Then I threw the jeans and the protector into the dryer. I really hope that the pillow protector contained the lint because the last thing I need is a broken washer. When we get a new washer/dryer set, I will have to be especially careful!

I went to Joanns Superstore today to purchase a snap for the bag. The pattern just says “attach snap to center of tote opening.” I admit that I am very sewing-challenged. I hope that I just have to use regular sewing thread to attach the snaps, and that the needle is strong enough to go through the felt.

Overall, I had fun felting and am looking forward to trying it again! I have enough Lamb’s Pride Worsted left over to make a another (slighly smaller) Marsupial Tote. The leftovers might also be enough for the Buttonhole Bag shown here (scroll down to the January 24th blog entry). The Buttonhole bag looks so cute! I already have 3 skeins of the Noro Kureyon for the Booga bag. And I have enough Manos to make a felted tote with a pattern from Two Old Bags. And then there is the cute Fiber Trends Sheep Tote that I saw from Cyndi…well, at least I’m not short on felting options!!! =)

Going back to my trip to Joanns — they were having a sale on bamboo purse handles, so I bought a set for the Chinese Charm bag from Stitch N Bitch. I actually wanted to make this before I made the Felted Marsupial Bag, but I had no idea what yarn to use. The pattern calls for Noro Gemstones and when I looked previously I couldn’t find it anywhere online. But once I find an appropriate yarn I’m all set with the handles. =)

In other knitting news…

I did start the Klaralund on Thursday night. I always think that I will have more time to knit than I actually do, so while I thought I could knit all Thursday night, all I really accomplished was the test swatch and 2 rows of the first side. =) Right now it’s all of 5″ long. I’m not sure how I feel about the Noro Silk Garden quite yet. The colors are beautiful, and I haven’t had any problems with the yarn snagging. The downsides are that some parts of the yarn get really thin, and there is all this “linty”-type stuff. Some the “lint” is the same color as the yarn, while some of it is light brown. From reading a thread on the KR Forum, I’ve gotten the impression that maybe this “lint” is vegetable matter? I have no idea what vegetable matter is. Anyway, I will post a photo of the sweater once I progress a bit more.

My Cloud Poncho is about one-fourth done now. I will make myself finish this one before starting the Union Square poncho, which gives me more of an incentive to finish!

Gotta go knit now!

One Comment on “I felted for the first time!”

  1. Lu says:

    Way to go! I have never felted ….. yet.