First side of Klaralund done

The first side of the Klaralund is off the needles!

It’s really hard to take a picture that doesn’t distort the colors. If I could I would have taken it during daylight hours.

So I did something I probably shouldn’t have done. You see that green strip near the top? That green strip is where I started a new skein. The color right before it is purple, so there is literally no “fade” between the purple and green. I probably should have picked a skein that started with purple, but at that point I was really tired of the purple-y pinks and really wanted to see some green. I didn’t want this side to have just one teensy bit of green.

All of a sudden I’ve been plagued with self-doubts about knitting the Klaralund. I wanted it smaller than what is in the pattern so I purposely knit with a tighter gauge, but what if the sweater is too small? I cut an inch off the length because I didn’t want it to be too long, but what if it’s too short? And (this is a biggie) what if I ruin the sweater because I can’t seam it right??? I’ve never seamed before!! Maybe I will feel better about this when I’m less tired.

6 Comments on “First side of Klaralund done”

  1. Sarita says:

    I think it loooks great and I think the green looks cool. I also think you have a valid concern about the seams – one I am having too about my first sweater. Is there a friend who can help you? Or a local yarn shop you can go to for help? It seems this is one of those things you should be shown and not interpret from a book. But, that is just my idea – I am worried about myself. But, you look like you are a much better knitter than me – so you might be ok!

  2. Stephanie says:

    As you know, I don’t have a LYS and I’ve made two sweaters. I figured out how to sew them together using Stitch N’ Bitch – her directions are fabulous. If you follow them step by step, you can’t mess up! They’re really easy to follow and make great sense (I found her’s better than Vogue Knitting and Yarn Girls’, but I read them all before I started). I really like your colors and I know that you will finish it fabulously. Just have a little faith in your own abilities.

  3. Agnes says:

    Hi Caitlyn,Thanks for stopping by my blog and leave the comment.I think your Klaralund looks great … if you didn’t tell, I wouldn’t have noticed the transition between green and purple without a “fade”. So, don’t worry too much. Keep on working on it.Your felted bag is really cute too. I also made a small purse recently … just wondering when I would get the chance to use it. 🙂

  4. Lori says:

    i think it looks good. I didn’t notice the distinct color change. Great colorway.

  5. caitlyn says:

    Sarita, Stephanie, Agnes, Carolyn, and Lori — thanks for the kind words and encouragement! =) I will be sure to read the seams section of Stitch N Bitch and Vogue Knitting. Will let you all know how it goes! Happy knitting!

  6. Carolyn says:

    Caitlyn, it looks great! Tony thinks so, too…he used to be impressed with my knitting…until I showed him what you’ve made! I think the green looks really nice; it blends in because of the variegated colors you’ve used. As for the seams, don’t worry! Haven’t you figured everything else out? =)