Bolero and Irish Walking Hat

Thank you for the comments and suggestions about the Fiery Bolero. I appreciated all of your input. =o) I will block it later this week and see if it looks any better. If it doesn’t, it will go to the bottom of my knitting basket, waiting for a time when either the holes won’t bother me or I have the motivation to rip back and re-knit the ribbing.

Meanwhile, I finished the Irish Walking Hat! It’s a bit bigger than what I wanted, so if I knit this again I would probably remove one repeat. I think this one will still fit the intended recipient, though. It needs blocking, but here it is anyway:

I don’t have anything on the needles right now. I’m debating between starting an Artyarns ZigZag scarf or the Clapotis again. Both would be Christmas gifts. I’m already a bit concerned that I won’t finish my Christmas presents in time. I might have set my expectations just a tad too high, though, like…does my mother need a Branching Out, a Clapotis, and a Flower Basket Shawl all at once? Probably not, right? =o) Maybe I will do the Flower Basket Shawl later and give it as a birthday present in February. That might be more realistic.

In our culinary adventure of the week, DH and I tried another Rachel Ray recipe — Emmanuel’s Pasta, Peas, Proscuitto, and Onion. It actually looked decent enough to be photographed.

I doubled the amount of crushed red peppers and garlic, and the sauce had a nice kick to it. We both loved the spicy flavor and the light texture of the sauce, but next time we will probably use Aidell’s Sausages instead of proscuitto. Neither of us had tried proscuitto before, and found that we didn’t like the texture or the taste. But overall, the pasta was still yummy and the recipe is a keeper!

5 Comments on “Bolero and Irish Walking Hat”

  1. Stephanie says:

    Yummy – your pasta looks great. I like your hat – the color and pattern are great.

  2. Gracie says:

    Yum yum yum! I love Rachel Ray – she is a staple in my house (besides Paula Deen). I think the hat looks great!

  3. Catherine Kerth says:

    pasta pasta pasta *says cookies monster* yummy! hat looks wonderful, i am working on the scarf:)

  4. jsl says:

    you may already have one, but i have a rachael ray cookbook. let me know if you ever want to thumb through it for more recipes.

  5. Ruth says:

    1. hat – pretty! of course, i love the color hehe2. pasta – wow, so yummy looking! i’m sure todd loved it =)