Clapotis

In mid-June, I tried knitting a Clapotis for myself and ran into numerous problems. After struggling for two weeks and becoming super frustrated, I frogged the entire thing and put the project on the back burner.

Last Tuesday, I decided to start the Clapotis again. This time around, I am using the Lorna’s Laces Lion and Lamb because this Clapotis is a Christmas present for my mother. And guess what? I haven’t run into any problems!!! I got through the entire increase section without frogging any of it! Here is a photo taken right after I finished the increases:

The colorway is #205 Irving Park. Right now, I am on the third repeat of the straight rows section. I’m so thrilled that this Clapotis is going well, though I’m not sure exactly why I had so many problems in my previous attempt. The pattern doesn’t seem that hard at all. Maybe the time away from it allowed me to get a fresh perspective and move away from the frustration. By the way, I love, love, love Lion and Lamb. It is incredibly soft and easy to knit with. But I am slightly worried about not having enough yarn, especially after reading about what happened to Cyndi. I only have 3 skeins (which I got months ago), and the store that I bought them from doesn’t have any more. I bumped up my needle size to 9 (instead of using 8 as directed in the pattern) so that my knitting wouldn’t be so tight. I already cut out 1 repeat from the increase section, and I’m planning to cut 2 repeats from the straight rows section, so I hope I have enough. I’ve been going back and forth about whether I should just buy another skein from a different dyelot so that I can make it to the full length. What are your thoughts about that?

The in-progress Fiery Bolero came off the blocking board, and unfortunately blocking didn’t improve the issues that were bothering me. So the Bolero will be resting at the bottom of my knitting basket until I decide what I want to do with it.

In cooking news of the week…do you want to guess what DH and I cooked? =o) Yup, another Rachel Ray pasta recipe: Gran’pa Emmanuel’s Macaroni with Sausage and Cannellini . It looks pretty similar to last week’s pasta, so no new picture. All three of her pasta recipes that we’ve tried basically have the same base, so they have all been good and they all taste about the same. This week, we used Aidell’s Chicken and Apple Sausage in place of the bulk hot Italian sausage and bulk sweet Italian sausage. And I didn’t add cannellini beans. It still tasted good. I told DH that next week we’ll make something with rice since we have made pasta two weeks in a row.

Lastly, when we were in the Bay Area yesterday, my mother and I stopped by Creative Hands in San Carlos. I really wanted to go there because it’s where I bought the yarn for my first knitting project last November! And now that I know I little more about yarn, I wanted to see their selection. It was great. =) The ladies who work there are also really nice and helpful. I exercised great self-restraint and didn’t buy more yarn (which I don’t need anyway) — I just picked up a pair of Addis and a shawl pattern (which I did need). But if you live the South Bay, Creative Hands is having a sale next Saturday (August 20) from 10am to 4pm — 10% off everything (15% off if you are a member of their club).

Hope you have a great week! Happy knitting!

7 Comments on “Clapotis”

  1. tabbytuxedo says:

    I make that same Rachael Ray recipe all the time. Love it! I’m making a Rachael Ray recipe tonight too, a fish stew.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’m so glad Clapotis is going good for you this time around. I would be leary of a different dye lot unless you could look at it and see that it looks pretty much the same. It sounds like most people have only run out by a little bit, so I think by cutting the few rows out you’ll be ok. Maybe someone who’s knit it will be able to provide you with a better opinion.

  3. Agnes says:

    Thanks for the heads up on the sale. Congrats on the Clapotis … if the size is okay, I’d rather not bother with another dyelot.

  4. Lynette says:

    I really like the yarn you picked out for Clapotis, and your progress on the shawl looks great!

  5. Ruth says:

    i love chicken apple sausage. i use it in baked pasta sometimes. =) and good job with the clapotis – glad that it’s better the second time around!

  6. Diana says:

    Amazing, the success that can be had with luxury yarn. Hope cutting out the extra increases works!

  7. Gracie says:

    Clapotis is looking great. I think all of that “practice” you got in before helped. I would be leary of another dyelot as well. And, depending on your mom’s size and how big she likes shawls/scarves it may be ok. It looks wonderful though!