Another Sophie Bag

A couple of weeks ago, I completed Sophie Bag #2, which will be a Christmas gift for my sister-in-law.

I made several unsuccessful attempts to line Sophie Bag #1. After wasting fabric with my failed attempts, I decided to take a bag-lining class from Knitique in November. I’m looking forward to getting these two bags truly finished!

There isn’t much knitting news to report. I have been feeling very overwhelmed with having multiple projects on the needles. I feel like I’m not making much progress with anything. I decided that I would finish DH’s ribbed scarf, the ZigZag modular scarf for my sister, and the Tivoli tee before moving on to the Kepler, Freida, and Salina sweaters. It was a hard decision to make, because I’m so excited about knitting the sweaters, but I am really bothered by the fact that I’m not finishing anything. I really, really need to switch to a one-project-at-a-time approach!

In cooking news, DH and I recently tried a Pasta Primavera recipe from Cooking Light’s Superfast Weeknight Dinners. I was a little bit skeptical about whether I would like it (can you really make pasta sauce from just a little bit of white wine, whipping cream, and lemon juice?), but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the dish was really yummy! And the answer to the question is yes, you can make pasta sauce with just a bit of white wine, whipping cream, and lemon juice!


Many thanks to our friend Jeannie for giving us the wonderful pan that fits an entire pound of pasta plus veggies!

Lastly, thanks to everyone who looked at my de-stashing sale. I have added several more items and reduced a few prices, so please take a look.

Have a wonderful week!

5 Comments on “Another Sophie Bag”

  1. Agnes says:

    The bag is really really cute … and the colour is lovely too! Very interested in the class you’re going to take … keep us posted of what you learn, will you? I tried felting a swatch during the weekend but got strange result. The swatch just shrunk in length but increased in width! Don’t know what was going on!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh that pasta looks delicious! I need to get that book. The sophie bag is lovely and I’m interested in what you learn in your class. I too had to make the decision to finish up a couple of things rather than start soemthing new (Frieda) and it was hard, but I feel much better about it now.

  3. Julie says:

    Great Sophie! Love the color!

  4. Jen says:

    man that sophie is CUUUUUUTE. 🙂

  5. jsl says:

    i’m glad the pan is coming in handy. let me know what other recipes are yummy so i can try them myself.

    by the way… the sophie bag looks really nice. i’m sure you sis ‘n law will love it!