A Tivoli Treat

Tivoli6.jpg

Once I got into a groove (which was after the bust section), Tivoli went fairly quickly. As you might recall, I started with the 28-inch size, but it was much too small. So I switched to the 32-inch size, all the while afraid that it would turn out too big. It is a little bit loose, but it’s not overly baggy and I think I can get away with it. One reason is that my gauge was too tight. Guess my swatch wasn’t that accurate. (Well, I did use a different color yarn and knit it flat, so I’m not entirely surprised.)

There are a couple of technique questions I have related to Tivoli. First of all, my SSK decreases look horrid. Blocking didn’t do much for it.

Tivoli7.jpg

My first thought was that maybe SSK is a relatively “messier” decrease? I did SKPs with my Sophie Bags and they looked just fine. So after 3 decreases using SSK, I switched over to SKP. I didn’t notice any difference at all. I swear that my SKP decreases with Sophie don’t look all jagged like that!! They look neat, just like my k2togs. Can I blame the messiness on cotton versus wool, or is there some other reason? I looked on Knitting Help, and Amy shows an “SSK improved” where you slip the first stitch knitwise and the second one purlwise. Have any of you tried this SSK?

The second issue is with the M1 increases. I checked Vogue Knitting to make sure that I did the M1Rs and M1Ls correctly. Vogue Knitting claims that these two increases are “practically invisible.”

Tivoli8.jpg

I see holes and a jagged line, so I don’t know that I would describe the increases as invisible. Perhaps the operative word is “practically”? Does everyone else have holes with M1s? Or do you use a different type of increase? Jen and I had a brief discussion over email, and she suggested using raised increases instead.

In spite of my less-than-perfect decreases and increases, I’m happy with Tivoli! I should get to wear her a few times before the weather turns cold!

19 Comments on “A Tivoli Treat”

  1. grumperina says:

    It looks great and fits so well! Some yarns are more prone to show decreases and increases than others… and although it’s a bit irrelevant, I use the SSK where you slip the second p-wise all the time, on all projects :). This info is irrelevant because I can’t comment on how much difference it actually makes!

  2. Agnes says:

    It fits you very well! How’s the weather in your area? Maybe you can still wear it during the coming weekend? Don’t worry about the decreases and increases … treat them as decorative details … 🙂

  3. Angela says:

    It looks great! You’ll only know about it’s true fit after you wear it a few times. Hopefully it won’t stretch out that much and if it does, hope it bounces back after a wash.

    I usually do SSKs, I find that the SKP leaves a gap. But my SSKs NEVER look as neat as my K2TOGs. I have heard of doing some kind of slipping trick like you mentioned, but never tried it. I think Bonne Marie did some kind of test regarding cleaning up how the SSKs looked, but I don’t remember her results. You may want to try checking her website.

  4. ruth says:

    wow, it looks REALLY good! and it fits you really well! great job! and about the M1s, i get holes too, no matter how tight i pull the yarn. frustrating. i DID try the “improved” SSK only once and i vaguely remember that it ended up not as obvious as the SSK, a little better.. but still not as nice as my k2tog’s. maybe i ought to try it more often and it’ll get better..? i dunno. =P (p.s. i hear that it might get back into the 90’s next week so you’re in luck – summer is still lingering enough for you to wear your tivoli!) =)

  5. jacqueline says:

    it looks fantastic! i know you think it is a little bit baggy – but i think you have done an excellent job. hopefully the fit will stay constant…otherwise you might need a fierce blocking later on. (cotton is so unpredictable). as far as the best decreases – i am not one to ask because i have also had the same issues. i can add that what is unnoticable in wool ‘stands out like dogs balls’ in cotton. (i have a feeling that the phrase i placed in inverted commas – is one of those true australianism…but i am sure you get the meaning!)

  6. blossom says:

    it looks gorgeous!! and a perfect color for the fall, too. i would not worry about the holes for inc. either, that happens to some yarns.

  7. Heather says:

    Wow..that looks fantastic! I LOVE the color! Wooza. Anyway..I always have problems with my ssk. I swear I wsn’t doiong them right forever, I always had that big bar. The funny thing is, every time I look them up in different knitting books, they have different directions. The only one I’ve had any sort of luck blending in is where you – slip knitwise, slip knitwise, put them back on the left needle twisted and then k2tog. Depending on the yarn, they seem to lay better that way. I’m sure that’s not a real ssk though. Or maybe that is a real ssk and I’ve been confused this whole time! LOL! 🙂

  8. Diana says:

    Tivoli looks excellent! I agree with Agnes that the visible increases and decreases look right on Tivoli. They are part of the style 🙂 Sometimes the M1 increases produce hole for me too.. and sometimes not. It seems to depend on the yarn.

  9. Lolly says:

    I think this looks stunning on you, Caitlyn! and I quite like the visible decreases and increases. I am looking forward to making one of these next spring. So pretty 🙂

  10. Jennifer says:

    Your tivoli looks fab! I’ve got the same problem with my ssk. I’m not sure what the deal it. Bonne Marie was complaining about hers a little while back as well. I think the sweater looks wonderful on you and the color is beautiful.

  11. Stephanie says:

    It looks fabulous. I, like Grumperina, always use the “improved” SSK where you slip the second stitch purlwise, but I don’t really know if it makes much difference. You really did a nice job!

  12. Elspeth says:

    It looks great! That was my problem, the increases. My M1s had huge holes and my whole SNB couldn’t decide which went to the left and which to the right so I ended up just KFB for each increase instead. Which is fine because in all the stitch marker confusion I did the increases and decreases at the wrong spot so they’re not in the front middle of the top. Congrats on finishing!

  13. gleek says:

    very very nice! i love it! by the way, what yarn did you use and how much? i’ve been thinking about doing this as well, but was wondering if i had something in my stash i could use instead of running to get yarn.

  14. Purly Whites says:

    The sweater is fabulous!! You did a great job.

    I’ve noticed that the M1 increases show up more in cotton yarn.

  15. emy says:

    Cotton always tends to show up the flaws more unfortunately. I usually nudge them into shape a little if they are too *out there* 🙂

  16. Mintyfresh says:

    My ssks looked just like yours! I wonder if it’s just inevitable. You did a great job–fits you beautifully.

  17. looks awesome! i love that color with your skin… i thin the SSK’s look good….the increases too.

  18. Emily says:

    Wow, your Tivoli is beautiful. I actually think it looks very similar to mine (which you can check out on the KAL website). I was wondering what yarn you used– I saw you mentin wool somewhere, and I was looking for more detail. Thanks!

  19. Jen says:

    Tivoli looks good, especially the color! And the fit is definitely not too loose, at least from the picture.

    Also, for the increases, I feel like I get tiny holes for the raised increases since they stitch that is lifted from the rows below aren’t twisted like they are on M1 increases. They aren’t that noticeable unless you have OCD like I do.