Another Diversion

Last night I decided I wanted a hat, and this afternoon I finished this:

NoroHat1.jpg

Meet the Rolled Edge Stocking Cap that uses one skein of Noro Kureyon. This is my fastest project ever! Part of why I knit it in less than a day is because I couldn’t wait to watch the colors change. But to be honest, when I bought this skein, I had no idea that there were so many colors in this colorway (#148). I thought it was just pink and purple. Here is another view of the hat (unrolled) so that you can see more of the colors:

NoroHat3.jpg

And here is the top color:

NoroHat2.jpg

A minor heads-up if you knit this hat — gauge is not specified in the pattern (not that I would have checked anyway). I am a tight knitter and I followed the directions exactly. I had very little leftover yarn. So if you are a very loose knitter, you might need to make some adjustments or use a tad bit more than one skein.

I liked this knit so much that I already picked out another colorway for hat #2! If my sister likes the second one, then it will be for her. If not, then it’s another one for me!!


15 Comments on “Another Diversion”

  1. Julia says:

    I I ❤ Kureyon hats! I knit one for my little cousin, one for me out of leftover scraps from 2 balls (so it's extra rainbow-y), and I've got another in the queue to knit out of silk garden. I used the colorway you showed for your second hat to knit my felted Sophie bag. It's a really awesome pallette. Have fun!

  2. ruth says:

    wow, it was a VERY quick knit! and exactly 1 skein! it looks really great and i like the colors. i think your next skein is going to make a really cute hat for sister. but i agree with you – if she doesn’t like it, well, then all the better for you to keep!! =)

  3. Jennifer says:

    Very cute and only one skein!

  4. Lolly says:

    Nothing like efficiency! Very cute hat, and pretty colors! 😉

    Thanks again for that card!

  5. Gracie says:

    Cute hat! That is what I love about hats, they don’t take too long to make, they are pretty instant gratification. Especially baby hats.

  6. jacqueline says:

    great hat! and a quick project is a good project in my books.

  7. marichan says:

    I love making hats now! I’ll have to try that pattern for myself. Isn’t it great that a project can be knit up in a day? Graet job!

  8. Diana says:

    Nice! The Kureyon’s striping works great in a hat 🙂

  9. Stephanie says:

    Cute hat! I love the colors and that it took 1 skein and a day to knit. It’s pretty hard to beat that.

  10. Heather says:

    Wow, the hat looks awesome! I love the colors too. Great job, I’m sure your sister will like hers too 🙂

  11. Nyasha says:

    Stop Caitlyn! LOL, You are pushing me to finish, anything. Good for you, your hat is gorgeous. Great Job!

  12. blossom says:

    oh i love the hat. i’m usually not a hat person but i do love making them, and wearing them for like 5 mins between my car and my lab.

    (ok, going to LYS and scout out some kureyon!)

  13. Heather says:

    CUTE HAT!! I LOVE it!!!! i’ve been feeling the hat bug lately too, this looks like a good pattern..

  14. Elli says:

    Nice! I like the little lavender splotch on the top. So cute.

  15. Lynda says:

    Hi Caitlyn

    I’m Enjoying your knit site. I came across your site while looking for a knitting group for my daughter and I to join. Are you still meeting on the third sunday at Borders and are you still looking for people to join you? We wouold love love it if you where.
    Thanks Lynda