Frieda Sweater

First, I would like to thank you for your kind and encouraging comments about my Kepler Sweater! Right now I think I will put it aside for awhile and re-visit it later when I’m less frustrated with the project.

In other sweater news…I am happy to report that the Frieda Sweater from Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk is going well! I finished the back last week and am currently working on the front.

Freida1.jpg

Freida2.jpg

I love watching the cable pattern develop! This is my first project that involves shaping while knitting a pattern (i.e. not stockinette), so initially I had difficulty understanding the instructions. Being a visual learner, I ended up making tables to map out the increases and decreases by row. That helped me immensely. I also had an “a-ha!” moment when I discovered that I misread the pattern. I thought it said that the 4th and 11th rows make up the cable pattern. I was really confused by this for a minute before I realized that it actually read “the 4th to 11th rows form the cable pattern.” Ah. One word makes a huge difference, doesn’t it? It’s not quite turtleneck-sweater-weather here yet (still had 70-degree weather this past week), but I hope to finish it in time for winter.

16 Comments on “Frieda Sweater”

  1. lyn says:

    That’s really lovely and your cables are beautiful 🙂

  2. yahaira says:

    That color is beautiful. The cables are looking great. I’m glad you were able to Kepler aside to figure out a plan of attack for it. It’ll be worth it

  3. Jennifer says:

    That is a gorgeous color. Are you using Alpaca Silk or a sub?

  4. Heather says:

    It looks beautiful and you’ve gotten a lot done already! I love Debbie Bliss patterns! What yarn are you using?

  5. Angela says:

    Looks good so far! I’m glad your frustrations with Kepler haven’t prevented you from knitting sweaters. =)

  6. blossom says:

    very pretty pink and cables!! freida is a great looking sweater, i think you will did a great job. sorry about your kepler, i think letting it sit for a while and revisiting it later is a v. good idea. maybe it’ll grow on you.

  7. Cyndi says:

    Looking good! I have yet to wear my Frieday – darn warm weather. I’m sure you’ll be done with yours before it gets cold enough to wear it. 🙂

  8. jacqueline says:

    Freida is looking gorgeous! it is going to be just fantastic.

    I am sure you will conquer your Kepler blues. But for the time being it is probably a good idea to give it a break.

  9. Lolly says:

    That is an amazing color. I can’t wait to see this one, Caitlyn!

  10. Julia says:

    Oh my God, that looks great! What a lovely shade of pink! I bet this one’s fun to knit, can’t wait to see more.

  11. Stephanie says:

    Frieda looks great and you’ve been busy knitting her up. Aren’t the cables so pretty? I just love them. I can’t wait to see more.

  12. Gracie says:

    Lovely lovely!! I really like the color, but of course I would because it’s pink! Grace has a ton of cables as well, and I really enjoy working on them!

  13. Purly Whites says:

    So pretty! You are making good progress, too.

  14. ruth says:

    ok, first of all, VERY pretty color. VERY you. =) and second, yea, i agree, what’s up with the weird weather!? thanksgiving is 3 days away and we’re still bright and sunny and warm in the 70’s. =P

  15. knit chick says:

    Wow. The cables look awesome. You’re going to have one beautiful sweater when you are done!

  16. MJ says:

    Frieda looks good. I love those chunky braids. DB has a good eye with designing cable sweaters.