Can I Have Just One?

I finished my Ruffles Scarf on Thanksgiving Eve.

Ruffles2.jpg

Ruffles3.jpg

I used 3 full balls of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran. When I finished the first ball, I seriously considered ripping the entire project because the messy short rows were really bothering me. Then I tried on the scarf, and the short rows weren’t very noticeable so I decided to go ahead. I went through the second ball of yarn very quickly. The third ball seemed to take forever to knit. At this point, it crossed my mind that perhaps DB CashAran was not the most ideal yarn for a short rows scarf. While CashAran is super soft, I wouldn’t describe it as “sturdy.” Perhaps the short rows would not have looked so messy on a sturdier yarn? Who knows. I’m just happy that I finished the scarf. And while I can’t have just one chip, I am definitely satisfied with just one Ruffles Scarf.

I will post more later this week about the other projects I worked on over the long weekend. In the meantime, please take a look at my de-stashing blog for the yarns and books I am selling. My knitting preferences have changed in recent months, and I am de-stashing the items that I don’t anticipate using. Thanks for looking!

22 Comments on “Can I Have Just One?”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oooo!! I like it!

  2. lyn says:

    It looks wonderful, I don’t think it is not sturdy at all, in fact your short rows / ruffles are very nicely done! It’s fab!

  3. marichan says:

    I like your Ruffles! The color is great, and you can’t see if your short rows are messy. Great job!

    I had to severly resist the temptation to buy from your de-stashing blog. I should be like you and sell the stash I really, really don’t need!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow..that came out sooooo cute. I think I’ll have to re-evaluate that pattern, I’m starting to really like it.

  5. Lolly says:

    Such a cute pattern, and it looks wonderful on you too, Caitlyn! 😉

  6. blossom says:

    gorgeous color!! and the scarf looks great on you!

  7. jillian says:

    What are you talking about?? Your Ruffles looks great! And I agree, it is a great color for you, and especially nice with the pink sweater!

  8. i love the scarf! what debbie bliss book did it come from again? guess i could go back and check the past posts 🙂 great sock yarn you have for sale… i am sleeping on it… i can’t afford to be spontaneauos!

  9. Angela says:

    Very nice! It came out great!

  10. ruth says:

    wow, yours looks really good!!! that chocolate brown looks so rich and soft! =) hope you had a good thanksgiving holiday!

  11. jacqueline says:

    surprise surprise i am in love with your chocolate brown ruffles. i was also so close to emailing you with my request for this yarn and that yarn that you were destashing but then read the small print. i think you just saved my credit card from some angst.

  12. wendy g says:

    Love the ruffles scarf!

  13. Danielle says:

    Lovely scarf! I see from your stash busting, you might not be knitting socks. I have one almost done, and have so much other knitting, including a Christmas stocking for the shop, it’s on the back burner for now.

  14. Elli says:

    I love the rich brown color. It counters the girliness of the pattern nicely and the result looks very elegant. Now I’m tempted to make one…

  15. Stephanie says:

    I love it. The chocolate is wonderful and it looks great on you.

  16. Gracie says:

    Lovely! The chocolate brown looks great and I know it will be great for the fall!

  17. Nyasha says:

    As always Caitlyn, Wonderful job!

    Hope all is well with the family, and your Thanksgiving was a good one.

  18. bethanie says:

    I made one for my SIL for Christmas – I hated knitting it, but it turned out so nicely. I don’t think I’d knit another one though…

  19. Lori says:

    Awesome!

    I only hope my Ruffle scarf looks as great as yours does. 😉

  20. Katy says:

    I love the scarf–it looks great. Can someone point me in the direction of the pattern?

    Thank you!

  21. katie says:

    That’s beautiful! I have never liked this pattern until now–I think it’s because the white or off-white ones look like someone’s insides to me. But the brown makes it look like a ruffle and not an intestine. =)

  22. Christine says:

    The scarf looks gorgeous. Where can I get the pattern?

    Christine