Arm Warmers

I have a confession to make. I used to think that knitted arm warmers were pointless. I mean, if your hands are cold enough to warrant wearing gloves, then why wear fingerless ones? Won’t your fingers still freeze?

Last week Eunny posted about her Fair Isle arm warmers. I thought they looked beautiful, but I still didn’t think that arm warmers were for me. Then on Thanksgiving day I sat in front of my computer at home without the heater on, and when I got up I realized that my hands were cold. Light bulb moment! If I had arm warmers on, then I would have still been able to type and my palms wouldn’t have been so cold. Duh! And…arm warmers might be good for driving, too! My steering wheel is cold in the morning, but I don’t like wearing gloves when holding the wheel…so maybe arm warmers are the solution? Oooooh, new project!

I searched for a simple arm warmer pattern in my books. There is a neat pattern in Last Minute Knitted Gifts, but it called for 8″ circular needles. Eight inches? Sixteen-inch circs already seem small, so I can’t imagine using eight-inch ones! I guess I could have used DPNs instead. I also found a cabled arm warmer pattern in Stitch N Bitch Nation. I was about to knit this pattern when I remembered the Irish Hiking Wrist Warmers. Bingo!

IrishHikingWristWarmers1.jpg

IrishHikingWristWarmers2.jpg

IrishHikingWristWarmers3.jpg

I used size 8 needles and almost one skein of Elann’s Peruvian Collection Highland Wool in color #4142 (Orchid Pink). I only had a little bit of yarn left. This yarn is itchy, so maybe next time I will use Cascade 220 or my favorite, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino. It was a really quick project — I knit, blocked, and seamed them in 3 days. I have one more skein of Orchid Pink left, so I’m thinking of knitting a pink and brown striped hat to match my arm warmers.

If you know of other cool arm warmer patterns, please send them my way!

On a technical note: can anyone tell me how to use the “future” function on MT to publish posts? I set the status to “future” and then changed the publish date to a future date and time. I was expecting my post to publish at that time but it didn’t…am I missing a step? Thanks in advance!

20 Comments on “Arm Warmers”

  1. sedie says:

    I love your arm warmers!!! I may not need them much here in SoCal, but I’m sure many of our friends and family not living in our climate would appreciate them. Thanks!

  2. Agnes says:

    Lovely colour … but yes, that yarn is not the softest thing in the world. But still the warmers are lovely!
    There are lots of such patterns … you can find some of them here:
    http://www.knittingpatterncentral.com/directory/mittens_gloves.php
    Enjoy!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Lovely. I’ve never considered the benefits of arm warmers. They might be something to consider and you have to love a quick project.

  4. Lolly says:

    So pretty and elegant! I love that color 😉

  5. Angela says:

    Nice color! Armwarmers are definitely in my soon be knitted list. My hands get cold while typing too.

  6. jillian says:

    Those are purty!! You are really on a roll these days! I get much use out of the one pair of little fingerless mitts I have, and am going to make some more. I recently found this great pattern: http://chartreuseknits.blogspot.com/2005/09/dragon-scale-gauntlet-pattern.html. Happy knitting…

  7. yahaira says:

    I love my armwarmers (I did the snb ones)and had a whole discussion over Thanksgiving on their merrit.

    Yours look great! A pink and brown hat will be divine, though I did find the elann yarn to be itchy as well.

  8. Jennifer says:

    Very nice! I like the cables.

  9. Heather says:

    They are so pretty! The cables look great with that yarn. I was thinking of making something like that for my mom for driving but was wondering if they would be warm enough or if they are pointless since it’s usually my fingers that are cold!

  10. Elli says:

    Those are great! Your cables look beautiful! I’ve never seen that pattern before. Do you think that it would be easy to convert the pattern to work on dpns?

  11. ruth says:

    hey there!! your arm warmers look so snug and warm! and your stitches are always so neat and uniformed looking – makes your cables stand out and look really good =)

  12. Marin says:

    Ooh-those are so cute! I’m making an Irish hiking scarf right now for my mom for Christmas in knitpicks cashmere blend. I want some of those armwarmers and another scarf for myself! Might have to use the cashmerino I bought from you.

  13. Purly Whites says:

    I’ve always had the same opinion, but I’m still not convinced. My fingers get cold. But these are absolutely adorable!

  14. blossom says:

    wow, they are fabulous. i have yet to knit anything for my hands yet. i live in a warm place, but one day. i must try armwarmers. too cute not to!!

  15. Diana says:

    Nice armwarmers! I’ve never seen that pattern, but its perfect.

    There is a little trickery involved in getting the future post functionality to work. Do you have access to a cPanel through your host? Here’s a link to a tutuorial..let me know if you need more help 🙂
    http://www.learningmovabletype.com/archives/000757scheduled_postings_and_cron_jobs.php

  16. lyn says:

    Your arm warmers look great, I love the colour and pattern 🙂 Sorry to hear that it’s an itchy wool though.

  17. Julia says:

    ooo…those are lovely. Cables, and pink, my favorites! I’ve never seen this pattern, although I made an Irish Hiking Scarf for my mom a while back.
    Here’s another armwarmer pattern I’m thinking of making: http://savannahchik.typepad.com/patterns/natalya.pdf
    They’re a lot like yours with cables, but they’re longer and the fingerholes are separated.

  18. Lori says:

    Neat!

    I’ve been considering armwarmers for awhile, but thought I’d look like a dork wearing them.

    BTW…you don’t look like a dork. 😉 LOL!

  19. katie says:

    Those are beautiful! I have knitted the warmers from LMKG, and I used a 16″ circ and the magic loop method. You could also use DPNs, but I prefer the magic loop. The two circs only come into play when you get to the part where you split for the thumb opening, anyway, and you don’t even need to magic loop the needle for that part.

  20. klm says:

    Do you have a pattern for this? The link seemed to be outdated or broken. Thank you. /klm