All About Accessories

As you may have noticed from my recent posts, I seem to be stuck on knitting quick accessories. I have abandoned the Frieda Sweater and haven’t even touched it 3 weeks. I’m leaving it alone for now because I have no desire to work on it. It’s no fun knitting something when you’re not motivated.

When I was chatting with my sister about her Kureyon hat, I found out that she wanted a black cabled scarf. I was a bit surprised by this – why black, of all colors? What if you can’t see the cables? So even though I already finished knitting her Christmas presents months ago, I knit her this scarf:

KaraokeScarf.jpg

Pattern: Karaoke Cable Scarf
Yarn: 3 balls of my favorite, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran
Size (pre-blocking): 2.75″ x 80″

I chose this pattern because the skinniness makes it fun and offsets the black. I think the cables show up okay. This is a very simple pattern and a relatively quick knit.

I also finished the Live Dangerously, Don’t Swatch hat. Even though I didn’t like the yarn, I have to give it points for softness. It’s much more comfortable than my Kureyon hat. This is my first pom-pom ever. I know many knitters are anti-pom-pom, but I thought I would give it a try. I look like a dork, but I don’t mind. =)

LiveDangerouslyHat1c.jpg

I liked this pattern because you can use it with any yarn without worrying about gauge beforehand. I also like the look of the linen stitch and will probably use it again. However, I must admit that k2togs are easier for me than M1Ls and M1Rs, so for now I still prefer knitting hats from the bottom up.

Lastly, I knit this neckwarmer using Cascade 128 Tweed. This is a wear-around-the-house type of accessory as it looks funny on me. But it keeps my neck warm when I’m in my pajamas.

Neckwarmer.jpg

I’m not sure what’s up next…maybe a multidirectional scarf for myself, or another hat. At the rate I’m going, I could end up with ten hats by the end of winter.

21 Comments on “All About Accessories”

  1. Julia says:

    Wow, I like the Karaoke scarf. I’m actually drawn to a cabled black scarf as well, I’ve been thinking about doing one. I guess I like the idea of black because it goes with more things?
    Yay, you did a neckwarmer too! I just finished one which I’ll post about soon, I think it looks funny on, too. I hope my roommate will like it, since she always wraps her scarves all the way around her neck anyway.

  2. lyn says:

    They all look fantastic! I especially like the Karaoke scarf, the cables show up nicely even if it is black yarn 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    The Karaoke scarf is very nice. The cables show up very well. What’s wrong with doing a bunch of accessories? They’re fast, and fun!

  4. blossom says:

    i love all your accessories. and i bought a ball of kureyon after seeing your hats, not sure what pattern to use until now i am sure it’ll be the top down hat. yours is really gorgeous. i’ll sweat through the M1’s.

  5. Melanie says:

    I LOVE that scarf… thanks for knitting it and sharing the pattern.

  6. Heather says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy! I love the hat, it’s really cute.

  7. Lauren says:

    Love the neckwarmer. And black can totally show cables.

  8. yahaira says:

    I love how everything came out, especially that linen stitch hat. Now you gave me another list of accessories to try out.

  9. Agnes says:

    10 hats? That’s a lot to me! I only wear hat (a store bought one) when it rains. But I like the cable black scarf you made for your sister.

  10. marichan says:

    I really like your Live Dangerously hat. I’ve never heard of linen stitch, and it looks great! I have to try it for myself.

  11. Lolly says:

    Lovely accessories! I think the gift scarf for your sister is just beautiful. The cable work doe show up nicely with that yarn.

    I like the pompom too 😉

  12. Danielle says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t like the Dive. I just finished a scarf with it, and loved it. I was using Addi’s which have dull tips, so I didn’t have any problems with the yarn. I LOVE all the hats and scarves you are knitting. There is nothing wrong with real quick projects. I love them myself. I’m finishing up a pair of booties and a hat out of the Lorna’s Laces, Angel, a 70% angora/30% wool mix.
    Keep up the great work, and fabulous knitting.

    Danielle

  13. Angela says:

    I love all your FOs! I’ve had my eye on that neckwarmer pattern for a while now. Just waiting for the right yarn to come my way.

  14. ruth says:

    that scarf looks REALLY good!! even if it’s black, the cables stand out. i tell ya, girl, your stitches always come out very nice and neat. really. =) i’m keeping that scarf pattern in mind for a future project (quickie projects are great when you want to take a break from the big ones, huh? i love the almost-instant-gratification that comes with completing them) =)

  15. jacqueline says:

    i love these accessories! they look absolutely gorgeous and if we weren’t in the middle of a heat wave i would be tempted to cast on for some right now.

    just fantastic accessories!

  16. celia says:

    Heck I like the pom pom on your hat. It gives it a cute touch to it. I thought the same thing you did when your sis asked for a black cabled scarf….well that too looks really nice. I was just wondering if you added fringes to the scarf.

    Happy Knitting!!!

  17. j a r e d says:

    the hat looks really great! i like that yarn a lot. i had actually considered using it for a few previous projects, you may have just pushed me over the edge!

    scarf looks great too. you pumped that out fast!

  18. Purly Whites says:

    I like the pom pom, it’s cute! You are on a rampage with all these accessories. Way to go!

  19. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I love the scarf. Really cute. The hat and neck warmer are cute as well and I like the pom pom.

  20. Samantha says:

    I love that scarf, it’s absolutely stunning, and something I’ll definitely be adding to my WIP list! 🙂

  21. jsl says:

    i love the pom-pom. it makes the hat look very cute. =)