Project Updates

Over the past week or so, I’ve been feeling restless about my knitting. I’m not particularly excited about the projects on my needles and would like to start something new. But at the same time, I’m hesitant to cast on for yet another project because I want to actually finish something. So in the end I decided to be “good” and work on my WIPs.

1. Artyarns ZigZag Modular Scarf #2 — finished! Yay!

ZigZagv2-b.jpg

2. Frieda Sweater — I finished knitting the front. I checked my gauge and it’s correct (4.5 stitches per inch), but I’m a bit concerned because it looks so tiny. Here is a shot showing the front of the sweater on top of the back. Both have been uncurled as much as possible.

Freida3.jpg

Ummm…should I be concerned about the sizing? Or should I cross my fingers and hope that I can work a miracle through blocking?

3. Boogie Vest — This is what the front looks like so far:

BoogieVest2.jpg

When I first blogged about wanting to knit this vest, a couple of commenters pointed out that the pattern does not include any shaping for the v-neck. If knit according to the pattern instructions, the two sides of the “v” are knit separately (without decreases), creating a slit in the front. When you wear the vest, the slit automatically separates to create a pseudo v-neck. A few folks thought this was odd. So I decided to add v-neck shaping by decreasing one stitch on each RS row. This is a close-up of the neck:

BoogieVest3.jpg

I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. Part of me thinks it looks odd too, and part of me thinks it looks okay. So I’m putting the project away for awhile so I can get some space from it and revisit it later with fresh eyes. Your thoughts, of course, would be greatly appreciated.

4. Earflap hat — Unfortunately I had to frog the Manos Earflap Hat from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. Why? Well, I was almost done with the crown decreases when I realized that the hat was way, way too big for me. So I frogged it. I re-started it one size down, and the yarn began to pool in a very bad way. I couldn’t take the pooling, so I frogged it a second time. I cast-on again for an in-between size, and the yarn was still pooling. Thus I frogged for a third time. At this point I’ve decided that the Earflap Hat just wasn’t meant to be right now. The good thing is that this experience seems to have dampened my crazy addiction to hat knitting!! LOL But just slightly, because last night I started this:

BasicCableHat.jpg

5. The above is the Basic Cable Hat from Stitch N Bitch Nation. I finished the hat today and gifted it to my brother-in-law before I remembered to take a photo, so you’ll have to use your imagination for the FO. The pattern called for 4 pattern repeats and I did 6, which was probably a bit much. If I knit this hat again for another guy, I would do 5 pattern repeats. Of course I used Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran. If you read my blog regularly, you can confirm that this is indeed my favorite yarn!

So what’s next? Even though I’m happy with the progress I made on Frieda and Boogie, I’m still not inclined to work on them. I may start a project that I’ve had in mind for over a month now:

Norwegian Hat1.jpg

Yep, that’s the Traditional Hat kit for the Norwegian Knit-Along. Last month, Angela tempted me by writing about her Bea Ellis hat kit and the knit-along. I have been thinking about trying a fair isle project, so I caved in to the temptation. On the bottom right side of the photo, you can see that I also have the Philosopher’s Wool DVD to help me along. It was one of my Christmas presents from DH! =) I can’t wait to watch it and try the technique.

Hope you and yours enjoy a happy and healthy 2006!!

10 Comments on “Project Updates”

  1. lyn says:

    All your projects look so good! Cables tend to pull material together but I think it should be ok once the sides are blocked out.

  2. jillian says:

    Everything you’re working on looks great! You seem to have cable crazy 🙂 On the Frieda, maybe try blocking just those two pieces first before starting the arms, so you’ll know if it will have to be redone. Is the gauge is right, I would hope blocking should do the trick.

    I’m excited to see you have a Bea Ellis kit, and in great colors!

    Happy New Year!

  3. Stephanie says:

    The front of my Frieda was a lot smaller than the back until I blocked – blocking really stretched things out. I’m sure you’ll be just fine. Everything looks great and I have the same dvd to learn fair isle. The hat is super cute. I can’t wait to see your progress on it.

  4. Jennifer says:

    You’ve been doing some major cabling action! I think blocking should solve the Frieda problem.

  5. elli says:

    I’m with everybody else…block F’s cables! Also, strange about the boogie vest…maybe this is one of those times to trust the oh-so-strange instructions? Everything looks great though!

  6. Latoya says:

    That scarf is beautiful! And your cables are wonderful, too. I’m learning, so I’m admiring yours. I can’t wait to see the completed vest.

  7. what beautiful craftsmanship 🙂 the diagnal scarf has really great colors and frieda is to die for!!!!!!

  8. bethanie says:

    I think everything looks great!

  9. Gracie says:

    I see we are a little into cabling lately!! They look great! I would wait to worry about the sizing. Is the sweater supposed to be a little more form fitting? If so, then the sizing should be about right. The Norwegian hat looks fun!

  10. MJ says:

    I see you got your hat! Oh, you are going to have some fun! Just don’t forget to swatch–some of us have encountered sizing problems with #5!