My First Finished Object of 2006

BoogieVest4.jpg

Pattern: Boogie by Amy King in Knitty.com
Yarn: Cascade 128 (just over 3 skeins)
Modifications: As I mentioned in a previous post, the pattern does not include any shaping for the v-neck. I added shaping by decreasing one stitch on each RS row. I don’t think it looks too horrible, but maybe just a tad funky. In retrospect it might have looked better if I followed the pattern as written. Here is a close-up of the neck:

BoogieVest5.jpg

Upon finishing the vest, I realized that it’s not quite my style, so it will be a gift for someone else. Hopefully she will like it!

18 Comments on “My First Finished Object of 2006”

  1. yahaira says:

    it’s pink, it’s cabled, it’s done, I love it. I swear you are such a good friend for giving things away left and right. Im sure your friend will like it!

  2. lyn says:

    Congrats on your 1st FO of the year… it looks great 🙂 It’s too bad you’ve decided not to keep it though but I’m certain your friend will appreciate the gift!

  3. Heather says:

    Love the color. Even if its not for you, I’m sure the recipient will love it.

  4. Lolly says:

    Sorry it did not work out for you – but I think it looks great, Caitlyn!

  5. Agnes says:

    I think the neck looks fine. Congratulations on the first 2006 FO!

  6. blossom says:

    nice color! i hope you will find a good home for this lovely vest.

  7. Stephanie says:

    It looks great. And what a generous gift. What’s next?

  8. Angela says:

    It’s a great color! I never got around to showing you pictures of mine. What I ended up doing, which is what I also should have told you, is carrying up the cables to the top. I placed decreases right after/just before the cables.

  9. Laura says:

    Ohhh that’s perty! I love the color. I bet that it would look better on you than you think. I’m sure that whoever you gift it too will love it. It’s really gorgeous!

  10. Julia says:

    Cute! it would look great over a button-up shirt. I really love that color…nice job.

  11. Shir says:

    Congratulation on your first project of this year! I like the color! In my opinion, I think it needs some edging work to finish the neck and the armholes, then you may see it better.

  12. Jennifer says:

    It’s very pretty! I like the mods. I’m sure whoever will receive it will love it. What a luscious pink.

  13. jacqueline says:

    gorgeous colour! it is so lush looking.

  14. i casted on for boogie 2 days ago! thanks for the wonderful picture it is beautiful caitlyn!

  15. sedie says:

    I love the color! I think the neckline is fine. I know a few people who’d love it. You did a beautiful job with the cabling and shaping.

  16. katie says:

    It’s pretty! I think the neckline looks nice, too. It will make someone feel very lucky to receive it.

  17. Elspeth says:

    So gorgeous! It came out great!