One Down, One To Go

To my great relief, I woke up last Saturday totally motivated to work on the Frieda Sweater. After feeling blah about this project for so long, I ran with the positive feeling.

Freida4.jpg

I knit the first sleeve over the weekend, and I just finished the increases on the second sleeve. I hope to have it done by this weekend and then put the front and back of the sweater on the blocking board. Many thanks to Cyndi for her notes on the sleeve modifications – they really helped point me in the right direction. My bad sleeve experience with the Kepler Sweater must be haunting me, because I’m already worried that the sleeve won’t fit into the armhole. In all fairness, though, when I eyeball the sweater pieces, the situation looks a lot better with Frieda. So I’m trying to be optimistic.

The Frieda Sweater has got me thinking about whether I am a process– or product-oriented knitter. While the process of knitting brings me great pleasure and satisfaction, ultimately I am probably more product-oriented. I like to see that I accomplished something, so I don’t deal well with leaving projects unfinished and untouched for long periods. My tendency is either to finish a project or give it up. It’s hard for me to leave something hanging the way that I’ve left Frieda hanging (I started it on November 1). I’ve read blogs where knitters put aside sweaters for a year or two before finishing them – wow! That’s not quite what I’m striving for, but it’s pretty amazing. I think I need to work on: (1) maintaining knitting bigamy (as opposed to polygamy), and (2) patiently letting projects sit (without getting frustrated with myself) until I’m in the mood for them. The latter would definitely be helpful if I can’t achieve the former.

Thanks for the encouraging comments about my yarn diet. My last yarn purchase was on December 16th and so far I’ve been good. Of course, I’ve been tempted. Especially when Jillian started a knit-along for Lady Eleanor from Scarf Style. *sigh* Talk about wanting to buy a bag of Noro Silk Garden on the spot! But luckily, Steph and I have been chatting over email about what we haven’t bought and it’s been fun. And Purly has been keeping me in check too. I commented on how her lovely fair isle socks were tempting me, and she immediately emailed me saying, “You don’t like socks and you can’t buy the yarn. No Caitlyn, No!! Think of the wheel.” Do I have good knitting friends or what? =) I will be buying yarn for a Secret Pal, though, so if you see me shopping at the LYS, please don’t shoot me on the spot. I promise not to buy yarn for myself. Once I gave up chocolate (which is an essential food group, by the way) for three months just to prove to myself that I could do it. If I could refrain from chocolate, then the yarn diet should be possible!!

12 Comments on “One Down, One To Go”

  1. jillian says:

    I didn’t mean to be a bad influence 🙂 Sorry!

    I think Frieda will turn out great! It all looks neat and tidy.

  2. Purly Whites says:

    Aww, I’m just glad to be helpful!

    Frieda looks good! I’m the same way, either I finish something, or I rip it out. I don’t like things hanging around. To me, it’s just more clutter, so I have no problems being this way.

  3. yahaira says:

    Purly is very good to have as a stash police, she keeps me in line as well. She should have an intervention hotline.

    You’ll be done with Frieda in no time.

  4. i think frieda is going to look great! and good luck with the arm holes… you are probably right on target 🙂 i am product oreinted too… well i think everyone has to be a little right?

  5. Lolly says:

    The sleeve is so pretty and elegant. Can’t wait to see more, Caitlyn!

  6. Jes says:

    Good luck keeping up your yarn diet. You can do it! Especially if you have all that will power to give up chocolate! =)
    The sleeve looks lovely. Can’t wait to see more.

  7. j a r e d says:

    i’m forcing myself onto a yarn diet too. i took inventory on my stash and relized that i really have a problem. good luck with your self-control!

    hey – i wanted to tell you, Blogger deleted my blog on accident so i had to start a new one [rage]. new address is brooklyntweed2.blogspot.com. dont be a stranger now!

  8. Angela says:

    You can totally do it! I will be on a yarn diet afte this week (more details later on the blog). So we can all keep ourselves in check.

  9. Stephanie says:

    The sleeve looks great. I saw the prettiest sock yarn over at Strikker and want it! But I’m chanting “wheel, wheel, wheel” in my head! So far, it’s working.

  10. winnie says:

    how cool is it that you have friends that keep your stash in check? very cool. how’s spinning? never tried it for fear of being sucked into another addiction. and you gave up chocolate? oy.

  11. Julia says:

    The sleeve looks good! I really, really like this sweater… As usual, I love the cables…And I agree, even though I value getting a project finished very much, it definitely helps to go with the currents of inspiration rather than plugging along like a slave, and killing the joy of knitting.

  12. bethanie says:

    I adore that color so much!