Happy Anniversary to My Blog

Today is my one year blog anniversary. On this occasion, I thought it would be appropriate to reflect on my knitting and blogging.

Knitting is my first real hobby. It may seem strange for someone to go through twenty-something years of life without a hobby, but it’s true. From the time I was a child, I loved to read. I used to check out the maximum number of books allowed from the library, and even then I would finish them all in a week. However, for a reason I can’t seem to articulate, I have never considered reading to be a real hobby of mine. Perhaps it’s because reading is something that I have always done and will always do. I took piano lessons for a good ten years, but unfortunately I didn’t enjoy it for most of those years. In college I picked up the guitar, took some lessons, and then promptly lost interest. I tried guitar again post-college and even bought a beautiful Big Baby Taylor, but ended up selling it because I have no strong love for playing music. Several months ago I ventured into beading (to make beaded stitch markers for knitting), but after two weeks my supplies were relegated to the back of the closet. Knitting is the first and only hobby in which I have immersed myself so fully for this length of time. It is also the single hobby from which I have gained so much enjoyment.

Knitting takes on different roles in my life. It is an area of growth for me because I can push myself to learn new techniques, set concrete goals for myself, and conquer challenges. Knitting is a teacher of patience, because lots of times I mess up, need to frog back, or just don’t understand the pattern or what I’m doing wrong. Prolonged frustration usually doesn’t help in these situations; I just need to take a deep breath and move on. Or ask for help. Moving on is usually easier said than done. At the same time, knitting is a way of unwinding after a long day. I’m sure some knitters think that easy projects are beneath them, but I have no shame in admitting that I need mindless knitting. Sometimes I knit projects to learn something, but other times knitting is simply just knitting. As my hands move without much thought, my mind clears. Lastly, knitting is way that I give of myself to others. In 2005 I gifted a number of items to my mother and sister; this year, I hope to be more generous with my knitting.

And then there is my blogging. Even two years ago, I would have dismissed blogging as something under the category of “not for me”. Although I consider myself friendly, by nature I am also relatively private around strangers. Why would I care to publish my thoughts and feelings online? When I stumbled across the Knitter’s Review Forum, I realized that some people blog just about knitting. Light bulb moment! I don’t have to write about love life, family life, social life, or career unless I want to, and even then I don’t have to disclose everything. So I started blogging as a way of connecting with knitters from all over the world. It has been wonderful because I have “met” so many talented and inspiring individuals.

Sometimes I think about whether one day I will stop knitting and/or blogging. I am cautious about saying “never” because, well, I didn’t think I would become a knitter or a blogger at all, did I? There are some days when I don’t knit a single stitch and am perfectly happy in that state. Days will go by when I can’t think of a single thing to write about because I haven’t made much knitting progress. And even when I do have something to share, I worry that my writing sounds mundane. I remind myself that I can love doing something without doing it every single day, and when I go return to knitting and blogging after a short break, I am always happy to be back into them. At the present moment, I think knitting and blogging will continue to be a significant part of my life.

February will mark a season of change for me. As I mentioned several weeks ago, I will be taking a spinning class. I’m excited about exploring this area of the fiber arts. Will spinning become another passion and take a place next to knitting? Or will it be a fleeting interest? Perhaps it’s a blessing in disguise that I can’t buy a wheel right now because I would hate to make such a large investment if I don’t end up spinning regularly. After all, a wheel costs much more than beads or even my Big Baby Taylor. I will also be starting a new job. I am eagerly anticipating the change, but also apprehensive. Transition is stressful for me, and it always takes me awhile to feel comfortable in a new work environment. In light of these upcoming events, I have decided to ease up on my knitting. In practice, this means that I am discarding my knitting timeline. The purpose of the timeline was to help me knit through my stash. But now I feel pressured to knit according to the schedule even though I don’t necessarily want to work on the scheduled projects right now. I’m still trying to finish Frieda, and I definitely don’t feel up for knitting another sweater anytime soon. So the Salina and Hourglass sweaters will have to wait. As long as I keep plugging away at my stash, I don’t see the point in sticking to the timeline. I will likely need more easy knitting in the next couple of months, so you will probably be seeing a number of scarves. Surprisingly, I’m also itching to knit socks again…yes, socks! Thank goodness I still have a tiny bit of sock yarn left!

On my blog anniversary, I want to thank you for reading my blog. Your comments bring smiles, encouragement, and enlightenment. I hope you have a wonderful day.

31 Comments on “Happy Anniversary to My Blog”

  1. Heather says:

    Happy Anniversary! You are one of my favorite blogs and I always love seeing what you’re up to.

  2. PumpkinMama says:

    I’ve just found your blog recently, but have enjoyed your entries. Congrats on your 1yr anniversary. Your tale of your knitting and lack of hobbies (apart from reading) sound very familiar to me! I hope you find spinning enjoying – I was very surprised to take to it as much as I have to knitting. Good luck on your upcoming transitions.

  3. Cyndi says:

    Happy blogiversary! =) What a great post! Let me know if you need any help with seaming Frieda after you get past the endless knitting of the neck. Did she block out to the size you wanted?

  4. Jes says:

    Happy Blogversary! I hope that your transition goes well.
    I hear you on the mindless Knitting, I’m the same way. =)

  5. Stephanie says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary. I knew we started blogging at about the same time, but I didn’t know how close we were. My blog will be 1 tomorrow! Your post is wonderful and I share so many of your thoughts and feelings. I guess that’s why we’ve become friends. Good luck on your new job. And I can’t wait to see those scarves – you knit the best scarves. And socks! Yay for trying socks again. Be careful, you’ll get hooked.

  6. Angela says:

    Congratulations (on your blogaversary and your job)! Thanks for sharing all your thoughts and reflections on knitting and blogging. You’ve come a long way. And just because you might just be knitting scarves for a little while, doesn’t make you any less of a knitter! I like mindless knitting, too.

  7. Mintyfresh says:

    Happy anniversary! Yay for the online knitting community.

  8. Purly Whites says:

    Congratulations on blogging for a year! I always enjoy reading what you write and seeing what you’ve knit. And I especially enjoyed this post on why you knit and blog! Good luck with the new job and spinning!

  9. yahaira says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’m so glad you stuck with it because how else would we have “met”? Everytime I see an update from you in bloglines I get a smile. Good luck with spinning and the new job! Screw the timeline I say : )

  10. Lori says:

    Happy Anniversary, Caitlyn!

    I didn’t have a real hobby ’til I started knitting either. 🙂

    Good luck with the spinning.

    Take care.

  11. sedie says:

    yay!!! Happy blogiversary! keep it up.

  12. Diana says:

    Happy Anniversary! Good luck at the new job and with spinning!

  13. katie says:

    Hapy anniversary, and good luck with the new job!

  14. Julia says:

    Hear, hear! Thanks for your wonderful blog, and for starting the Tivoli knit-along, which is how I found you. =) I’m almost done with Tivoli, by the way and will post on the knit-along soon, even though it seems to be dead. Very best wishes to you on your new job! I feel very empathetic, as I will be starting a new temp. job soon, as well as moving to a new town and starting graduate school in a few months (if I get in , that is). Scary, but refreshing, too. If you want to get inspired about socks, have you seen the socks over on the Black olive Is: In The Loop blog? Her socks are gorgeous and will make you want to specialize in socks! Sorry this comment turned into a tome…oops. =)

  15. Lolly says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

  16. gleek says:

    happy blogiversary! i hear ya on the stress that major life changes brings about. i hope that knitting can be a source of inspiration and stress relief for you.. even if it’s only scarves or socks!

  17. ruth says:

    happy blogiversary! i’m glad you found something you really enjoy and love to do! i had no idea you were previously musically-inclined either (although it didn’t stick). =) have fun in your spinning class, and i know you will do GREAT at your new job. =)
    lots of love,
    ruth

  18. i didn’t have a “hobby” until i started knitting and blogging a little over a year ago also! i wouldn’t miss one of your posts ever caitlyn:)

  19. Agnes says:

    Happy First Blogiversary! And wish there are many more to come!

  20. Rossana says:

    Happy Blogiversary! And I just took a lesson on a spinning wheel. Addictive! Enjoy your class! =)

  21. blossom says:

    thanks for sharing your thoughts on knitting and blogging. i enjoy reading your blog. and i hope you keep doing both things for a long time.

  22. jillian says:

    Happy blogiversary to you!!! I always read too, but didn’t consider myself to have a full-blown hobby until knitting. Good luck with the new job! Don’t worry about that timeline, I say. Just knit what feels good, that’s all that should matter. Especially when going through a life change, as they can be stressful!

  23. Jennifer says:

    Happy blogiversary and congrats on the new job. Change is good, but sometimes good things are stressful. Strange, eh?

  24. Lis says:

    Happy Anniversary! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you a little bit over the past year, and I look forward to reading your blog as you start your new job and continue your knitting. Your blog brings a smile to the faces of your readers, and I’m glad to be a part of that.

    Love,
    Lis

  25. What a testimony! You have an amazing ability to write and capture your thoughts in such a way that draws another person into them. Congratulations on your Blog-iversary.

  26. vanessa says:

    Happy Anniversary! I really enjoy reading your blog eventhough I hardly leave any comment. Good luck with the spinning and can’t wait to see more great stuff from you.

  27. Phoebe says:

    Congrats on the anniversary…I still have 3 months to get to mine. Good luck w/ the spinning and the new job!

  28. jacqueline says:

    Happy Blogiversary! i am so glad you started blogging because this is now one of my favourite reads. BTW – my own birthday isn’t too far away either.

  29. Elli says:

    Happy 1 year blogiversary to you and your knitting! I always love reading your blog. Here’s wishing that the next blogging year brings much knitting success!

  30. Laura says:

    YEA!!! Happy happy blogiversary to you my dear! I’m so happy that you decided that blogging really “is for you.” I had the same thoughts before I began blogging. It took me awhile to really show who I was. I think it took at least 6 months to show a pic of myself. Thank you for starting your blog. I’m so glad to know such a sweetheart! YOu really have such a great heart.

  31. MJ says:

    Happy blogiversary! You know, I do think about the lifespan of my blog, and I know that there’ll be an end eventually. Right now, though, it’s such a good place to be, meeting people, learning techniques, yarns, etc. Good luck with spinning! Are you going to learn to spin on a wheel or a spindle?