Finally Finished Frieda!

Freida8.jpg

Freida5.jpg

Pattern: Frieda from Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk
Yarn: Jaeger Shetland Aran in color Fuchsia (033). This yarn knits up nicely and shows cable definition well. However, it is a bit itchy and it bleeds like crazy. I got it for a good deal on eBay, though, so I’m not complaining.
Modifications: I followed Cyndi’s sleeve modifications and knit two fewer sleeve increases. I knit the turtleneck to 7″ instead of 9.5″.

I started this sweater on November 1, and wasn’t sure that I would ever finish it. It took me a week to knit the 7 inches of turtleneck because I couldn’t motivate myself to knit the ribbing. Seaming was spread out over the course of several nights. Cyndi gave me some really helpful tips on easing in the sleeves, but I still encountered problems. One night I spent a full 3 hours sewing and re-sewing the sleeves into the armholes because I kept getting this weird bunching. Finally I gave up and decided to block the armhole seams before seaming the sides and the sleeves. Blocking helped quite a bit, but I can see remnants of bunching.

Freida6.jpg

Freida7.jpg

The sleeves are also too loose on me, particularly on the upper arm. I knew this going in, but I didn’t know how to make further modifications to decrease the width. I didn’t want to cut the number of sleeve increases too drastically because then the sleeve might not have fit into the armhole at all.

Despite the imperfections, I am very pleased with this sweater. I wore it out today, and I like it a lot more than the other two sweaters I’ve knit. I’m so glad I finished!

46 Comments on “Finally Finished Frieda!”

  1. Theresa says:

    Looks great! I wouldn’t worry about the bunching – if knitters can’t notice it, no one else will, either.

  2. Agnes says:

    I think it is very well done … and did you notice the colour goes well with your blog? πŸ˜‰ Sleeves are always tricky and the bunching is not really too obvious to the eyes. I think next time if you want to get better fit with the sleeves, try using Ann Budd’s sweater book to modify both the armhole shaping of the body and the sleeves, then you don’t have to worry about they not able to match.
    But this sweater is really a success … and in time for Chinese New Year too. Enjoy.

  3. Lauren says:

    Love the color, love the sweater. It doesn’t look too big from here.

  4. Kelly says:

    Wow, Frieda came out beautifully. It’s good you stuck with her!

  5. jillian says:

    Wow- that came together so well! You should be very proud of yourself…and I can’t see bunching in the pictures. It’s one of those things I think you’ll notice, but no one else will. It looks warm and cozy!

  6. Jennifer says:

    It’s beautiful! How many skeins of shetland aran did it take? I’ve got a bag of the stuff too.

  7. ruth says:

    you should be VERY proud of yourself. it looks really amazing! i don’t notice any bunching at the seams either (they look great). great job!! =D

  8. Angela says:

    The cables look lovely! The sweater turned out well. You should be proud!

  9. mari says:

    Your sweater looks great! I think the sleeve caps look really neat and I don’t see the bunching either. I’m sure you’ll get lots of wear out of Frieda!

  10. Mintyfresh says:

    Frieda looks fabulous! Great job.

  11. katie says:

    Awesome! What a traffic-stopping color. I hope you get a lot of wear out of it–it’s beautiful.

  12. Cyndi says:

    Wow – your Frieda looks amazing! Congrats on finishing! As far as I can tell from the pictures, the seams on the sleeves look perfect. We should be big dorks and both wear our Friedas next time we get together to knit. πŸ™‚

  13. yahaira says:

    so, so pretty! I’m so happy you finished! Looks great and just in time for this weekend, congrats!

  14. Lolly says:

    Caitlyn, it is stunningly beautiful! I opened the browser page and I gasped – the color, the cables, and the fit all look perfect to me!

  15. V Knits says:

    Freida looks fantastic! It’s got that cozy ski chalet look to it. And you wouldn’t know about the bunching unless you pointed it out. Great work!

  16. gleek says:

    looks great! i love the cable pattern πŸ™‚

  17. Elspeth says:

    How gorgeous! Great job and great color!

  18. katie says:

    wow, that looks beautiful! great job!

  19. Heather says:

    I love it! The color is great and I love the cables. It looks like it fits you perfectly! I didn’t notice the bunching at all, it really looks perfect.

  20. Beautiful job, Caitlyn! But the yarn is itchy and bleeds?! I have the same yarn (in green) that I bought off Ebay (Jannette, I think).

  21. erin says:

    It is a very pretty sweater with those yummy cables. It fits well and you look great in it.

  22. Jackie says:

    Wow – Frieda turned out beautifully, it looks really great on you.

    Good job!

  23. trek says:

    I think the sleeves look just perfect.

  24. Gracie says:

    YAY YAY!! It looks beautiful on you! I love it!

  25. Lis says:

    Oh my GOSH!!! This sweater is absolutley gorgeous! I love it!!!! Beautiful work.

    Lis

  26. Lori says:

    Looks great, Caitlyn!

  27. Freida, I think I love you πŸ˜‰ Caitlyn that is fabulous! I LOVE IT! The cables look great and so pro… Are you patting yourself on the back for this one? you should be it is a fab knit!

  28. Celia says:

    You’re sweater came out really nice. Love the color you chose. It looks so nice one.

    Happy Knitting

  29. j a r e d says:

    great work! i think the sleeves look great.

  30. Jes says:

    It looks great! I’m sure releived to get it done with. =)

  31. Karen says:

    Your sweater came out great! It looks like it fits perfect to me. Enjoy it! πŸ™‚

  32. Stephanie says:

    It looks FABULOUS. I love the color and the fit looks great. You should be sooooo proud of yourself. You did a great job.

  33. Phoebe says:

    Love your sweater Caitlyn! Frieda looks perfect to me! You must have come by to the blog when I was dabbling with the photos. I ended up created a Flickr badge to document the process. Can’t wait to start my Finnish socks…how’s your hat?

  34. mary says:

    it is Beautiful~~~ =) Looks real nice on you as well! Seeing your beautiful sweater is motivating me to continue working on my own sweater project which I’ve put aside for few weeks now =)

  35. Purly Whites says:

    Very, very, very nice! It looks fabulous on you!

    And you’ll have to post on how this yarn wears over time, I’d be interested to know.

  36. sedie says:

    The completed sweater looks wonderful! Congratulations on finishing and doing it so well. The color is wonderful.

  37. MJ says:

    Wow, congratulations! It is beautiful. Maybe on your next sweater you can play around with mods, but leave this one as is. I think it’s great.

  38. Shir says:

    Very very impressive work, Caitlyn!! It is a success. You should proud of yourself! I don’t see the bunching either.

  39. Heather says:

    Wow..gorgeous! Your a knitting maniac!

  40. Julia says:

    Ooo! Pink cables! It’s an adorable sweater, and it’ll be a staple in fall/winter! I hear ya on seaming, it’s a drag. I’m very tempted to take a seaming class at a yarn store, because I struggle. Looks like you connquered it though, even if it’s not perfect to your standards (what ever is for a knitter?)…your sweater looks great.

  41. vanessa says:

    Nice sweater! Love those cables. Happy Lunar New Year!

  42. Hey, are you sure you didn’t BUY that sweater? Looks fabulous, and girl you’re after my own heart. Sewing and re-sewing the sleeves brings back such fond (NOT!) memories of Hopeful…

    Nice job and oh yeah, Happy new year!

  43. StarzAbove says:

    Frieda is gorgeous – wtg!

  44. blossom says:

    oh how did i miss out on your beautiful sweater! it looks really pretty, and warm, too.

    i hope the yarn holds up well. and enjoy wearing it, too.

  45. Julia says:

    Wow! I looks great, I’m not a particularly pink person, but that is a great color! Definately gets rid of the winter blahs!

  46. Tammy says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!!