Miscellaneous Knitting

KaraokeScarf2.jpg

KaraokeScarf3.jpg

Pattern: Karaoke Scarf
Yarn: Karabella Aurora 8, color 1561, 2.5 balls
Finished Size: 2.5″ x 70″

When I first started knitting with Karabella Aurora 8, I wasn’t too excited about it. It didn’t seem as soft as Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, one of my all-time faves. But as I kept knitting, Aurora 8 grew on me a lot. I don’t think you can see it from my mediocre pictures (sorry, I should have gone outside), but this yarn has excellent stitch definition. While it doesn’t feel as soft as Cashmerino, it is still very soft. I would definitely use this yarn again. And…I tried spit splicing for the first time! Awesome, I tell you, because I hate weaving in ends. I did find, though, that the yarn looked better if I let the join dry before continuing with my knitting.

So what’s next?

Thuja1.jpg

I’m getting into sock mode! This is the Thuja Sock from the latest Knitty. I am using Artyarns Supermerino from my stash. The sock is moving quite quickly on size 5 DPNs. I’m not crazy about this color combo for socks, but I’m happy to be using yarn from my stash. I figured it would be good to knit a pair of quick socks to get myself geared up for Sockapaloooza!

25 Comments on “Miscellaneous Knitting”

  1. Elli says:

    Cute scarf! And hooray for spit splicing! I’m too impatient to let mine dry though. I really should try that next time.

  2. Kelly says:

    I love Aurora 8 and that scarf turned out gorgeous! I’ve been looking for a good project to use some more and that scarf might just be it. I haven’t tried to spit splice anything yet, but as I like the sound of anything that would save weaving in ends…I’ll have to look into it.

  3. Jessica says:

    Your scarf looks great. I really like the cables and the slimness. Splicing sounds like an interesting technique. I may need to try that next time I have to add a ball.

  4. stacey says:

    The scarf is beautiful – I like the width and the pretty cables! I printed out the pattern and may just have to do this one! I also love the sock yarn colors!

  5. Stephanie says:

    Yay for socks! They look great – I’m so excited you’re trying them again. And the scarf…it looks fabulous. The cables are great and it’s nice and skinny, but still looks quite warm.

  6. Jennifer says:

    The scarf is beautiful and the colors in your sock, gorgeous. I’m trying to gear up for Sockapaloooza too. I’m not sure Jaywalker was the best warm up pattern though…

  7. Agnes says:

    The skinny long scarf is very chic! From what I read on grumperina’s, the Karabella 8 pill quite a lot. But I think shaving it would be okay.
    I am gearing up for the sock exchange too … first time … very excited.

  8. Joan says:

    I love the scarf and I just happen to have 3 balls of that in my stash. Hmmm.

  9. ruth says:

    ooh, another karaoke scarf! very pretty! hey, did you notice when you did your spit-splicing with aurora 8, did the color fade a bit? mine did slightly in that area…

  10. Lolly says:

    The scarf is so elegant. I really like it!

    And that sock – wow. Those are my fave color combos!

  11. Purly Whites says:

    Cute scarf cute sock!

    Would you be so kind and give us an update on how the Karabella wears? I’ve heard not so good things and would love your opinion.

  12. Amy says:

    Huh, I had never heard of split-splicing until just now. Interesting… But I too would lack the patients for drying.

    I love your scarf! That is just beautiful! And in one of my favorite colors too!

  13. Shir says:

    I like the cable on your scarf. They are beautiful and give a sense of classy. Combo color on socks look good. Mmm… this stimulates me wanting to knit a pair of socks, too.

  14. Laura says:

    Oh I LOVE that scarf!! What a really neat pattern. i can tell from your pics that the yarn you used has nice stitch definition. That is something that i look for when choosing yarn, besides how soft it is. So cute! Thanks for sharing.

  15. i love the colors in both projects! cables give such a WOW factor !

  16. mari says:

    Your scarf looks great! I’m a big spit splicer from way back, so I love it when I can use it. I’m sure your socks will turn out beautifully as well!

  17. jillian says:

    Ohhhh. Ahhhh. That scarf in Aurora 8 has such a wonderful drape. And the color is sophisticated, too!

  18. Celia says:

    You’re right about the yarn Karabella Aurora 8 it looks beautiful. And it really shows every stitch…that’s really nice. I’m doing the same scarf in KNIT ONE CROCHET TWO ANGORA SOFT and it’s coming out okay. Not as nice as yours did.

    Happy Knitting

  19. Lori says:

    Hey Caitlyn~

    Just exactly how fast *do* you knit, anyway?
    Seems like you can whip out a project in no time!

    I, on the other hand, am only about 3 inches into my Ruffles scarf that I started about 2 weeks ago. LOL!

    Your scarf looks awesome!

    I’ve added it to my *must do* list. 😉

    Take care!

  20. Lynette says:

    Girl, you are soooo stylish! Aside from the fact that your knitted goods are fantastic, they look terrific on you. But then, you’re one of those people who would look great in anything. Your finished projects are excellent! Frieda is the bomb, the skinny cabled scarf is super chic and the fair isle hat…wow…you’ve been busy!

  21. Julia says:

    I really like that color and those cables, they’re different…and very cute.

  22. V Knits says:

    Your Karaoke Scarf looks great Caitlyn! You are right about the yarn having super stitch definition. I’m thinking I’ll probably give that scarf pattern a go.

    (P.S. I’m glad you like my socks, they were a fun knit.)

  23. ariane says:

    As someone who took advantage of her LYS’s sale this past week to buy enough Aurora 8 for two sweaters :X I agree, it’s a nice yarn 🙂 I love it. Very pretty scarf, I like the cables 🙂

  24. jacqueline says:

    wow! great scarf and fantastic colours in that sock. have you ever tried a russian join? i prefer that even to spit splicing.

  25. Phoebe says:

    Love the scarf…and so must check out my LYS and see if they carry Karabella Aurora. Personally I really like your Artyarns Supermerino colourway. Congrats about the splicing…always fun and sense of accomplishment trying something new in knitting!