Belated Happy Valentine’s Day

Back in November, I knit myself a pair of Irish Hiking Arm Warmers. Surprisingly, I have been using them more frequently than I expected. A couple of you wondered whether arm warmers in general were all that useful. I’m sure most of us agree that fingerless gloves alone probably aren’t going to cut it if you’re walking around outside where it snows. But if you live in relatively mild weather, or if your hands are cold just around the house, arm warmers can be very handy. So for Valentine’s Day, I knit Irish Hiking Arm Warmers for my mother and my sister.

Armwarmers1.jpg

Armwarmers2.jpg

Armwarmers3.jpg

I made the purple pair with Elann Peruvian Highland Wool. For Christmas I gave my sister an Irish Hiking Scarf and Hat in the same yarn, so now she has three items in the Irish Hiking series. I made the red pair for my mom using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran.

I still have plans to try different arm warmer patterns, although in the future I will only knit them in the round to avoid seaming. These arm warmers are tiny, and I still dreaded seaming them!

14 Comments on “Belated Happy Valentine’s Day”

  1. Agnes says:

    Very thoughtful gifts! I like the purple colour! 😉

  2. Angela says:

    Very cute! Great stashbusting project too!

  3. allena says:

    those are awesome what thoughtful gift.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Very nice! I bet they will be well loved.

  5. Theresa says:

    It’s nice to hear they’re useful and used – that was always my question about wrist warmers. Can you knit while wearing them?

  6. Gracie says:

    Lovely armwarmers! Very festive Valentines colors! Where did you get the pattern?

  7. Jessica says:

    Those look great. I too live in a mild climate and need to think about making some wrist warmers. I like the cables.

  8. Jessica says:

    Those look great. I too live in a mild climate and need to think about making some wrist warmers. I like the cables.

  9. blossom says:

    nice presents… i have made a pair of armwarmers once and later gave them to my mum. they are really warm!!

  10. ruth says:

    cute!! i’ve been wanting to make these but i have my hands REALLY full with everything else. but yours looks great, and most importantly, warm. especially with the really WEIRD weather that we’ve been experiencing lately… brrr!!

  11. jillian says:

    So cute! Surely they will adore them!

    I find that fingerless mitts keep the hands/wrists surprisingly warm. Amazing what a teeny bit of wool can do!

  12. they look great! and they are valentines day colors too! what a good sister and daughter you are 🙂 i really need to try making myself some wrist warmers for next winter….

  13. j a r e d says:

    in-the-round is the only way to go!

    they look awesome! i like the adaptation

  14. You split them up? The red and pink are just so cute together! well, I guess you’ll just have to get your mom and sister to pose for a pic for us… And sis is so lucky to have the irish hiking trio going.

    And btw, I find armwarmers way useful for indoors office environments. There are way too many offices that either don’t turn their heat on in the winter or turn their AC on way too high in the summer. Perfect solution. I’m loving my pair.