It’s Magic

Last week, I was well into knitting the foot of my first Thuja Sock.

Thuja2.jpg

That’s when I decided to rip it and start over. I felt that the knitted fabric was not tight enough and that the sock was too big for me. I knew both of these things well before I reached this point, but I wasn’t extremely dissatisfied until I got closer to the end. There’s nothing like denial to set you back a few days.

I cast on again using a smaller needle size.

Thuja4.jpg

Yup, the big accomplishment for me was that I used the Magic Loop method! I have been apprehensive about learning Magic Loop, but I am so glad I tried it because I like it much, much better than DPNs for sock knitting. I zoomed through this sock. Granted, I’m using size 4 needles, but still – this second attempt took much less time than the first one on DPNs. Many thanks to Steph for her photo tutorial on Magic Loop! The Fiber Trends booklet shown above is also very helpful.

Thuja3.jpg

I immediately cast on for the second sock, but it will sit on a back burner for a little while. I will be devoting this week to knitting a baby hat…also using Magic Loop!

12 Comments on “It’s Magic”

  1. Mintyfresh says:

    I love using magic loop, and am so sad that I only had size 1s in dpn for making my Pomatomus. You’ll find ways to make everything using magic loop, just wait! 🙂

  2. yahaira says:

    yay for ml! it’s taking over the world!

  3. Julia says:

    Hm…I keep hearing about this magic loop and how quick it is…perhaps I should try it. Nice Thuja sock, by the way! i plan on trying out that pattern for future socks.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Is magic loop hard to learn? I’d love to find a way to knit socks more quickly.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I’m so glad the tutorial was helpful and I love your sock. I know what you mean about denial, but in the end it all worked out just great. Keep up the sock knitting.

  6. Lauren says:

    I use magic loop for every sock and wouldn’t change the method.

  7. Elli says:

    Interesting to see how the pooling changed when you went down a needle size…I had no idea that it would change that drastically! I’m a dpn gal myself, but good luck with the magic looping!

  8. Katie C says:

    I really would love to learn the Magic Loop technique

  9. jillian says:

    Denial is bad knitting mojo! But you’ll be so much happoer now!

    I lurvvve magic loop – my sweet spot, after some experimentation, is 32 and 40 inch needles!

  10. Angela says:

    Wooohoooo for magic loop! Isn’t it funny how the yarn pools differently from the first sock and the second one? Here’s to a speedy second sock (after the baby hat, of course)!

  11. Sally says:

    Hi. I”m just into knitting socks and notice the pamphlet on your blog. Can you tell me the source? It looks very helpful for first time magic loop sock knitters. TIA, Sally

  12. Michele says:

    I loved using my magic loop 40″ circular needle, but once past the heel turn I was frustrated with knitting in the round and not using the magic loop. It got so tight I just didn’t know what to do. Is there a secret to this or something I may be doing wrong? I don’t have any experience with knitting in the round on circulars so maybe what I’m seeing is normal. I could sure use some help. Thanks, Michele