Sockapaloooza Socks Done!

You know how relief is spelled R-O-L-A-I-D-S? Well, in this case, relief is spelled C-O-M-P-L-E-T-I-O-N!

YukonLeaves2.jpg

These socks are big on me, but I will model them anyway. Just so you don’t think I’m giving my pal crusty socks or anything like that — I dunked them into a Eucalan bath immediately after the photo session.

YukonLeaves3.jpg

YukonLeaves4.jpg

Pattern: Yukon Leaves
Yarn: 2 skeins Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, Sage (43ns), purchased from emtnestr on eBay
Needles: Addi Turbos US #1, 2.5mm, Magic Loop
Modifications: The pattern called for a “band heel.” I gave it a go because I’ve never tried it before, but I didn’t like it – my version looked messy. So I ripped back and switched to the heel flap from The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns.

Like many others, I thought that three months to knit a pair of socks would be perfectly fine. I started the Pomatomus socks in mid-February, got to the heel of the first sock, and then let it languish because I didn’t like how it was turning out. By the time I finally started up again with a new pattern and new yarn, it was April 2. Yikes! If I had been diligent about working on the Yukon Leaves socks for a significant period of time every day, I might have finished a week or so sooner. After all, I knit the second sock in five days. I highly recommend this pattern for someone who wants lace socks as it is interesting without being difficult. And the Shepherd Sock yarn is lovely! I hope my pal likes her socks.

As for what is up next…I don’t know. Lately I haven’t been in the knitting groove . I don’t have ANY projects on the needles, and I don’t actually feel like knitting anything in particular. This is very unsettling and disturbing to me — this never happens! Usually there are a number of projects that I want to cast on for immediately, but right now…nothing. I hope this phase passes soon. Perhaps I should take this as a sign to re-direct my crafty efforts elsewhere for little awhile. Hope you have a great week.

One Comment on “Sockapaloooza Socks Done!”

  1. Anna says:

    Wow, these socks look great. Even better with the pattern all the way down on the foot!