Lunch For Two

In the last couple of years, I’ve developed an interest in learning how to cook. I love reading cookbooks. I get Cooking Light magazine, and I just subscribed to Everyday Food. Yet my husband and I cook infrequently because we prefer to dedicate our time to other hobbies. Once a week on Sundays, we head to the kitchen for an hour or two to make the dinner that must last at least three nights, hopefully four. The rest of the time, we eat frozen items (not the healthiest, I know) or we order take-out. I’m not skilled or adventurous when it comes to the culinary arts. My mother tried hard to interest me in learning during college, but I stubbornly refused to pay attention. Hubby knows even less than I do. We have probably at most ten dinners in our repetoire that we make over and over again. Basically, we cook minimally and we often stay within our comfort zone of tried and true recipes.

So when I announced on Sunday morning that I would make lunch for us, my husband was a bit surprised. In our entire time together, I have never cooked lunch from scratch. And I was actually quite excited about trying a new recipe!

I’ll be honest — I had an ulterior motive. In a couple of weeks, my mother-in-law and aunt-in-law are coming over for lunch and crafting time. I wanted to test out a potential menu item for the lunch. I selected the Lobster Roll recipe from this cookbook and used the suggested substitute of shrimp. I sure as heck wasn’t about to boil a lobster and pick the meat from it. I bought fresh dill for the first time (had to ask for help finding it), picked up some celery, and headed off on my merry way.

I was so thrilled that the Shrimp Roll turned out yummy!

ShrimpRoll1.jpg

ShrimpRoll2.jpg

One thing that cracks me up is that the recipe calls for “good mayonnaise.” Anybody know what qualifies as “good”?

30 Comments on “Lunch For Two”

  1. Tania A says:

    Good mayonnaise is whatever tastes good to your palate, to be honest.

    I too love to cook. I have a cookbook collection, and get more magazines than is healthy I’m sure, but I love it. I’m always finding more stuff I want to try .. the problem is, there’s not enough time to try every recipe I “ooooh” at.

    Keep up the good work! You’ll be cooking more before you know it.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oooh, yum. That looks fantastic. I really don’t need another cookbook, but that one looks interesting. I think good mayonnaise is something other than miracle whip – just my opinion of course. =)

  3. Jennifer says:

    I’m so hungry now…

  4. yahaira says:

    so great! your mom will be proud!

    good mayo = hellman’s
    crapy mayo = miracle whip (not mayo)

  5. katie says:

    That looks so delicious! I love to cook but only recently got into cooking magazines. I just got my new Eating Well last night and can’t wait to sit down and read over all the awesome recipes.

  6. Jes says:

    OMGosh that looks soooo good!

  7. Angela says:

    OMG! That looks awesome! One of B’s sisters who used to be a chef loves all the Barefoot Contessa cookbooks.

  8. Christina says:

    Good mayonnaise: homemade (it’s easy, I promise!)

    If you like Ina Garten, might I suggest the following: Mario Batali, Giada DiLaurentis, Cook’s Illustrated magazine (the best, evar), Good Eats TV show (also the best) and America’s Test Kitchen on PBS. Also, I have some receipts on my blog if you’d like to learn how to make a simple Egg Cream, Bolognese, or Gelato.

  9. Beth says:

    That looks so delicious! Watch out – you might be making lunch every Sunday now! 🙂

  10. Rebekah says:

    Well it looks yummy! I bet my husband would love that too. Maybe I”ll have to give something like that a try.

  11. joyce says:

    I have TONS of cookbooks but bake most of the time…the past few months I haven’t cooked a meal for a very long time but hopefully will soon.

  12. Gracie says:

    YUM!!

    You need to check out the Paula Deen cookbooks or her magazine if you haven’t already, they are all nice and easy. And, she is just fabulous anyway.

  13. erin says:

    It looks yummy!
    I love reading cookbooks and cooking magazines too. We don’t have time to cook those meals that takes hours of preparation, so we usually do simple things that we can throw together in a jiffy, like pasta. I just bought a Calphalon grill pan yesterday and hope to test drive it this weekend with some salmon. And my fave mayo is the Japanese kind that comes in a squeezie bottle 🙂

  14. erin says:

    It looks yummy!
    I love reading cookbooks and cooking magazines too. We don’t have time to cook those meals that takes hours of preparation, so we usually do simple things that we can throw together in a jiffy, like pasta. I just bought a Calphalon grill pan yesterday and hope to test drive it this weekend with some salmon. And my fave mayo is the Japanese kind that comes in a squeezie bottle 🙂 By the way, do you read food blogs?

  15. Leslie says:

    If you are from the south the mayo of choice is Duke’s mayonnaise!

  16. Beth C says:

    Caitlyn — I received my tissue holder today, and I must say I am very impressed with your sewing abilities and attention to detail! It is a little work of art! (And so cute, too!) 🙂 Your very professional label is just the right touch. Great job! Thank you very, very much!

  17. Jenn says:

    Oh man! That looks good! Everyday Food will be a good magazine for you. It’s simple stuff that looks really fancy and tastes awesome.

    Btw, good mayo=Hellmans but I think out by you it’s called Best Foods. It’s the same stuff though.

  18. jen says:

    there is such a thing as good mayo?
    i haven’t eaten mayo in about 15 years. it’s not water soluable and if your body is 85% water then um hell no i’m not ingesting that stuff.

    altho your roll looks quite yummy, despite the mayo.
    nat and i too have only about 8 things i cook over and over again. we eat take out a lot or go to the BBQ place. It’s almost cheaper anymore. I should look into cooking more.

    i learned a simple quiche from a knitting friend and couldn’t believe how easy it was.

  19. wow! looks yummy! actually it looks like a shrimp and mayo salad that i get here at a local mexican resturant… i must have this reciepe! i like the barefoot contessa on the food network on sat. morns 😉 oh and good mayo is helmans… thats just a guess, thats all i use…

  20. Charmaine says:

    Cooking is wonderful — I feel like I don’t do it enough. Your lobster roll looks de-licious.

  21. Heather says:

    Helmans is probably one of the best storebought mayo’s out there. Basically when you buy mayo – if you are not on a diet (diet mayo is a different subject all together.) the lesser the ingrediants the better.

    I LOVE to cook, acutally I’m a cooking fanatic, I read cookbooks everynight before I got to bed, it’s that bad. Anyway, I recommend getting the Cooks Illustrated – “New Best” cookbook – it rocks and has all sorts of interesting facts and techniques. That is a MUST HAVE cookbook!

  22. quenna says:

    That looks so yummy! I love sandwiches! Everyday Food is a great recipe source.

    Congrats on your Etsy shop! I thought I recognized that retro fabric…

  23. tracy says:

    That looks fantastic – you are one multitalented lady!

  24. ruth says:

    i agree – bad mayo is miracle whip, because its not real mayo. not that miracle whip is bad, its just not real.

    i subscribe to everyday food too – ever since they came out. i just recently decided not to renew, since i have WAY too many recipes in my collection and they were starting to get repetitive. if i were to subscribe again to a food magazine, yep, i would totally jump all over cooking light. =)

  25. Carolyn says:

    Congrats on what looks like a delicious lunch! I find that the more I learn about cooking, the more motiviation I have to try out new recipies and cook more often. In my opinion, freshly cooked food always beats frozen! Best of luck cooking for your in-laws. : )

  26. allison says:

    Yum! That looks so good! You sound exactly like me. I subscribe to yummy cooking magazines
    (including the ones you listed) and I’m constantly tearing out recipes from them. I have so. many. recipes. But I tend to stick with just a handful of tried-and-true ones. I need to experiment more and find more time for home-cooked meals (this also goes hand-in-hand with my fitness goals!).

  27. Marie says:

    YUMMY!!! That looks really delicious! I have way too many cookbooks and magazines laying around and I’ve been making more of an effort to put them to good use. ^^ You just reminded me I need to make chicken salad for dinner. Maybe we should do recipe swaps! 😀

  28. stacey says:

    I’ve always considered Helmanns as good mayo…. 🙂

  29. dez says:

    Good mayo — not heavy, not greasy, flavorful. Best nationally available brand: Hellman’s. Best brand overall: Blue Plate (out of New Orleans).

  30. Heather m says:

    mm. that looks divine…
    For mayo? Heinz or Hellmanns I like…
    Miracle Whip…YUK! That’s like 2 steps from plastic!

    🙂