More Food

I realize that this is a knitting blog, but there certainly hasn’t been much knitting around here lately. The last project I completed was back at the end of February, so it has been almost a full six months since I’ve finished anything. Unfortunately I don’t anticipate finishing a project anytime soon, but I am happy to report that I picked up the needles again and started another Clapotis. I’ll show a photo once I have made more progress.

In the meantime, I’ll ramble about baking and cooking. Here is what we’ve been eating lately:

Banana Bread — this is the second time that I used the low-fat banana bread recipe from How To Bake. The first time the loaf came out gigantic (i.e. sandwich-bread sized slices in the middle of the loaf), so I wanted to see if I would get the same result again.

I did.

BananaBread1.jpg

Now, I am not a banana bread expert, but doesn’t that loaf look unnaturally high? I used the right size loaf pan and the exact amounts of baking powder and baking soda listed in the recipe. If I ever make this again, I’m dividing the batter into two pans and going for short, stubby loaves. Trek kindly shared her low-fat banana bread recipe with me, so I will try that one next.

Broiled Salmon
Salmon1.jpg

We had some very yummy salmon at a friend’s house awhile back. We asked for her recipe and used it several times already. We like the light, slightly sweet flavor. Here is the recipe:

Marinade:
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup water
1/4 cup oil
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons of lemon juice [I used bottled]
salt and pepper to taste

– Combine all marinade ingredients in a large ziploc bag.
– Cut salmon into serving size pieces. Put the salmon pieces into the ziploc bag, push the air out, and seal the bag. Marinate for at least 4 hours.
– Turn on your oven to broil (low broil if you have the option) and let your oven heat up for a few minutes.
– Lay salmon on cooking sheet and sprinkle each piece with black pepper.
– Bake for ~15 min. or until top edges are turning brown.

Beef Burgundy Slow Cooker Recipe from the Make it Simple special issue of Cooking Light (currently on newsstands) — I have two slow cookers, and haven’t used either one in about two years. I had given up on the slow cooker approach because I had a couple of dishes turn out really yucky. But this particular recipe looked promising, so I was optimistic. I didn’t make any modifications.

BeefBurgundy.jpg

I feel ambivalent about it. It turns out that neither Hubby nor I like pearl onions and there was a whole 14 oz package in here. There is something else I don’t like about the taste, but I can’t put my finger on exactly what it is. Overly tart is the best description I can think of, but even that isn’t exactly it. We did have to skim off the fat. The recipe called for lean beef stew meat, but I just bought the meat labeled “beef for stew” so it probably wasn’t particularly lean. The meat seemed overcooked to me so maybe I cut the pieces too small. Hubby thought it tasted fine. I didn’t think it was disgusting (which is a nice improvement from previous slow cooker meals), but I don’t know if I would make it again. If you have a slow cooker recipe that you love, please share it with me!

Cajun Oven-Fried Chicken from Cooking Light — Modifications – we used all drumsticks, removed the skin, and soaked the chicken in buttermilk for about 4 hours. The drumsticks came out very tender and tasted good. The exterior wasn’t crispy, but I didn’t mind that at all. Next time I might try using Bisquick instead of Panko just to see if there is any difference.

CajunChicken1.jpg

I have no idea what we’ll be eating for dinner next week — we might go the easy route and make tacos with packaged seasoning — but I’m planning to bake blueberry muffins tomorrow. My muffin pan has been sitting unused for two years so it’s time to put it to work.

Hope you enjoy a lovely weekend!

17 Comments on “More Food”

  1. ruth says:

    dang girl – just looking at your post makes me salvitate!! =) isn’t salmon yummy? we always bake our salmon (wayne’s preference). as for slow cooker recipes – i haven’t found any that i particularly like. perhaps its because we like our food more flavorful, and it always seems like the slow cooker meals cook off alot of the flavors and makes things just a tad boring for us. i’m also not a fan of pearl onions. i’d rather put in yellow onion wedges, and that should be good enough. =)

  2. erin says:

    LOVE the photos! I have never tried banana bread but it always sounds so yummy. My kids love salmon. I usually cook it with mirin and soya sauce. As for the crockpot, it’s great for Chinese style soups and porridge.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Mmmm, that beef burgundy slow cooker recipe sounds delicious! The banana bread sounds so good as well.

    By the way, I’ve moved my blog to typepad, so if you’d like to stop by on occasion you can now find me at http://craftylilly.typepad.com.

  4. Gracie says:

    Yum! The banana bread does look a little high, but I also think it depends on what the recipe is. I think the one I always use just has baking soda in it, so it doesn’t rise as much.

  5. Heather says:

    Mmmm…the food all looks so good! My kids love pumkin break (they make it seasonally at Bob Evans) so I learned how to make it at home for them. It’s so easy! I make a double batch and make a loaf and muffins 🙂 I like the muffins better cuz there’s more of the good slightly crunchy top of the bread.

  6. allena says:

    yummy food! i love the big banana bread it’s awesome in the AM with cream cheese on it or peanut butter on it.. (low fat of course)
    when i bake my bread gets that high too. i don’t think it looks weird. i know that doesn’t help much!

  7. katie says:

    I really enjoy your food postings! The banana bread does look unnaturally high. Mine usually just peaks a little and has a crack down the center. I use this recipe from Betty Crocker which is my hands-down fave. I love it with some mini chocolate chips thrown in.

    I have never really cooked fish, except for any that my husband catches. I’m intimidated by buying fish at a store. Do you have any tips? My mom likes frozen tilapia fillets, but I don’t know how to be sure the quality is good.

  8. Beth says:

    My stomach started growling when I saw the salmon and sides! I’m not a big salmon fan, but that looks delicious.

    I made the zucchini and basil lasagna (twice!) and it’s so yummy. I’m going to try the blueberry lemon muffins from the same book. Is that the recipe you’re going to make?

  9. I love how the cooking bug his biten you! ummmm, could ya send over her to bite me 😉 really looks delicious! what yarn are using for your second clap?

  10. Rebekah says:

    Once again your seding me home starving! That does look like nan unnaturally high banana bread.

  11. keri says:

    The banana bread does look really high but also super yummy! Who cares what it looks like if it tastes good! One of my favorite breads of all time is pumpkin bread, but I haven’t found a good recipe for it.

    Darn it, now you made me hungry! =)

  12. Agnes says:

    Beef Burgundy is my husband’s most favourite dish, especially in winter. I don’t have a slow cooker … I always make the dish using the pasta pot … and I just use ordinary onion. I follow roughly the recipe by Delia Smith on her webpate http://www.deliaonline.com. I am not sure if this would take longer time … but perhaps you can give it a try.

  13. Elspeth says:

    I have a low fat banana bread recipe that I use and the bread does not rise like yours — if you’re interested I could send it to you. I just made it last week and it was delicious!

  14. Jes says:

    Sorry, I can’t come to your blog anymore cuz it makes me too hungry!!!!

    Just kidding =) It all looks sooo tasty.

  15. Lynette says:

    I love your combined knitting and foodie blog, yay! And you’re definitely making me hungry! Slow cookers are a mystery to me. I don’t use them very often either.

    The banana bread fluffed up quite a bit, but there’s nothing wrong with that. Did it taste good?

    I have a suggestion for your next dinner. Let me know if you’d be interested in a pasta dish and I’ll email you the recipe.

  16. joyce says:

    i know what you mean about knitting…the last thing i knit was a sweater for my daughter when she was in my stomach… i would love to try the salmon recipe — though my husband is allergic to fish so we don’t cook it. i’ll give the recipe to my sister-in-law and maybe she can try it…she cooks salmon a lot. (need to try knitting the clapotis too)…

  17. Stephanie says:

    Yum, yum, yum. Can I come over for dinner? Your banana bread looks high, but I don’t know that it’s a problem as long as the taste and texture are good. I can’t get Travis to eat salmon, so I just have to order it when we go out. I don’t have any recipes I love for the slow cooker – well, I like ham & beans and bbq beef but those are supposed to be cooked to within an inch of their lives.