Jambalaya

As a way of broadening my culinary horizons, my goal has been to try a new dinner recipe each week. I don’t always accomplish this; for example, last week I was too busy to pore over my cookbooks so we made our tried-and-true pasta primavera and grilled some chicken. Hubby isn’t interested in the entire recipe selection process, so I usually narrow it down to two choices and then ask for his opinion. This week, the two options were Chicken and Andouille Jambalaya from Cooking Light or a Potato, Beef, and Tomato Stew that I learned from my mother. I selected Jambalaya as an option because we were at the Elephant Bar earlier in the day and Hubby mentioned that Jambalaya sounded good. However, the ingredient list for this recipe is relatively long and there would a good deal of chopping and measuring involved. And it was Hubby’s birthday so it seemed a little mean to have him spend hours in the kitchen with me. So I offered the Potato, Beef, and Tomato Stew as the other option because it is one of his favorites. I was fully expecting Hubby to choose the Stew because: (1) he loves it, and (2) it would be much, much simpler. But he surprised me – even after looking at the recipe, he picked the Jambalaya.

Jambalaya1.jpg

Jambalaya2.jpg

From start to finish, it took us about an hour and a half, but Hubby and I are both slow choppers even with help of the food processor. We bought Aidell’s Cajun-Style Andouille sausage, which was okay, but next time we would use one of Aidell’s other flavors that we like better. I didn’t read the recipe carefully enough, so instead of adding 1.5 teaspoons of finely chopped jalapeno pepper, I told Hubby to chop the entire pepper and throw it all in. Whoops. Fortunately the result wasn’t disastrous – the Jambalaya was spicy but still yummy. I think this recipe is a keeper that will be great for the coming cold winter nights. And I was happy because throughout the evening Hubby mentioned several times how fun it was cooking the Jambalaya together!

Overall, I’m pleased with our progress in cooking. I feel like we are taking small but steady steps toward expanding our recipe repertoire and being more proficient in the kitchen. A year ago, my idea of a home-cooked meal was to boil frozen ravioli and mix it with a can of Prego. I’m not saying that there is anything wrong with that. But now, are much more willing to take the time to create our meals instead of simply heating them up. And I don’t know if we could ever go back to the old way of doing things.

16 Comments on “Jambalaya”

  1. Julia says:

    I agree! I looove creating meals. And I love jambalaya, yours looks so good! The little sausage bits make it yummy. =)

  2. Beth says:

    Ooo, that looks so delicious! And it’s great that your husband enjoys cooking with you. That makes it special.

  3. vanessa says:

    OMG..I’m salivating right..sorry 🙂 it looks so delicious!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I’m so hungry right now.

  5. catherine says:

    mmmmmmm, lookin’ good! i am not a big fan of jambalaya b/c it has rice in it… but yours looks amazing! (wierd huh? born and raised in southern LA around a TON of rice fields and i hate rice!);) if you ever want a “healthy” gumbo recipe just ask…. my family has perfected it!

  6. ruth says:

    i’m totally game for frozen pasta and ready-made sauce. Add Pillsbury breadsticks and/or a salad, and you got a complete meal! In 15 minutes! =)
    I’ve made jambalaya before… the only thing I didn’t enjoy is working with okra and how slimy it was. I think I enjoy eating jambalaya rather than making it. And yours looks super yummy =)

  7. allison says:

    That looks so yummy!

  8. stacey says:

    Looks so yummy! Hub and I are both huge spicy food fans – I’ll have to look this one up – what month is it from? Cooking light has great dishes in it!

  9. Stephanie says:

    Yum. That looks like a great recipe. I think I have that cookbook. I’m going to have to look.

  10. Rebekah says:

    Looks wonderful. And what a great goal. You know, I think I’m going to adopt it myself. I need to broade my cooking horizons. Okay that’s it, I’ve adopted this plan of action. Thanks for inspiring me.

  11. Jes says:

    Wow, that looks really tasty! The great thing about recipes like that is that you can easily double it, and then freeze half (or more) in individual or duo servings. I do that all winter long with stews and stuff. It saves so much time!

  12. joyce says:

    looks very good! i too must cook more instead of bake more but at the moment i don’t have time since i have two kiddies to watch now. my husband does the cooking and is quite the chef i must say.

  13. quenna says:

    That looks so yummy…it’s fun to cook together.

    Happy birthday to the both of you (the kitchen aid mixer looks like fun)!

  14. Sarah says:

    That jambalaya looks amazing! And hw much fun for you to cook with your husband. My hub and I cook together a lot too, it just makes the process that much more fun.

  15. blair says:

    My mouth is watering, and I’m not kidding. That looks incredible!

  16. jen says:

    pppj thanks for the link to that. i want to try to make it once it gets a little colder around these parts. and i don’t mind chopping ( iused to be a sous chef for years)