They Can’t All Be Winners…

Just a quick post about this week’s dinners…

1. Beef and Vegetable Potpie from the October 2006 issue of Cooking Light
BeefVegetablePotPie.jpg

The reviews of this recipe indicated that the potpie turned out bland. I tried to fix this by seasoning the ground sirloin with pepper and garlic powder beforehand. Unfortunately, it didn’t help. There is really nothing special about this dish, and we wouldn’t make it again. Also, while the Pillsbury breadstick dough crust was easy, it tasted odd to us. We didn’t think it went well with the filling and we ended up not eating the crust at all. The next time we make a potpie, we might have to try making the crust from scratch!

2. Chicken a la Veracruzana from Rick Bayless’ book Mexican Everyday.
ChickenStew.jpg

I picked up this cookbook on a recent trip to Borders. I wasn’t intentionally looking for a Mexican cookbook, but I was drawn to the clear explanations and photos of ingredients commonly used in Mexican cooking. It looked like a good book for a novice. The Chicken a la Veracruzana is essentially a stew of chicken thighs, potatoes, diced tomatoes, picked jalapenos, manzanilla olives, and various spices cooked in a slow cooker. It was quite easy and turned out very well. We liked it over rice. Finally, we have our first successful slow cooker dish!!!

Amazingly, I finished my Clapotis last week! (Can you imagine that I have actual knitting content for this knitting blog???) I just need to weave in the ends and take photos this weekend. I’m also working on a scarf for my sister, which has been great mindless knitting. Exactly what I need.

Have a great weekend!

7 Comments on “They Can’t All Be Winners…”

  1. Jes says:

    I had a hard time with beef stews and pot roast seasonings, so I tried the McCormick seasoning packet for beef stew, and it was awesome. The taste is great and it doesn’t really need anything else. Also, I think the breadstick thing is kind of weird too. I’ve never used breadsticks, but I have used biscuits. I like the taste, but I can’t get them to cook right. When I do it the bottom never cooks and I end up with batter in the caserole. Ewwww.

  2. ruth says:

    Hey hey! Sorry, I actually didn’t make it to SnB last week, but I WILL be there tonight. =)
    That’s terrific that you found a crockpot recipe you liked. So far I haven’t found any just yet. =P

  3. jen says:

    rick bayless is the best. We wished we could pledge enough to win the personal chef party (thrown by rick bayless) for an evening, that was a no go.

    Also his 2 restaurants here in chicago are always so busy. when we’ve treid to go to Frontera there’s always a 2 hr wait!

    we just settle to watch him every weekend on pbs instead. I keep waiting to see him walking down the mag mile someday like oprah.

  4. erin says:

    At least the chicken dish turned out to be something you like, the ingredients sounds interesting. You can use the crock pot to make stews following conventional recipes too.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh, that Mexican dish looks delicious!

  6. quenna says:

    Maybe a pinch of red pepper flakes to jazz up the pot pie? I love the lattice top!

    I’m gonna need a copy of that chicken recipe — I have not had much success with my Crock Pot meals!!

    Hurray for finishing the Clap 🙂

  7. Katie says:

    I saw that potpie recipe in CL when it came out and I wondered how it would be. I usually make my own crust or use biscuits for potpie topping. It’s good to know what you thought so I won’t have to find out myself!

    The chicken dish looks amazing. Another cookbook to add to my wishlist!