You know when you are totally excited about a knitting project and just can’t wait to get back to it? That’s how I feel about this:

EntrelacScarfv1.1.jpg

I’m using Noro Silk Garden in colorway 224, and the photo above shows the whole first skein. I’ve been knitting like crazy because I love watching the colors change. Ironically, I realized that I don’t want a scarf in these colors after I started knitting it, so this one will be a gift. I want darker colors for myself and ordered colorway 217. This scarf is essentially a smaller version of a very popular stole (without the fringe). Many thanks to Allison of Freckles and Purls for posting the pattern!

Also, I would like to thank everyone for checking out my destashing blog last week. Wow, some of those emails came in fast! In case anyone is interested, I still have four skeins of Cashmerino and two skeins of Jade Sapphire 8-ply cashmere up for sale.

In cooking news, we’ve enjoyed a few successes this week. I baked Apple-Date Bars (Cooking Light, October 2006) on Friday and they came out really well. I substituted raisins for dates, walnuts for pecans, and cut the sugar down to 1.5 cups. Next time I would cut the raisins a bit too, but other than that the recipe is wonderful.

AppleRaisinBars.jpg

The cover recipe for the October Cooking Light is Classic Beef Pot Roast. I have a brand new Le Creuset dutch oven that I’ve been itching to test, and this seemed like the perfect recipe. Oh. my. goodness. This pot roast is very, very good. My photo doesn’t do it justice. The meat is super tender and flavorful and the potatoes and carrots are delicious too. While the cooking time is long (about 2.5 hours in the oven), the actual cooking process is really easy. I can definitely see us making this again in the winter. The mods I made were that I doubled the garlic (which I do for practically everything because we like garlic) and I used a 2.5 lb piece of pot roast because that I was the largest cut I could find at the supermarket.

PotRoast.jpg
Someone please tell me that the stains on the Le Creuset will come off!

Lastly, Hubby put together this yummy pizza for us. The sauce recipe is from this book. I seriously considered making the crust from scratch but ultimately decided it would be too time consuming.

pizza.jpg

Food-wise, I think we’re set for the week!

24 Comments on “”

  1. Julia says:

    Yum! Your cooking looks fab. I’m so jealous you have a Le Creuset dutch oven…I want one so bad! Maybe for our next move to a bigger place(whenever that is). And I *almost* convinced myself to buy the Silk garden for this scarf after seeing the post at freckles and purls, but I restrained myself! I still want one though. =)

  2. erin says:

    Entrelac looks so complicated 🙂 I would like to try this one day.

  3. wendy g says:

    Your scarf is beautiful! Nice pictures of your cooking tiis weekend and I know everything was delicious.

  4. Lolly says:

    I love the entrelac more and more each time I see it – such a beautiful piece in the Noro too!

  5. Tonia says:

    That scarf is coming along nicely. I love the color changes too. That is going to look really nice once it is finished.

    Ok you need to come over to my house and cook some. LOL Everything that you post looks so good.

  6. Veronique says:

    The entrelac scarf is looking good! I know what you mean about being hooked on the pattern and the color changes: I made my stole in 10 days, one ball a day! Oh, by the way, I had misplaced my copy of the book with the stole pattern, so I used the Knitty pattern Danica. Entrelac is entrelac after all!

  7. Katie says:

    The scarf is gorgeous, Caitlyn! I saw that CL pot roast recipe and have to try it now. I have several Le Creuset pots and two big LC Dutch ovens (my grandfather was French and a big cook–my mom gave me some of his pots when he died). You can do two things to clean the stains off–one is to use a Scotch Brite pad. If you haven’t seen them, these are green scouring things that are thin and look like scratchy felt. They work great to scour off any brown stuff. They don’t damage the enamel. You can also use a diluted bleach/water solution (about one part bleach to six parts water) and that will take any discoloration off of the enamel. I make oatmeal in one of my small pots and the cinnamon I put in it stains the white enamel–but the bleach solution takes it right off. Cook’s Illustrated did an article about this once, recommending the bleach water for LC cookware, so I feel safe using it.

  8. gleek says:

    ooooh, i just love the entrelac stole! very pretty! silk garden is great. the color changes make everything so surprising 🙂

  9. Heather says:

    The scarf is so pretty, the color changes are amazing in that yarn & pattern. I can see how it would be addicting waiting to see how the colors change.

    I make pizza dough from scratch all the time, it’s so easy (with my KitchenAid mixer that is!). It’s faster than getting a pizza delivered and the ingredients are all things I have around the house. Let me know if you want the recipe.

  10. Greeley says:

    Hi! I received the artyarns on Saturday morning. Thanks so much!

  11. Rebekah says:

    The scarf is gorgeous, I really like how it looks like little pillows.

    Yum, that food looks amazing. Your becoming quite the chef.

  12. Jill says:

    Everything in this post just looks so yummy! Love the scarf.

  13. allison says:

    I posted a comment yesterday but it never showed up (said it have to be “approved” or something).

    Anyway, just wanted to say that the scarf looks GREAT! I’m glad you’re enjoying the pattern. And all of the food looks so yummy. The colder weather is here and yummy pot roast is something I’ll be making very soon! There is nothing quite like the taste of potatoes and carrots from a pot roast. Yum-O!

    I can’t wait to see the scarf in that darker colorway. I just love those deep dark colors!!

  14. 1 yard fabric swap pal says:

    Wow – that is such a beautiful entrelac, the colourway really suits it – the way the colours develop is just lovely. It sounds like you might have to make one for youself in a colour that you do like, but that can be easier said than done. : )

    The pot roast is making my tummy rumble – it looks delicious! [And stains on LC generally do come off].

  15. Cyndi says:

    I love how Noro looks in entrelac! So neat. I’ve never done it though, it looks complicated.

    Your food looks great – I need to remember not to visit your blog in the morning though, makes me hungry!

  16. Leslie says:

    I will try commenting again since I received the same msg that it had to be “approved” just like Allison’s. Hmmm :

    ~*~*~*~

    Your scarf is just so pretty and very unique! Thanks for posting the pattern. I’ve already downloaded and printed it. I’ve been wanting to do something different for my mom . . she’s got these images of knitted items from her childhood 60 years ago and is cringing when I talk about knitting. I keep trying to tell her, “But mom, yarns and things are so different now!” But she doesn’t believe me. *lol* I think she may like this one.

    As for your dutch oven . . after soaking it for a bit, try some “Bar Keeper’s Friend” — you can find it in your local grocery store right by the Comet and Ajax. You might not want to use the latter two just because they are more abrasive. But using BKF is recommended for my All-Clad and it works really well.

    I can’t wait to see more of your projects!

  17. Gracie says:

    I love love the scarf!!

  18. joyce says:

    wow caitlyn, you’re becoming quite the cook!
    the scarf looks great!

  19. Beth says:

    I decided tonight that I need to have some healthier snacks around the house. Your Apple Date Bars look like they would be just right. All of your dishes look yummy!

    And your scarf looks so nice. I love the colors. It looks like it will be a very comfy scarf!

  20. Stephanie says:

    I love the scarf! And the food is making me hungry.

  21. marie says:

    that is a really interesting knit! the colors are amazing! but i do love the darker colors you’ve chosen better. ^^ i love dark colors especially during winter.

    p.s. on the pot roast..*drool*

  22. quenna says:

    I love your scarf! I’ve always wanted to try entrelac. The pot roast looks so good — that’s definitely on my to do list 🙂

  23. isel says:

    Yummi. Can I come over?

    Love the scarf!! Thanks for linking to the pattern. Must make it. Must, must, must…thank you. 🙂

  24. Sara says:

    Caitlyn,
    You’ve inspired me to pick up my entrelac stole again, also in Noro but Kureyon…after I finish the socks I’m making for my dad that were supposed to be a father’s day present (oops).
    Funny, I returned from the Knitter’s Review retreat on Tuesday night and my husband had made the same pot roast recipe. It was delicious and there were plenty of leftovers, too. I hope to see you soon.

    Sara