Two Scarves and a Hat

While I haven’t posted much lately, I’ve been knitting a lot and it feels great. I’m really excited about knitting again and have been picking up the needles at every spare moment. I’m happy that I’m finally getting over my knitting blahs – yay!

First, I finished my sister’s replacement Karaoke Scarf. I didn’t wait for good natural lighting to take a photo, since it looks exactly like the original one. Let’s hope she doesn’t lose this one because I’m not up for knitting a third black Karaoke scarf.

As soon as I finished the scarf, I cast on for a hat.

SpiralRibbedHat.jpg

Pattern: Ann Norling Spiral Ribbed Hat
Yarn: Filatura di Crosa 127 Print, color #19, 1 skein
Needles: Clover Takumi US 9 / 16″

I bought this yarn about six months ago, and I liked the colors so much that it survived my massive destashing. Considering how much I sold off, that’s definitely saying something! I started to knit a rolled edge stockinette hat with it, but found that the random color stripes bothered me a lot. I added the spiral ribbed pattern as a way of detracting from the stripes. I like the hat much better now. While the yarn was great to knit with, I’m not sure I would buy it again because of the odd striping.

Lastly, I finished my sister’s birthday present.

EntrelacScarfv1.2.jpg

EntrelacScarfv1.3.jpg

EntrelacScarfv1.4.jpg

EntrelacScarfv1.5.jpg

Pattern: Entrelac Scarf
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, Color #224, 4 skeins
Needles: Clover Takumi US 8

As you can see, the 4 skeins did not contain all the same colors. The two ends of the scarf (shown in the first and third photos) look drastically different. Surprisingly, this doesn’t bother me. I think it gives the scarf a bit more character! I’m planning to cast on for my own Entrelac Scarf soon.

I have a couple of other projects on the needles, and hopefully the weather will cooperate for photos next weekend. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

21 Comments on “Two Scarves and a Hat”

  1. Rebekah says:

    Everything looks lovely. I’m glad you found your knitting zen again.

    I really like the entrelac scarf.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Great finished projects. You’ve been busy. Have a happy Thanksgiving.

  3. erin says:

    Love the colours in the entrelac scarf. The differences in the colours are not that noticeable anyway. Wonder what colours you’ll be using for your own scarf.

  4. joyce says:

    great finished projects! i think i need to knit myself a new scarf =)

  5. gleek says:

    wow, you HAVE been knitting a lot lately. glad to hear that you are out of the blues and into the fun of knitting again.

    the entrelac scarf is great! i love the color progression.

  6. allison says:

    Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful! All of it! I can’t wait to see *your* entrelac scarf! Your sister is one lucky gal!

  7. Tonia says:

    Glad that your knitting MoJo is coming back. The hat and scarf look great. Maybe you should have knit in a GPS device in your sisters new scarf so that she can keep track of it. 🙂

  8. Beth says:

    Your hat and scarf both look fabulous! And a happy Thanksgiving to you. Are you cooking dinner that day?

  9. The scarf looks beautiful! I’m sure your sister will love it. And I actually really like the hat, too–I think the stripes give it character. The combination of the random stripes plus the ribbing pattern looks good to me.

  10. Leslie says:

    Your hat is lovely! Usually I don’t care for orange that much, but this is definitely an exception. It actually patterned itself that way?? Wow! Do you have the pattern anywhere handy that you can link? I like the way you spiraled it too.

    I’m glad you’re back to knitting. I was kinda having a two day blah myself . . but I’m now knitting a holiday purse for my sister that I think she’ll just love. I’m using one strand of Katia Sevilla in black, and one strand of Trendsetter Sunshine in black — knitted together in seed stitch or moss stitch (whichever you prefer to call it). I swear, it looks like little black diamonds! I’m going to line it with silk and do some sort of glass beading for the strap. I will send you a pic when I’m done! 😀

    I hope you have a happy Thanksgiving!! *hug*

  11. Leslie says:

    OOps!! I just saw the link for the hat . . I must’ve completely missed that the first time I looked — sorry.

  12. keri says:

    The entrelac scarf is beautiful, I just can’t take my eyes off the colors!

  13. MJ says:

    Such a pretty scarf! I love the colors, especially the tweediness at the end of the scarf. Lucky sis!

  14. Dipsy D. says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you’ve found your knitting mojo again – and your finished projects are so amazing! I totally love the cap, what a great pattern – and the scarf rocks big time! I so love how the colors go along together, and it looks really warm and cozy! Fantastic work!

  15. Lolly says:

    Oh, the scarf is so lovely, Caitlyn. You are such a sweet sister – I think I would keep that one for myself!! 🙂

  16. Karen says:

    Beautiful scarf! What a great birthday present!

  17. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous scarf! She’ll love it.

    Have a peaceful Thanksgiving!

  18. vknits says:

    That enterlac scarf for your sister looks amazing! I really like the range of colors, that’s Noro for ya!

  19. Danielle says:

    Caitlyn,
    It was nice seeing you at Knitique yesterday. I love that you’ve thrown yourself back into knitting again. You seem to have a gift for whatever you choose.

    Have a great Thanksgiving,

    Danielle

  20. Larjmarj says:

    Thanks for the free entralac pattern!

  21. Iris says:

    What a beautiful scarf!