Pink Posey Socks

On the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, I enjoyed a lovely visit with Danielle and Teresa at Knitique. Knitique carries beautiful yarns and has an incredibly warm and inviting atmosphere, making it one of my favorite yarn stores. I am always glad when I stop in for a visit. Although I spent most of my time there chatting away, I did do a little shopping and picked up two skeins of Claudia Hand Painted Yarn for a new pair of socks.

My knitting plan for the Thanksgiving weekend was to start the socks and also work on two scarves. But as soon as I cast on with the Claudia Hand Painted Yarn, I couldn’t put the sock down! The yarn is luscious. I knit and knit and knit, and the scarves got woefully neglected. I took the photos below on Sunday afternoon, but I actually finished the first sock already and cast on for the second one. Apparently I’m addicted to these socks as I have no desire to knit anything else!

ClaudPinkPosey1.jpg

I love the colors — there are varying shades of pink with hints of purples and browns sprinkled throughout.

ClaudPinkPosey2.jpg

As you’ve probably noticed, I’ve been taking a rather “vanilla” approach to socks — ribbed cuff and stockinette leg and foot. I like my sock knitting to be easy, and my feet are small so many published patterns would end up being too big unless I made pattern adjustments. But I do have Sensational Knitted Socks, which offers multiple sizes, so perhaps I will branch out soon.

I also bought a skein of Yarntini self-striping sock yarn from Knitique. Aren’t those colors fun?

YarntiniGimlet1.jpg

I’m looking forward to knitting my first pair of striped socks, and I’m even thinking about trying them toe up with Magic Loop. For those of you who have tried both top down and toe up, which method do you prefer?

21 Comments on “Pink Posey Socks”

  1. Beautiful colors! And I think that stockinette socks show off variegated yarn the best, anyway. It also makes for faster knitting! Most of my socks are stockinette or regular ribs, too.

    As to top-down vs. toe-up, I like top-down. I understand that toe-up makes it easier to use up all your yarn up, but I personally prefer top-down heels with the heel flap. I think they fit and wear better. You can make a flap heel with the toe-up method, too, but I find that much fiddlier and harder to size than the top-down heel flap.

    Looking forward to see that gorgeous Yarntini yarn all knit up!

  2. Diana says:

    The pink socks are very pretty! I agree that sock knitting should be easy, especially with addictive socks yarn.

  3. jess says:

    Love the pink sock!

    I prefer toe-up most of the time, mostly because it is easier to try on the sock as I go and I can attempt to use up all of the yarn I have (if I so desire). I also like short-row toes and heels and they fit me well, but I know other people prefer flap heels and various different toes. I haven’t seen any difference in wear between my toe-up and cuff-down socks. πŸ™‚

    can’t wait to see the yarntini knit up!

  4. jessie says:

    Love the Claudia socks… so pretty!

    I’m a toe-up gal. I was so afraid of the cast-on until I just went ahead and tried it. Haven’t done a top down sock since. Using a provisional cast-on, the toes fit me perfectly and misocrafty’s short-row wrap method is super easy to understand. I don’t think I will ever have the courage to try magic loop though! dpns all the way!

    Gimlet is one of my fave colorways, I’m so happy you picked it up!

  5. keri says:

    The colors are yummy, your feet are so lucky!

    Top-down are my faves…short row heels feel fiddly to me.

  6. Beth says:

    Your socks look great! I’m hoping to knit (and complete) my first pair of socks over Christmas break. I’ve tried a couple of times, but this time I’ll make it. πŸ™‚

  7. StarzAbove says:

    Beautiful socks – beautiful yarn!

    I prefer toe-up, two-at-once and magic-loop for knitting socks πŸ™‚

  8. Lolly says:

    I can see why you are addicted! That pink yarn is simply beautiful! I am hoping to Magic Loop soon too – it looks like fun πŸ˜‰

  9. Leslie says:

    What can I say . . I LOVE the socks!! I like very simple socks also. I think the only “fancy” pattern is the one that I linked you to in my comment before. Yes, I agree . . these colors are absolutely beautiful!!

    While I like and enjoy the yarn shop I have near me, there really isn’t a good, basic yarn shop here in Florida (Tampa area) that I’ve been able to find that has a lot of stock. I’m sure it’s due to the weather we have down here. Almost everyone knits for relatives and friends “up North” or does fashionable accessories using more decorative yarns. Wool down here just doesn’t work, obviously. It’s too bad because being a northern girl myself . . I would love to be able to wear sweaters and scarves and hats. I miss that.

    I’m definitely going to be checking out your links and looking at the yarns. πŸ˜€

  10. gleek says:

    i hat yet to conquer toe-up knitting 😦 i really need to! that claudia’s is just gorgeous. i have some in my stash but haven’t been able to use it just yet.

  11. Rebekah says:

    Oh I love that blue and green sock yarn. I’ve tried both methods, toe up and toe down. And I think I like the down better. I’m not sure why, maybe it’s just because I’m used to it and have only down one toe up.

  12. Stephanie says:

    Gorgeous pink socks. I’m currently making some toe-up knee highs and while I think that was a good choice for that project, I generally prefer top down socks because I like the heel flap and round toe (from Nancy Bush). I have some yarntini I want to use next. I have so much sock yarn it’s hard to decide which to use next.

  13. Karen says:

    I like making plain vanilla socks best too. They are my mindless knitting and they stop being mindless if there is a pattern in them I have to pay attention to. I have never tried toe up. Yet.

  14. Kelly says:

    Yummy sock yarn and great pictures! As far as top-down vs. toe-up, I’d go for toe up. I sort of hate short rows so that’s a negative for toe-up, but love that you can knit till you run out of yarn and can also make your socks identical twins by starting the toe with the same color stripe. Either way is great with yarn that pretty, though.

  15. Katie says:

    My first pair of socks was toe-up, because I had heard they were easier. I think both versions are the same as far as ease of knitting goes. But I def. prefer top-down. Mainly it’s because I prefer the way the gusset goes on top-down socks. I don’t like the picked-up stitches lying along the length of my foot. I feel them more that way, and I really don’t want to feel them at all.

    Love the pink socks!

  16. Jess says:

    I prefer toe-up to top-down, mostly because I like the short-row heel and toe. And I adore the Magic Loop techinique, too. It’s just so much simpler, and I do always feel like it’s magic that I’m doing something to small on big circulars.

  17. Jennifer says:

    Lovely socks. I think that simple socks work best with handpainted yarns. It shows off the yarn to it’s best effect.

  18. joyce says:

    you inspire me to try and knit socks =)

  19. Dipsy D. says:

    Well, what can I say? No one can blame you for beeing addicted to this yarn and the socks you’re knitting with it – it’s divine, absolutely! What a luscious colour, and it seems to be heaven to knit with! I also totally love the Yarntini-colorway, so happy and cheerful – amazing!

  20. eunny says:

    Oh, that pink stuff is divine. And Claudia’s Handpaints yarns are so sqooshy and soft – great to knit, and fantastic to wear. Those are definitely socks that would brighten up a gloomy winter.

    As for toe-up vs. cuff-down: I like them both πŸ™‚

  21. JessaLu says:

    Great yarn – I love both those colorways :o)

    I like toe-up better than top-down and overall I like short row heels because they use less yarn and take like five minutes to knit – unlike the flap that seems like it takes forever and a day ;o)