All Socks, All The Time

My Pink Posey Socks came off the needles two weeks ago. I really like them because the yarn is so incredibly plush and the colors make me smile.

ClaudPinkPosey3.jpg

Pattern: Top down sock pattern from The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns
Yarn: Claudia Hand Painted Yarn, Pink Posey, 2 skeins
Needles: US #1 / 40″ Addi Turbos for Magic Loop

I still need to work on neatening up my socks. As you can see below, I had some ladders. It took me until the second sock to remember that when I insert my needle into the second stitch, I should tug on the working yarn a bit to tighten up the first stitch. I do this with all other knitting, so I don’t know why I forgot with socks. Also, my ribbed cuff isn’t as neat as I would like — anyone have tips for that?

ClaudPinkPosey4.jpg

As soon I finished the Pink Posey Socks, I cast on for another pair. This time, I am doing toe-up, two-at-a-time with Magic Loop. The yarn is Koigu KPPPM Colorway P419. There is actually a lot more purple than what is showing up in the photos.

Koigu1.jpg

After I finished the short row heel, I had great difficulty closing the gap between the live stitches on the heel and the ones on the instep. I knew that I was supposed to pick up an extra stitch or two, but the problem was that when I picked up stitches, I created an even bigger hole. It was pretty darn ugly and I got so frustrated. I finally took the socks to an LYS and asked the for help. The owner gave me a few pointers about where I might pick up the stitches, and also suggested that I twist them by knitting through the back loop. Generally, her advice worked for me, except that I still ended up with one quite large hole. It may not look gigantic in this photo, but it’s definitely noticeable when I try on the sock! But one out of four isn’t too bad — I could live with that for my first toe-ups.

Koigu2.jpg

On the positive side, I think my short row heel looks pretty decent. The short row heel seems so cool.

Koigu3.jpg

I’m hoping to finish these up later in the week, and then I’ll post my impressions of top-down versus toe-up.

By the way, you see that nifty floral zippered pouch peeking out in my photos? That is the small project pouch from Piddleloop. It’s the perfect size for sock projects. They come in lots of fun fabrics and are very well made, so go check them out!

17 Comments on “All Socks, All The Time”

  1. gleek says:

    look at all the knitting you’ve been doing! you must be back in the groove πŸ™‚ short row heels are the best. they are now my defacto heel of choice!

  2. Veronique says:

    I always get holes too! Grrr.
    I sometimes close it up with extra yarn, after I’m done knitting with the sock. I know, it’s cheating…
    Looks like you’ve been bitten by the sock bug πŸ™‚

  3. The pink posey socks look great! The color is really beautiful.

    And your short-row heels look terrific, too. You’ve really been trucking along with the sock knitting!

    Heh, after I said that I like cuff-down socks with a heel flap best, I’ve been making toe-up, short-row heel socks for Christmas presents. Go figure.

  4. ruth says:

    oooh, love the socks – esp the colorways. pretty!
    p.s. hey are you guys in town this week? i have something for you, not sure when i’m going to see you next…

  5. Beth says:

    Your socks are lovely! They look so soft and comfortable. Merry Christmas!

  6. keri says:

    Oooh those pink posey socks looks so luxurious and cozy!

    I’m still a fan of the top-down, holes seem to happen all the time with toe up although I have heard that picking up extra stitches and knitting them together with the join helps.

    Happy holidays to you!

  7. Stephanie says:

    Your socks look great. You can fix your hole with a little sewing at the end. I think I prefer top down, but it’s nice to do a toe up once in awhile.

  8. Angela says:

    Does this mean you’re officially back into socks? πŸ˜‰

  9. Jennifer says:

    I *heart* piddleloop!

    Lovely socks.

    Have a peaceful Christmas!

  10. Chris says:

    To neaten up your ribbing on k2p2 do the following:
    Row 1 k1, k1 wrapping yarn backwards, p2
    Row 2 k1, k1tbl wrapping yarn backwards, p2
    Repeat Row 2 until you are done with the ribbing.

  11. Jessica says:

    Great looking socks! I have to start sock knitting soon again.

  12. joyce says:

    lovely socks! can’t wait to try!

  13. Tonia says:

    Very nice socks. Looks like you have your groove back.

    I have done the cheat method to fixing holes by weaving yarn in after to close them up. I occasionally have the same problem with no matter how many stitches I pick up and where they are that there can be even bigger holes made. I don’t know why this is. Maybe it is the yarn or just my mood.

    I say just weave yarn in after to close up the hole. πŸ™‚

  14. Lolly says:

    There you are~ I have missed you!

    Looks like you have been busy making beautiful socks! I love the pink ones – they look like a great fit πŸ˜‰

  15. Karen says:

    Beautiful socks! I still haven’t figured out how to not get a hole there with a sr heel.

  16. lynette says:

    i love your socks. they’re beautiful.

  17. Jackie says:

    Oooh – I love the pretty pink yarn. And they’re so long!