Smiling About Stripes

YarntiniGimlet3.jpg

YarntiniGimlet4.jpg

YarntiniGimlet5.jpg

Pattern: My own with Dutch Heel from Knitting Vintage Socks
Yarn: Yarntini Sock Yarn, Colorway Gimlet, 1 skein
Needles: US #1 / 32″ Addi Turbos for Magic Loop

I knit these socks top down and one-at-a-time. I made an effort to match the stripes, but they are off by a couple of rows. To change things up, I used the Dutch Heel from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush. I like the appearance of this heel more than my usual slip stitch heel, although I suppose time will tell which one is more comfortable and longer-wearing. The Yarntini sock yarn is awesome — it knits up very well and who can resist such fun colors? I have already ordered several more skeins from Jessie so I will have more stripey goodness to show in the coming months!

Of course, as soon as I finished these socks, I cast on for another pair. And even though I wrote previously that I didn’t care for toe-up, two-at-a-time, look what I’m doing anyway:

PlumiciousToeUp1.jpg

Apparently you can’t take anything I say here too seriously, huh? I’ve been wearing my Koigu toe-up socks, and I really like the short-row heel. So I decided to do another pair of toe-ups. The thing I did differently this time was that I started the socks separately and finished the toe increases before I put them together on one needle. That made the increases more bearable. The yarn is Claudia Hand Painted in Plumicious.

Lest you think that this has turned into a sock blog, I actually worked on something else for a change.

EntrelacScarfv2.1.jpg

I started the Entrelac Scarf for myself back in November, and only knit a few inches before I became obsessed with socks. On Saturday, I actually wanted to work on this, so I ran with the feeling and got through the first skein. Now, it could be months before I finish the scarf, but at least there is a glimmer of hope that I might eventually recover from the sock craze!

24 Comments on “Smiling About Stripes”

  1. Mama Urchin says:

    Those entrelac scarves always remind me of braided bread. Yours is looking great, and the socks too.

  2. Tonia says:

    Those socks are Great! Love the colors and the stripes.

    I haven’t tries entrelac yet, but it does peak my interest quite a bit. That will have to be something on cmy list for this year. The scarf is oming along lovely.

  3. Kelly says:

    ohhh they look great all done! I think I’m gonna have to try toe ups if its that addictive! Is knitting the two at once hard?? Don’t they get tangled??
    I love entrelac too that scarf is going to look great!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous socks and I love the rich colors of your entrelac scarf.

  5. allison says:

    Love those stripes! I am always carrying socks in my purse and I just finished a pair last night at a basketball game (still need to graft the toe). I’m thinking my next pair may be toe-up because I don’t have much yarn for them and want to get as much out of it as possible! That’s the best thing about toe-ups!

    I love the Entrelac Scarf in those deep dark colors! That red is so gorgeous in it.

  6. gleek says:

    wow, you actually did a fantastic job of matching up those stripes! i’ve never seen better.

    to be frank, i don’t mind a lot of socks on a blog. they are always fun to look at! πŸ˜‰

  7. Veronique says:

    Ooh, I love Yarntini socks! How did you ever manage to keep the stripe sequence perfect after the heel?!
    And the entrelac looks scrumptious…

  8. Jessica says:

    Lovely colors – so bright!

  9. keri says:

    WOW – I love that colorway, so nice and bright!

    I love the colors you chose for your next scarf, isn’t this one for you??

  10. Lolly says:

    Those are such happy socks! They put a smile on my face immediately πŸ˜‰ LOVE them, C!

  11. Jenn says:

    Love love love it! Those are my two favorite colors ever. I can’t believe you just keep knitting socks. I’ve actually completed one pair in my knitting life and can’t imagine finishing another. Maybe I need to switch to knitting two at a time.

  12. ruth says:

    ooh, LOVE the yarntini socks… esp those colors and stripes. i’m going to have to snag me some yarntini when it becomes available again. =) and your piddleloop bag… i want to get one too. =)
    hope you are having a good week!

  13. Lori says:

    Hi Caitlyn!
    All your socks look great!
    You’re such an inspiration…I’m thinking of attempting socks one more time. πŸ™‚

  14. erin says:

    Your stripey socks are great! Just love the colours. I have yet to try toe up socks but your idea of starting each separately and then putting them on one needle is such a clever idea. Got to borrow it one of these days.

  15. bethanie says:

    The Yarntini sock colors are so much fun!

  16. Stephanie says:

    Oooh, gorgeous stripey socks. Seeing your yarntini makes me want to knit mine into socks asap (I have the cosmopolitan colorway). I really like that scarf (and I like the stole version too).

  17. Nora says:

    Beautiful knitting and yarn choices. The colours are divine!

  18. Iris says:

    Love the socks – so cheerful!

    And the Entrelac is going to be beautiful…

    Happy New Year to you!

    Iris
    xx

  19. Karen says:

    Awesome socks! What a great colorway! That is a new to me socks yarn….and I really like it. You know what that means!

  20. joyce says:

    now i really want to learn to knit socks!
    i have to try soon!

  21. Leslie says:

    Now I’m going to have to order some of that sock yarn . . it’s just too awesome to look away! I like the vintage heel too. I’d be interested to hear which one you eventually decided was best.

    I simply can not figure out entrelac. I guess I’m still a little green and can’t read more intricate patterns yet. *sigh*

    On a side note, I think I’ve hit what you were going through a few months ago. I haven’t picked up my needles in . . . over a month. *GASP* I know, I know . . . I’m slacking. I don’t know what it is. Maybe the new job? The holidays? Not sure. Prolly a combination of everything. *sigh* I have to get back to it. My fingers are itching!

  22. Venus says:

    I absolutely love those colors! What fun socks! Well done on matching up the stripes too, way to go.

  23. Danielle says:

    I LOVE your socks. Just finished some knee highs for my daughter with the Cosmopolitan colorway. I also made her a pair of fingerless gloves with the leftover Grapeade.

    Keep up the great work,

    Danielle

    P.S. I heard a suggestion from a customer that she stuff her yarn inside the sock forming to keep the skeins separately. Hope that helps.

  24. Elinor says:

    Those are fantastic stripes. I love stripes so much. If I could wear stripey things other than socks, I totally would. πŸ™‚