Thank you so much for the get-well wishes! My stomach muscles got lots of exercise this week from the constant coughing, but I am finally feeling better. Here are the promised sock photos:

PlumiciousToeUp3.jpg

PlumiciousToeUp4.jpg

Pattern: My generic 56 stitch toe-up sock with short-row heels
Yarn: Claudia Hand Painted Yarn, Plumicious, 2 skeins
Needles: US #1 / 40″ Addi Turbo for Magic Loop
Thoughts: Still had difficulty closing the gaps between the live stitches on the short row heel and the ones on the instep, but oh well. This project confirmed my prior feeling that knitting two socks at once really isn’t my thing, so if I do toe-ups again I will do them individually. Love the Claudia yarn!

I also managed to knit a hat.

SparkleHat.jpg

Pattern: Sparkle Hat from Stitch ‘N Bitch
Yarn: Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky, M-34 Victorian Pink, less than 1 skein
Needles: US #11 / 16″ Addi Turbo and US #10 Brittany DPNs
Thoughts: About time that I knit this because I bought the large sequins two years ago! A little too much sparkle, but definitely fun!

28 Comments on “”

  1. kitkatknit says:

    I am on my second sock of my Claudia’s handpainted. Abou the most delicate sock yarn I’ve ever used. What do you think? Is it going to hold up well?

  2. Beth says:

    Plumicious is a beautiful color and your socks look wonderful! I like the hat, too. You’ve been busy. πŸ™‚

  3. jessie says:

    Yay! for feeling better!

    The colors on those socks are really gorgeous. And your hat is so cute. Pink and sparkly… perfect!

  4. Cyndi says:

    The socks are great! I’m so tempted to try Claudia yarn again… If only my feet were 8-10 stitches more narrow. πŸ™‚

    The hat is cute too – I would never have thought to put sequins on a hat, but it looks great.

  5. Beautiful! I really love the Claudia socks–the colors are so nice. And I’m glad to see you’re feeling better!

  6. erin says:

    Lovely socks, I have to try the toe up pattern one of these days.

  7. jillian says:

    Beautiful socks! Those Claudia’s colors sing.

    Feel better!

  8. gleek says:

    what great looking socks! and the color barely pooled at all. impressive. did you try picking up stitches between your heel and the leg then decreasing them away right away? that always seems to work for me.

  9. keri says:

    You have such gorgeous sock yarn, every pair you’ve made I’ve been drooling over! Glad you’re feeling better.

  10. Jessica says:

    Great looking socks! The colors are wonderful.

  11. Karen says:

    Wonderful socks! That is an awesome colorway. I haven’t tried Claudia’s sock yarn yet. And what a fun hat!

  12. tut-tut says:

    Great socks! I have the Lamb’s Pride for that hat, but I can’t find the shape of the do-hickeys. Where did you get yours?

  13. ruth says:

    hey there! got back from tahoe yesterday… didn’t know you had bronchitis!! hope you are doing better and get more time to rest and heal this week. if you need any warm soup, let me know, i’ll bring it over. =)
    (p.s. speaking of food, we have tons of extra stuff from the weekend trip – unopened/untouched whole loaves of bread, unopened lunch meat packages, let me know if you want anything because wayne and i can’t eat it all) =)

  14. stacey says:

    those are great socks – perfect to cozy up and feel better in!

  15. Jes says:

    The socks are gorgeous! I don’t even like purple, but I love them!
    I’m glad you’re feeling better. Being sick is no fun, especially coughing!

  16. Tonia says:

    Love the colorway! The socks look warm and comphie.

    The hat is really cute.

    Glad that you are feeling better. I swear it is the weather causing every one to be getting sick.

  17. jen says:

    those purple socks are great!

    well the hat is fabulous, and i know yer in CA where there isn’t snow. But here, where we just got another 4 inches today…it’s grey and so white out that a bit-o-sparkle would do wonders.

  18. Dipsy D. says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling better – yay for that! And such an amazing pair of socks that you did, the colourway is to die for! I also totally love the hat – the sparkling is so beautiful! Fantastic work!

  19. Alissa says:

    Love the socks! Beautiful colors and awesome knitting! You always inspire me to improve upon my knitting. Thanks you your blog, I have TWO pair of socks on the needles!!!

    Alissa

  20. carol says:

    plumicious indeed! the socks are gorgeous.

  21. domesticat says:

    beautiful socks. i looove that color.

  22. joyce says:

    great FOs – do you like the magic loop method?
    i’m glad to hear you’re feeling better!

  23. Stephanie says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. I love the socks and the hat looks like a lot of fun.

  24. Knitography says:

    Those are very cheerful socks! I have been thinking of trying to knit two socks at once, but I take my sock knitting on the bus so I’m not sure it would work out. I tend to zone out a little bit, which is why I stick to simple stockinette or ribbed socks! Otherwise I get 3 inches done and realize I have been off the pattern for two!

  25. Leslie says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better . . . been there with the ribs being sore from coughing . . . it sucks.

    WOW! You have been very busy . . and the results are, once again, beautiful! I’ll be learning socks within the next few weeks also so I’m pretty excited about that.

    It’s always a nice day when I read your post. πŸ™‚

  26. Kat with a K says:

    Both look great! And I LOVE the colors on the socks.

  27. jay says:

    Where did you get the paillots (large sequins) for the hat? I have always wanted to try that pattern…

  28. Jenn says:

    You are just the sock knitting goddess. I wear a size 11 shoe, just incase you’re wondering. πŸ˜‰

    I’m loving the hat too. One can never have too many knit hats and they are so easy to do. Hmmm… guess I don’t have an excuse for never knitting them, huh? πŸ™‚