Sergenti Socks

SergentiSock2.jpg

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Hand Painted Supersock, Sergenti, 1 skein
Pattern: My generic 56 stitch top-down sock with slip stitch heel
Needles: US # 1 / 32” Addi Turbos for Magic Loop
Thoughts: The Sergenti colorway wasn’t what I was expecting at all. I guess this is a major disadvantage of purchasing yarn online. The photo I saw showed lots of brown and magenta with mere hints of rusty orange and blue-ish gray. As you can see from my photos, there is a lot of navy blue and burgundy in this skein. Navy blue is one of my least favorite colors, especially when it is next to burgundy. Overall, this colorway was just a more masculine-looking than I anticipated. This was my first time knitting with Cherry Tree Hill, and I would definitely buy it again. Of course, I haven’t found a hand dyed/ hand painted yarn that I wouldn’t use again, so perhaps I’m just partial to the hand-dyed stuff!

SergentiSock3.jpg

21 Comments on “Sergenti Socks”

  1. Cyndi says:

    You are a sock knitting machine! I have to say, I agree with you on the color… it’s not my favorite, and it really doesn’t look very “Cait” to me. 🙂 But, the socks will go great with blue jeans. Hopefully they color will grow on you a bit.

  2. ruth says:

    I have to say, I’m partial to the hand-dyed stuff too! =)

  3. Beth says:

    I agree with Cyndi, your socks will look great with jeans. I just ordered some yarn online. Hope it’s close to what I expect!

  4. Jessica says:

    Those look good. I used the same colorway to knit some jaywalkers and they came out well.

  5. gleek says:

    you’re on a roll!! i know that you’re not particular to this colorway but it looks really good in these socks, that’s for sure 🙂

  6. Becca says:

    The socks look great! I have really been wanting to try the Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn…looks like I need to go shopping!

  7. Julia says:

    You are sockin’ it up lately! These are fab. Your sock drawer must look great. I need to get started on a collection of warm, handknitted socks!

  8. Lis says:

    The socks are really cute, even thought you don’t like the colorway. Cherry Tree Hill is fabulous to knit with! Nice!

  9. Lis says:

    Oops…typo on the last comment! Sorry about that.

  10. Tonia says:

    Wow you can crank out the socks quick. I agree with the others and thin they will look great with jeans. I love the hand dyed yarns too.

  11. erin says:

    Hopefully, the colours grows on you as you wear it. Love the way your socks always fit. I have been meaning to ask whether they slide down? Sorry if this is a silly question. I have only knitted a few socks in my life and have not done one in stickinette before, but I’m planning on knitting a pair of knee high stockinette socks for my daughter, hence the silly question 🙂

  12. Dipsy D. says:

    I agree, “Serengeti colours” sounds a bit different to what you actually got – but the yarn still made for a pair of really great looking socks, you knit it up so beautifully!

  13. Karen says:

    I haven’t tried CTH yet but I have a few skeins in the stash. I hope they grow on you because they are really nice.

  14. kitkatknit says:

    I just got burnt by Crystal Palace yarns on their Taos yarn. Their samples were deep dark saturated colors for the colorway I picked out. When it came, it was all washed out.

  15. keri says:

    Oh my goodness, you are really on a sock knitting roll! It makes me want to caston for a new pair of socks right now!

  16. wow… you definitely have the mojo with handpainted yarn! mine never look quite that even. Nice work on the serengeti and plumilicious socks.

  17. Very nice socks! They look fabulous, even if the colorway is not what you thought it would be.

  18. Elinor says:

    Ooooh, those are great!!! They look cozy too. Just like your last pair.

  19. Linda says:

    Did you know that Knitique got in her CTH order?! It’s going fast – her last shipment of Yarntini came in too…also going fast.

    I think your socks look great but it’s hard to be disappointed isn’t it? The colors of CTH at the shop are beautiful.

  20. deobrah says:

    the problem with becoming a sock knitter is all of that gorgeous sock yarn! I love your pattern and the variety you get with all of the different shades.

  21. Venus says:

    I see what you mean by the hand-dyed skeins. Those colors are gorgeous! Makes for very warm-looking socks.