To My Sister

Dear Scil,

When I saw you on Christmas Eve, I was wearing handknit socks. I pointed them out to you because I was super excited about them. I had just begun my sock knitting frenzy, and these were the first ones that I knit two-at-a-time from the toe up to the cuff. And they fit me really well.

After I told you about the socks, you asked if we could put our feet up against each other to compare foot sizes. I was perplexed. I mean, I wear a size 5 and you’re a 6, so it wouldn’t exactly be a huge surprise if your foot is slightly bigger, right? But frankly, I said no because your socks didn’t look so clean to me. I didn’t want your questionable socks giving yucky cooties to my nice handknit ones. Don’t roll your eyes at me — you already know I’m a tad obsessive about cleanliness.

You brought up the foot comparison thing again. Finally, a little light bulb came on in my head and I asked if you just wanted to try on my socks. You answered “Yes!” In a tone of voice that implied “it sure took you long enough to get my drift.” O-kay, I guess I was a little slow on the uptake. Amazingly, the socks fit. You seemed really interested in them. We talked about the colors, and you thought they were good but maybe something brighter would be nice too. We pretty much left it at that — I didn’t say I would knit socks for you, and you didn’t ask. But I was already scheming.

A week later, I ordered the yarn for your socks. I’m kind of a slacker, so I didn’t start knitting them until Super Bowl Sunday. I’m not sure if this colorway is what you meant by brighter, but there is more definitely purple in it and I know you like purple. Here is a comparison:

ScilsKoigu1.jpg
Your sock is on the left side of the photo

I was actually trying to finish them while we were chatting on the phone the other night. You know, the night when you were tearing your way through a massive pile of junk mail while talking with me? During our conversation about your most frequently used handknit items, you said jokingly that I could feel free to knit socks for you. I smiled and managed to keep quiet even though I was bursting to tell you aobut my project.

So finally, here are your socks. They aren’t perfect, but hopefully they will fit you well and last for several winters. It’s best to handwash them, but I don’t even do that and I have way more free time than you do. So we’ll settle for the care instructions on the label, okay? Whatever you do, do not wash them in hot water! They’ll end up looking like the little felted purple purse.

ScilsKoigu3.jpg

ScilsKoigu2.jpg

I really enjoyed knitting these socks for you. I hope your feet feel warm and happy in them.

Much love,
me

27 Comments on “To My Sister”

  1. Oiyi says:

    You are a wonderful big sister! The socks look great. I am sure your lil’s sister will love them. And the label is awesome. How did you do that?

  2. Danielle says:

    Caitlyn, That has to be the sweetest letter I’ve read in a while. I’m a sister to two sisters, and they would LOVE for me to knit them socks. GREAT JOB!!!! You’ve got your Knitting Mojo back!!!!

    Danielle
    P.S. Remember the recent Yarntini shipment? 4 skeins left… It’s crazy!!! But she did say every 3-4 months I can get another shipment. Woo Hoo!!!

  3. Joanna says:

    First off, I’m insanely jealous of your small feet. Secondly, I wish I had a sister that would knit me some socks. Nicely done–schemer!!!

  4. Maryann says:

    Oooo this is so sweet. Pretty socks and I love that label too ;o)

  5. Beth says:

    That’s so sweet! I like the label and the letter, too. Let us know how excited she is to receive them!

  6. Mintyfresh says:

    She’s going to love them!

  7. Stephanie says:

    You’re just the nicest sister. I’m sure she’ll love them and take very good care of them. I’m glad you’re still enjoying your sock knitting frenzy. I forget – do you do your 2 socks on magic loop or 2 circulars?

  8. Lola says:

    How nice of you! I should do that again for my non-knitting sister. I did once, but the left cuff was really tight. I didn’t think she’d notice. A tight cuff?! Sometimes I don’t think.

  9. Jennifer says:

    What a sweet sister you are! Gorgeous socks.

  10. Karen says:

    Aww, she’s going to be so happy!

  11. mari says:

    That is so sweet! And I love how subtle your sister is. My sisters both just said, “those socks are cool! Make me some!” And your socks are beautiful too!

  12. Chrissy says:

    Nice socks! Your sister is very lucky!

  13. Beautiful socks! I’m sure your sister will love them. The color is fabulous!

  14. gleek says:

    πŸ™‚ what a nice sister you are!!

  15. Cyndi says:

    Aw, so sweet! I have to admit, I was worried that the outcome would not be so happy when I read the part about the dirty socks! πŸ™‚

  16. stacey says:

    aww – what a great sentiment! I’m sure she’ll love them!

  17. ruth says:

    Priscilla is totally going to love them. The color is so pretty too!! That’s so funny that she drops blatant hints about you knitting for her. =)

  18. Lolly says:

    You are such a sweet sister! Love this post πŸ˜‰

  19. keri says:

    What fun and what lovely sister socks! =)

  20. erin says:

    awww, that’s so sweet.

  21. tut-tut says:

    What a great idea!

  22. Leslie says:

    The socks are so pretty! I’m sure your sister will love them. πŸ™‚

    I like the label a lot too. Good idea!

  23. Kellie says:

    What a fabulous sister you are! Love the socks, the sweet letter, and your awesome label – what an inspired idea!

  24. Tonia says:

    You are such a wonderful big sister. She is one lucky sister. The color of the socks is really pretty.

  25. joyce says:

    such a nice sister! i told mine that once i learned how that i would knit her some — however she’s actually requesting a scarf for next winter =)

  26. Angela says:

    So sweet of you. She’ll definitely love them

  27. Rebekah says:

    What a sweet sister you are! I just taught my sister to knit then mailed her sock yarn and some dpns.