Jungle Socks

JungleSocks1.jpg

JungleSocks2.jpg

Yarn: Claudia Hand Painted Yarn, Jungle, 2 skeins
Pattern: My generic 56 stitch top-down sock with short row heels
Needles: US # 1 / 32” Addi Turbos for Magic Loop
Thoughts: I don’t wear green very often. A quick peek in my closet reveals that I own only one solid green top. It’s just not a favorite color of mine. So it was a surprise even to me that I selected this colorway. I saw it several times in person before I succumbed to it; I think the beautifully saturated colors finally won me over. Plus I love Claudia Hand Painted Yarn. Unfortunately the two skeins I purchased ended up having slightly different tones (even though they came from the same dyelot). I loved the first sock. When I got to the second one, I found that I was pushing myself to finish it as soon as possible. At first I thought maybe I was sick of green, but then I realized that the second skein has much more of a yellowish tint to it. I think it shows up in my second photo — the sock on the right is the more yellow one. While the first sock was vibrantly green and fit the name of the colorway, the second sock just made me think of wilted grass. But no worries — I am still totally thrilled to add another pair of handknit socks to my collection.

19 Comments on “Jungle Socks”

  1. mari says:

    I love those socks – I happen to love green, but I don’t knit it very often.

    I love the fact that you have your own “generic” pattern for socks. Isn’t it a sense of accomplishment that you know your own foot size so well to have a standard sock pattern?

  2. gleek says:

    wow, you are cranking out the socks!

  3. Julia says:

    You have so many socks now! Cool! I can see what you mean about the second sock…it looks almost like it was washed and dried and the other wasn’t. It’s not super noticeable, though. I like the fact that they’re not super-girly in this era of girly sock colorways! πŸ˜‰

  4. Oiyi says:

    I like the left hand side one better, because it looks more vibrant. But I wouldn’t have noticed it if you didn’t point it out. You are a super fast sock knitter.

  5. keri says:

    Is your sock drawer bursting yet??? πŸ˜‰

    Love the jungle green, it’s a great splash of color on those dreary winter days, waiting for spring.

  6. stacey says:

    they are beautiful – such muted tones…..

  7. Tonia says:

    Very pretty. Love the colorway. How odd that the 2 skeins came out so different being from the same dye lot.

  8. I really like those colors! The socks are beautiful. You’re a sock-knitting machine!

  9. Veronique says:

    I love green! I went through a phase were all the yarn I was buying was orange, then green…
    But phases aside, a knitter needs socks in every color of the rainbow, don’t you think?

  10. Leslie says:

    I am continuously amazed at your socks. Could you please explain a little more your techniques. Are you using dpns or is it magic loop that you’re doing?

    As far as the color tones being different . . it’s really not that bad. Besides, they’ll be covered by jeans or pants (maybe) and I really don’t think it’s that noticeable . . only when you put them side by side like that.

    I mentioned you in my blog post today!! πŸ™‚

  11. Leslie says:

    Oops . . my bad . . I just noticed that you listed the size needles and magic loop!! Thanks for adding that.

  12. Kelly says:

    wow! I have socks in Claudia’s jungle too and you would swear it was an altogether different colourway. Mine is waaaaay lighter. Weird!
    Great socks though πŸ™‚

  13. Karen says:

    I see what you mean about them being different. I like them both though because I love green. With pants and shoes on you’ll never notice the difference.

  14. Mintyfresh says:

    there’s just something about those plain stockinette socks that is so satisfying, isn’t there!?

  15. Beth says:

    Your socks look great, Caitlyn! I didn’t notice the difference until you mentioned it. You’re building a nice collection of socks! πŸ™‚

  16. Maryann says:

    Yay for another pair of great socks! The colors are nice and would go really well with jeans ;o)

  17. erin says:

    You’ve finished another pair! I’ve found that socks are a good way to experiment with colour, sort of taking baby steps to test the waters and see if I like a colour.

  18. Lolly says:

    Your socks are always so pretty! I love the green, Caitlyn! πŸ™‚

  19. Joanna says:

    Gorgeous socks AGAIN! I never would have noticed the color difference if you hadn’t pointed it out.