Dinner

BasilCurryChicken.jpg

This week Hubby and I made Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce. It was so delicious — I highly recommend this recipe. The flavors were interesting and there was a good amount of heat to the dish. Hubby handled the actual cooking of the chicken and he did it perfectly — it was cooked all the way through yet still really tender. I can’t ever strike that balance successfully, so I’ve named him the Official Chicken Cooker of our household.

This was my first time handling jalapeño peppers…Did you know that they can burn your skin? Yeah, I handled them with my bare hands and the next day I could still feel the burning sensation in my fingers. I must have gotten some of the juices on my contacts too, because when I put them in the following morning, my eyes burned for a nice twenty minutes. For anyone else who might be as clueless as I was, please consider this a public service announcement. Wear gloves when chopping jalapeño peppers.

You see the broccoli in the photo? You will totally laugh, but we actually used a recipe from the March 2007 issue of Cooking Light. Hubby loves broccoli so we cook it frequently. Our method has been to dump it in boiling water for two or three minutes. Very bland. So I suggested we try this recipe because really, we’ve got nothing to lose. The broccoli couldn’t possibly taste any worse than our boiled broccoli. It turned out really yummy and it wasn’t any harder than boiling the stuff! So this recipe is a keeper too.

14 Comments on “Dinner”

  1. Oiyi says:

    The curry looks good. You are making me hungry. I cook broccoli a lot and I usually saute them. Tonight, I actually roasted them in the oven. Just drizzle with some olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and any other seasoning you might like and pop it in the oven. My hubby loves broccoli that is crisp.

  2. Beth says:

    I just had a banana for a snack and I’m trying really hard not to grab something else. Your delicious looking picture isn’t helping me! 🙂

  3. Maryann says:

    Oh my… this looks really yummy and makes me so hungry. I’m calling the room service right now… Maryann in Beijing ;o)
    p.s. and thanks for sharing about Heather’s fundraising initiative, I’ll hoping over to place my pledge now.

  4. lola says:

    You gotta watch those peppers! They don’t bother my fingers. So I always forget, but I’m reminded when I rub my eyes or use the restroom. Don’t ask…

  5. Tonia says:

    Ummmm it all looks so good. It is such a shame that I am allergic to the peppers. Anything with any spice I have to watch because my throat will close up. I even have to be carefull with plain black pepper. Enjoy it extra for me. =)

  6. keri says:

    Yummy – that looks delish! I boil my broccoli too, I’ll have to give the new recipe a try.

  7. Cyndi says:

    Yum! Guess what I’m having for dinner tonight? 😉

    This is going to sound ridiculous, but you know what I can’t cook? White rice! What is the secret to fluffy, non-soggy white rice? Your rice looks so pretty. Mine typically resembles mashed potatoes.

  8. Karen says:

    Yum! If you ever need a taste tester…give me a call! 🙂

  9. stacey says:

    MMMM – I love curry and love chicken – I’ll have to try this!

  10. That looks SO tasty! Sounds like a very successful dinner, although I’m sorry to hear about the jalapeno pepper. I have contacts, too, and my eyes burned in sympathy when I read that part.

    And I love broccoli, too! I eat it all the time. I’ll have to try that Cooking Light recipe–thanks for the link!

  11. Leslie says:

    This looks so delicious, unfortunately, John hates curry . . but he’s going to be gone for a week (he’ll be in CA for a conference) and I think I may make it for myself. Isn’t Cooking Light just the BEST?!?!? I made the most delicious recipe from their July 2004 issue on pg. 134 (you can find it in the hardcover year-end compilations) – Curried Chicken Salad. If you’d like the recipe, let me know and I’ll send it along. 🙂

    P.S. I will be making a donation to Heather’s cause too, thanks for listing that!

  12. Heather says:

    Yeah, and beware of cooking those really hot peppers, habiniero i think? My hubby cooked them up a few years ago and breathed in the fumes an was snorting milk it was so bad! Mmmm….I’m getting hungry, I can’t wait for a home cooked meal when our kitchen is finally finished.

  13. carol says:

    mmm, looks yummy! my skin also burns when i cut peppers, so i have to wear gloves. but not everyone has the same reaction. they don’t seem to bother dan, so now he cuts the peppers. also, if you want to try another broccoli recipe, roasted broccoli is super-yummy. a bit of salt, pepper, and olive oil in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes. (i think i first read the recipe in everyday food.)

  14. Dipsy D. says:

    This looks so extremely delicious that I’ve already printed out the recipe (thanks so much for the link!) and will give it a try at the weekend – and thanks too for the hint about the hot peppers, I always forget wearing kitchen gloves when handling them and my fingers’ skin is so not amused then 😉