Dutch Apple Pie

When my sister was a teenager, she loved baking. I was unenthusiastic about it back then, but she usually managed to cajole me into the kitchen. By the end, I would always admit grudgingly that I had a good time. We used to bake a variety of goodies together, such as thumbprint cookies, crescent rolls, and Dutch apple pie. The pie was definitely a favorite of mine. It’s been at least five or six years since I’ve had it, so I decided to bake it last weekend.

ApplePie1.jpg

The recipe comes from my sister’s junior high school home economics course. It is very basic but I think it tastes pretty good.

Crust:
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup plus 1 Tbsp shortening
3-4 Tbsp cold water

Measure flour and salt into a bowl.
Cut in shortening thoroughly, until the size of small peas.
Sprinkle in water, one tablespoon at a time, mixing until all flour is moistened and dough begins to stick together.
Gather dough into a ball. Shape into a flattened round on a sheet of wax paper.
Roll the dough until it is two inches larger than an inverted pie pan.
(Yield: one 8- or 9-inch crust)

Filling:
1/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 Tbsp flour
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 apples, peeled and sliced

Stir together all of the filling ingredients in a medium bowl. Pour into unbaked pie shell.

Topping:
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup margarine or butter (1/2 stick)
1/4 cup sugar

In a small bowl, mix all ingredients together until crumbly. Be sure to break the margarine or butter into very small pieces. Sprinkle over pie. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

ApplePie2.jpg

Eating this pie brings back fond memories of baking with my sister.

ApplePie3.jpg

17 Comments on “Dutch Apple Pie”

  1. Oiyi says:

    Yummmmmm…I love apple pie. It looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  2. Leslie says:

    I remember Home Ec and learning to make pies! We split up into groups of 4 and then picked which fruit we wanted. My group did a peach pie with a lattice/woven top. MmmmMMMmmm!! I have never made a pie (from scratch) since. But I think your recipe might be something I could do.

    I’m so glad you have good memories of your sister. I was close to my sister when she was little . . we’re 12 years apart. Now, she’s just “too cool” for me. I miss our closeness.

    You know, it’s funny . . it seems to me that people either like or are good at baking, but cooking comes difficult for them . . and vice versa. Do you find you are a better baker or cook? And which do you prefer?

  3. stacey says:

    there seems to be apple pies all over the blogs today! i think the basic recipes are the best – simple and oh so good! i have a recipe from a home ec class for cinnamon rolls that I still use!

  4. lola says:

    Stop it! First the curry, now the apples. I can’t make another trip to the store.

  5. Tonia says:

    Yummm that looks so good.

  6. carol says:

    i learned to bake a very similar pie in junior high as well! yours looks delicious, and what nice memories too…

  7. Beth says:

    It looks delicious! When I was younger, my brother had a kids’ cookbook that had delicious apple bread in it. I haven’t been able to find the book or the recipe. But, making the bread does bring back fond memories.

  8. Veronique says:

    I remember teaching my little brother how to make chocolate cake (the only kind he would eat). I think we started making it when he was in first grade, and he’s still making it now that he’s in college!

  9. quenna says:

    So yummy! What a nice memory to have with your sister.

  10. ruth says:

    Dutch is my absolute favorite type of apple pie. Especially heated, with a side of vanilla ice cream – Yum! Yours looks really delish =)

  11. Dipsy D. says:

    Of all the pies and cakes around in this whole world, apple pie is my absolute favourite! And this one looks and sounds particularly delicious – thank you ever so much for sharing the recipe, I will *so* try my hands at it soon!

  12. joyce says:

    looks yummy – when i’m in the mood — i’ll try that next time. the husband loves apple pie.

  13. Dee Light says:

    Apple Pie!!! Oh, that looks so yummy. It’s fun to cook, especialy when it brings back fond memories. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Kristy says:

    This pie looks delicious!

    I happened upon your blog while searching for a decent yarn store in Sacramento, California…in an old post you talked about taking a class at Rumpelstilskin. Do you live in Sacramento? My sisters and I will be in Sac this weekend and we are trying to make shopping plans. Could you recommend a yarn store in the area?

  15. eunny says:

    Just wanted to say that this…looks…absolutely marvelous. I love pies with streusel-style toppings, but never seem to make them (I think because my streusel often ends up really floury, no matter what I do), so I’m very grateful you shared the recipe!

  16. Lillian says:

    This looks so yummy! can I have a piece?

  17. joanna says:

    Oh my. That looks delicious!

    Thanks so much for the sock help, Caitlyn! 🙂