More Experiments in the Kitchen

This past weekend I enjoyed a much-needed time of relaxation. Friday was especially nice — Hubby and I took the day off from work and had a lovely afternoon going out to lunch and dinner with a solid block of shopping in between. It was like a spur-of-the-moment date day! Over the rest of the weekend, I whipped up the following treats. They aren’t exactly healthy or low fat, but I was pleased with the results and enjoyed them quite a bit.

Apple Almond Bars

AlmondAppleBar1.jpg

I came across this recipe on Mary’s blog last week and was immediately drawn to it. The bars are quite rich (due to the cream cheese filling), but they are so delicious with a glass of milk. I particularly liked the flavor from the almond extract. I brought the bars to work today and they were a hit.

AlmondAppleBar2.jpg

Meat Loaf

Hubby and I tried making meat loaf exactly once last year, and it turned out so horribly that I have been very hesitant to try another one. So I was rather surprised when he suggested that we make meat loaf for dinner this week. I found this Classic Meat Loaf recipe from Simple Recipes. Simply Recipes is one of my favorite sites. We have tried at least six or seven of Elise’s recipes, and they have all turned out wonderfully. The Classic Meat Loaf was no exception. The spicy Italian ground sausage gave it a great kick. We made two mods: (1) omitted the onion because Hubby forgot to buy it, and (2) substituted cilantro for parsley because we love cilantro. This recipe is definitely a keeper, and it’s nice that I am not traumatized by a bad meat loaf anymore.

Meatloaf.jpg

Thai Iced Tea

ThaiIcedTea.jpg

This looks like orange juice, doesn’t it? But no, it’s Thai Iced Tea. I came across this recipe through Alicia’s blog a couple of months ago. This was my third time making it so I have been tweaking the recipe each time. I would have no idea whether this is “authentic,” but it tastes pretty good. Here are my notes, in case anyone wants to try making this.
–I had no problem finding the Thai Tea mix at my local large Asian supermarket. The package I bought looks like this.
–1 2/3 cups of water yields 1 1/3 cups of tea.
–1/4 cup of sugar is plenty — I recommend starting from there and adding more as needed.
–You definitely don’t need a whole 12oz can of evaporated milk. We used that 12oz can on two occasions and still had a few ounces of leftovers.

Hope you have a great week!

15 Comments on “More Experiments in the Kitchen”

  1. ruth says:

    wow, you conquered thai iced tea!! love love LOVE that stuff. =) i’ll be checking out the meatloaf recipe… i’ve been traumatized with bad meatloaf too, but this one looks yummy. it looks like a good selection of meat, and worschestershire NEVER hurts. =) have a good week! (will you be at SnB this thurs?)

  2. Leslie says:

    ohmygod, Thai Iced Tea with milk!!! Every time John and I go for Thai I tell the waitress to just keep them coming . . I finish at least 3 glasses before dinner even arrives. I sometimes stop off at the restaurant and order a few to drink on the way home. I remember walking around NYC back in 1999 drinking those while carousing the streets at 3am. 🙂 THANK YOU for the recipe!!

    I’m also going to definitely make those apple almond bars. MmMMmmmMMMmm. Anything that goes with a glass of cold milk is tops with me.

    As for the meatloaf, I have a tried and true family recipe that I’ve used for years. I’m glad you finally found one that works for you. Mine uses “meatloaf mix” (the meat at the grocer), a packet of Lipton instant soup mix (any flavor, but the ones that seem to go with meat the best are good), some italian breadcrumbs, two eggs, some chopped tomatoes, a few tablespoons of spaghetti sauce, seasonings . . just mix up. Of course, the amounts I don’t have written down because I just do it each time by eye. I should try to write it up sometime.

  3. yaiAnn says:

    Yahoo for great recipes. For the ice tea, you should used condensed milk, not evaporated.

  4. Beth says:

    My hair stylist told me how yummy Thai Tea is. I’ll have to try it soon. All of your recipes look so yummy! And what fun to have a date day!

    A few years ago I decided to slip chopped spinach and grated carrot into my meatloaf, figuring my family needed more vegetables. I obviously didn’t have the veggies small enough because my husband declared “What’s in this? I want meat and I want loaf!” The way he said it was so funny that I laughed and root beer came out of my nose. Painful! (I hope that’s not too much information!) 🙂

  5. jen says:

    ooooh those apple almond bars look pretty darn tasty. I’m not a fan of thai iced tea myself. I think cause it has coconut milk in it and i am allergic to that. Hence why i break out in hives almost everytime we eat thai.
    :/

  6. Dipsy D. says:

    Oh my gosh. I’d give a lot, a big lot, for a glass of this amazingly looking Iced Tea right now – not to mention all the other goodies! Everything looks so extremely tasty and delicious and yummy…. ohhhh!

  7. stacey says:

    mmmm- meatloaf! it’s great you found a keeper recipe! my favorite comfort food!

  8. Oiyi says:

    Yummy! I love apple desserts. Those apple almond bars looks scrumptious. Have you ever tried Barefoot Contessa’s Turkey Meatloaf? It is the best! You half the recipe since it makes a lot. I think that you get the recipe from http://www.foodnetwork.com .

  9. Wow! All those things look SO great! The meatloaf in particular looks fabulous. But I’ll definitely have to try all of those recipes.

    Glad you had a nice day off with your husband, too. Everyone needs a day like that once in a while.

  10. Stephanie says:

    Great looking recipes. I’m intrigued by the thai iced tea. I’m getting more info from yaiAnn. I have a good meatloaf recipe. Which sounds kind of good now that you mention it. Maybe I’ll make that for supper. Oh, and I made a turkey meatloaf recipe from a Barefoot Contessa cookbook and it was really good (although it made a huge amount).

  11. Tonia says:

    Yay for getting a Friday off together. It all looks so yummy. Yes, the Thai Iced Tea does look like orange juice. It looks really refreshing.

  12. kitkatknit says:

    I made the apple almond bars last night. They smelled so good when I took them out of the oven that knitting hubby could not wait the requisite 30 minutes of cooling before they were taken out of the pan to set! Next we’ll try the classic meatloaf. thanks

  13. I’ve never tried Thai Iced Tea but now you’ve piqued my curiosity! And everything else looks delicious, especially those apple bars.

  14. quenna says:

    What a fun date with hubby (even if he forgot the onions) — everything looks yummy, especially the meat loaf!

  15. joyce says:

    the apple almond bars look yummy!
    i wish i had energy to cook / bake!