Vanilla Cupcakes

MagnoliaVanCupcakes1.jpg

This past weekend I cracked open my copy of More from Magnolia and baked the Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting. I had high hopes for the recipe because it’s supposed to be Magnolia’s claim to fame, right? The cupcakes themselves turned out very nicely — moist and light, which is just how I like them. However, I was disappointed with the overly sweet frosting. A half batch of frosting (for a dozen cupcakes) required 1 stick of butter, ¼ cup of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar. Three!!! Technically, I should have added even more sugar (up to 4 cups) to thicken the frosting — you can probably see from the photos that it still looks a little goopy. Oh well…the very sweet frosting is bearable if I gulp down milk between bites!

MagnoliaVanCupcakes2.jpg

8 Comments on “Vanilla Cupcakes”

  1. Julia says:

    Oh, yum!! Your baking looks yummier and yummier. And I think your food phototaking is getting better too! Your food pictures have been lovely lately. ;D

  2. keri says:

    Yum Yum Yum, looks delicious!

  3. Tonia says:

    Oh they look so good. I am an icing lover so the sweeter the better. 😉 Hope you can find an icing that you might like better.

  4. I agree with Julia–you take great food pictures. And GPG thinks so, too!

    I am sorry to hear that the icing was so sweet. Why is it pink? Did you add food coloring?

    The cupcakes look good, though!

  5. kaet says:

    sounds like you got the recipe just about right! 🙂 magnolia, and its sister bakery, buttercup are like a second home to me. i find that if you eat more than one cupcake i become nauseous, which is good since it restricts me to just one! and imagine, at the bakeries they pile about a 3-4′ tall mound of frosting on top!

  6. carol says:

    i had a very similar experience with the magnolia frosting recently…way too sweet…and i like sweets. but i do love how it looks at the bakery and on the book cover!

  7. I’m having a similar cupcake problem. I can’t stand overly sweet frosting and it seems like the cupcake world is flooded with them right now!

  8. joyce says:

    wow i really need to catch up on blog reading…
    i made these too awhile ago but i used martha stewart’s cream cheese frosting when i made them the 2nd time – i hate overly sweet frosting.