Dinner and Dessert

A couple of weeks ago, Madeline posted about Rachel Ray’s Korean Flank Steak Recipe, and I bookmarked it immediately. I’m glad I did because it was very easy and super delicious (a perfect combo, in my book)! We followed Madeline’s modifications exactly, except that we cooked the meat for 8-9 minutes on the Foreman Grill because we prefer our meat well done.

KoreanFlankSteak.jpg

For dessert, I made lemon bars using this recipe posted by Ruth. Hubby loved these lemon bars, so this recipe is definitely a keeper! I’ve posted the recipe below, which includes both Ruth’s modications to the original recipe along with my notes in brackets.

LemonBars.jpg

Crust:
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 cups flour

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Beat in flour, blending thoroughly. Spread mixture evenly over bottom of 13×9 pan (thoroughly greased or lined with parchment paper and greased). [I used parchment paper with cooking spray (Pam with Flour), but the Pam made a soggy mess. Next time I will try parchment paper only without greasing.] Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Filling:
4 eggs
2 cups sugar
1 tsp. grated lemon zest [I used all the zest of 1 lemon, which was more like 2 tsp.]
6 Tbsp. lemon juice [3 lemons provided more than enough juice]
1 tsp. baking powder
1/3 cup flour
powdered sugar (for dusting)

Beat eggs until light. Add sugar a little at a time until mixture is lemon colored. Add lemon peel, lemon juice, baking powder, and flour. Beat until smooth and well combined. Pour lemon mixture over crust and return to oven. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until topping is pale golden. [I baked it for 20 minutes, and next time I might try a few more minutes.] Test for doneness. While warm, sift powdered sugar over the top. [Be careful not to sift too much powdered sugar on top like I did!]

I love using tried-and-true recipes from blog friends. Thanks for sharing, Madeline and Ruth!

13 Comments on “Dinner and Dessert”

  1. Veronique says:

    Hm, lemon squares are my favorite but I’ve never made any! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. kaet says:

    i love love love lemon bars! please pardon me now as i wipe the drool from my chin!

  3. Tonia says:

    Yummmmmm it all looks so good.

  4. ruth says:

    Ooh, glad to hear that Todd liked the lemon bars! And that flank steak looks yummy, I’ll definately bookmark that too. As for the lemon bars, I once used the wrapper of the softened butter to smear over the pans, and that seemed to work. Another instance, I put parchment paper in the pan, and THEN smeared the softened butter wrapper over it (that took FOREVER to do, as the paper kept shifting around). The paper option made it a little easier to get the squares out.

  5. ruth says:

    P.S. Another tip in cutting the bars – I waited until the bars were completely cooled, then I took a pizza cutter, dipped it in hot water, then cut. After each cut, I would wipe the cutter, dip again in hot water, for the next cut. I was told this would make the cutting more clean and neater, and it really did help.

  6. Beth says:

    That is the same recipe as my mom’s lemon bars (or it’s very close). Don’t you just love those cookies? Yum, yum, yum!

  7. Navi says:

    Looks yummy, thanks for the recipe!

  8. Julia says:

    Duly noted (and bookmarked), I’m a huge lemon bar fan (and lemon fan in general) so I definitely have to try these babies.

  9. Leslie says:

    John and I made a brown sugar and cumin rub for our ribeye steaks we had the other day. It was delicious!! I was completely skeptical that it would be good . . but I couldn’t eat any faster. *lol* If you’d like the recipe, let me know.

  10. tut-tut says:

    It looks great. I think I’ll try both.

  11. Stephanie says:

    I’m glad you had success – both things look wonderful. There’s nothing better than a tried and true recipe. I just tried a banana bread recipe someone left me on my comments. I’ll have a post about it this afternoon.

  12. kitkatknit says:

    Have you tried the RR 30 min recipe for Mu Shu Chicken Patties? http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipe/31060/ Oh my they are great. Thanks for sharing all your recipes!

  13. Gracie says:

    Yum! I’m coming over for dinner!

    I love love lemon bars, they always remind me of summer.