If You Like Green Tea Ice-Cream…

…then I highly recommend trying the Green Tea Sweets recipe so kindly provided by Kelli of Amai Tea and Bake House!

greenteasweets.jpg

I heard of Amai’s tea cookies through the blog world quite awhile ago, and I actually purchased a box for my mother-in-law as a gift. But I personally never ate them before. So when I came across the recipe link on Julie’s blog, I was thrilled. I found the matcha (powdered green tea) easily at my local Japanese market, but Kelli provides an online source if you can’t buy it in your area. I couldn’t find a 2″ leaf cookie cutter that I liked on the Internet, so I settled for a 2.5″ heart cutter. The recipe is really easy and when I was combining the ingredients, the scent of the matcha reminded me of green tea ice-cream. The cookies have just the right amount of sweetness, too. This one is definitely, definitely a keeper!!! Thank you for sharing, Kelli!

9 Comments on “If You Like Green Tea Ice-Cream…”

  1. Leslie says:

    Oh these are so lovely! I am copying the recipe to my collection I have here on my laptop. Thanks!

  2. Ooooh! Those look so good! I am definitely going to have to try them. (GPG misses some of the green tea-flavored things we got to try in Japan! This will be perfect!)

  3. Tonia says:

    Very pretty and they look yummy. Never had the gree tea ice cream, but I bet it is good.

  4. joyce says:

    i like when people try recipes and tell whether it’s good or not…i’ve really got to try these…maybe this recipe will get me into the baking mood =) thanks for sharing caitlyn!
    (also – got the book for you — i should send soon)….

  5. Julie says:

    They are good, aren’t they! My husband loves all things green tea flavored and ate almost the entire batch of cookies that I made. Glad I could pass along the link!

  6. Helen says:

    Lovely tea cookies. I love everything matcha..hubby does not, but that means more for me!
    I also love your tote bag from a couple of posts ago. The fabric is gorgeous!

  7. carol says:

    yum! thanks for sharing the recipe, i definitely will try it!

  8. Julia says:

    Oh, yum! So cute!

  9. Navi says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I love green tea ice cream