Plum Raspberry Crumble

A few months ago, I came across Barefoot Contessa’s recipe for Plum Raspberry Crumble.  Plums were on sale at my supermarket for the first time this season, so it seemed like a good time to try my hand at baking this fruity dessert.

plumraspberrycrumble1.jpg

The original recipe yields a crumble that fits in a 9 inch by 12 inch pan, but I wanted less so I halved the ingredients and adjusted the baking time.  Here is my scaled-down version of the recipe. 

1 pound red plums, cut in 1/2, pitted, and cut in 1-inch wedges
1/3 cup granulated sugar, divided 
5/8 cup all-purpose flour, divided 
1 tablespoon orange juice
1/2 cup fresh raspberries
1/6 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt 
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) cold unsalted butter, diced
1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
1/4 cup sliced almonds, plus extra for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the sliced plums, 1/6 cup of the granulated sugar, 1/8 cup of the flour, and the orange juice and toss well. Add the raspberries and toss lightly. Pour into a 9 inch by 9 inch baking dish.

For the topping, place the remaining 1/2 cup of flour, the remaining 1/6 cup of granulated sugar, the brown sugar, and the salt in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade and pulse a few times to combine. Add the butter and pulse until the butter is the size of peas. Pour the mixture into a bowl, add the oats, and work it with your hands until it’s in large crumbles. Add 1/4 cup of the almonds and mix well.Spread the topping evenly over the plums, making sure the fruit is covered. Sprinkle with some extra almonds. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the fruit is tender and bubbly and the topping is golden brown. Serve warm or at room temperature.

plumraspberrycrumble2.jpg 

While this crumble didn’t turn out perfectly for me — the plums were incredibly tart — it definitely has potential.  The topping is delicious and I love the flavor of the baked raspberries.  Next time, I might try: (1) buying ripe plums or simply waiting until the plums are ripe, and/or (2) increasing the amount of granulated sugar. Reviewers of the recipe also indicated that other fruits would work well.  The whole thing was quite easy to prepare, which is always a plus.

Another reason why I liked the crumble?  I am totally smitten with the color of my new baking dish. Silly of me, isn’t it?

11 Comments on “Plum Raspberry Crumble”

  1. stacey says:

    I’d probably love this! The more tart for me, the better. More sugar or even a touch of lemon juice may help….crumbles are just the best – you can put in whatever fruit you have!

  2. katie says:

    Oh no, loving that dish isn’t silly at all! I love my LC stoneware baker. And I was instantly smitten when I saw the new Caribbean colors. They say you eat first with your eyes, right?

  3. Tonia says:

    I so love crumbles. I prefer them to pies any day. It looks really tasty. I would try more sugar or maybe a little brown sugar.

  4. Beth says:

    That’s not silly at all! And your dessert looks very yummy and puts me in the mood to bake something.

  5. kitkatknit says:

    WOWZA!!! I am wanting to make this right now. I love fruit crumbles.

  6. Leslie says:

    OH . . WOW. Okay, I’m making this this coming weekend . . for sure!!!! And I just got finished drooling over your new bakeware. You know I’ll have to start saving up for that now. 😉 I only wish it came in different colors.

    Thanks for the recipe and for halving it. I would have wanted to do so anyways, so you’ve saved me a lot of time.

  7. ruth says:

    anything from le creuset is wonderful. seriously! =)

  8. joyce says:

    i love apple crumbles! this one may be an interesting flavor to try!

  9. This looks delicious! By the way, I love your baking dish too! Very nice!

  10. Jodi says:

    Looks delicious! I’ll have to pick up some plums.

    I’m right there with you on the LeCreuset baking pans. I have a bright red set, and they make baking (and serving) ever so much more fun. I’m completely hooked on the Dutch ovens, too (I have both the bright red and the bright blue).