The Perfect Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

oatmealraisincookies.jpg

I used to have a Quaker Oatmeal recipe booklet.  My sister had given it to me years ago after requesting two free copies from Quaker.  (This was back in the day when we didn’t browse recipes online.)  As I wasn’t a huge oatmeal fan, I only ever used the oatmeal raisin cookie recipe.  Every time I baked the cookies, I “modified” them by throwing in chocolate chips.  That made the cookies bearable for my non-oatmeal-loving-chocoholic self.

Sadly, I trashed my copy of the booklet two years ago because I thought I would never use it again, and my sister can’t find hers.  So last year, I printed Quaker’s recipe for Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies and assumed that this was the same recipe I used to have.  Unfortunately, the cookies disappointed me.  They were very flat and quite frankly, ugly.  I am very much partial to fluffy-looking, soft cookies.

Hubby loves oatmeal raisin cookies — they are his favorite — so I set out to find a replacement recipe.  The one from  A Good Cookie by Tish Boyle yielded exactly I wanted.  The unexpected ingredient (at least to me) is shredded coconut.

I didn’t add chocolate chips because Hubby wouldn’t touch the cookies if I did, but my non-oatmeal-loving-chocoholic self is actually eating two or three of these a day.  Which is almost a miracle considering that I don’t usually like oatmeal raisin.  Yup, pretty soon pigs will start flying.

6 Comments on “The Perfect Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”

  1. katie says:

    Mmm, coconut! I’ll have to try that next time I bake oatmeal cookies. I have a different experience with the Vanishing cookies–that’s my all-time favorite. But they always come out chewy and moist when I make them, so I wonder what we’re doing differently? I use unsalted butter, always throw in some choc chips, and I bake to the shorter end of the range given in the recipe. Isn’t is weird that two people can get such different results? That being said, I will have to try the recipe from A Good Cookie, because it looks and sounds YUM!

  2. Beth says:

    These look delicious! Like Katie, I use the Vanishing recipe, too, and I only use chocolate chips. If they had raisins in them, nobody else here would eat them but me! I love coconut, so maybe I’ll make a batch of your new recipe for myself. 🙂

  3. Tonia says:

    Yummmm. Just take out the rasins and add in the chocolate chips for me. Do you ever watch the Food Network? There is a show on ther called “Good Eats”. The host Alton Brown does a show on just cookies and the different things that you can add/subtract from them to make them the way that you want. I believe for softer cookies you add more brown sugar. It might be something to look into just for refrence. It was quite informative.

  4. joanna says:

    I’ll have to try coconut next time. That sounds yummy. Maybe when it cools down here, I’ll actually dare turn on the oven!

  5. keri says:

    That looks yummy – wish I had a old copy of the booklet for you, but unfortunately I hadn’t even heard of it until now.

    Oh and chocolate chips with raisins? Yummy! That is the only way to eat them! =)

  6. ruth says:

    Todd doesn’t like chocolate chips in his cookies?!?! He prefers raisins over chocolate?!? (I’m bowled over here, as you can see) =P