Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

Ever since I purchased Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours, I have pored over the recipes and drooled over the lovely photos.  The recipe introductions are written in a chatty and personal tone, and the instructions themselves are very specific and clear.  I could spend many more enjoyable hours reading through this book.

For a birthday dinner this weekend, I decided to bake the Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes from Dorie’s book.

 chocchoccupcakes1.jpg

As I unmolded the cupcakes from the muffin tins, I noticed that they were a lot darker than the ones shown in the recipe photo.  I pondered this for awhile…and then it dawned on me.  I was supposed to melt two ounces of bittersweet chocolate for the batter and three ounces of it for the frosting…did I mix up the measurements?  Yup.  But fortunately, the cupcakes still turned out just fine!

chocchoccupcakes2.jpg

This is an excellent recipe — simple yet delicious.  Two thumbs up for sure!  If you have this book and you like chocolate, I highly recommend trying these cupcakes.

Stay tuned for another Dorie recipe review later in the week!

5 Comments on “Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. joyce says:

    mmm…those look good! last week i made the magnolia cupcake recipe with a simple, yet very good frosting – not too sweet at all. i’ll e-mail you the recipe when i get the chance =)

  2. Beth says:

    Those look absolutely delicious! And I’m making a new rule for myself: no reading your blog unless I’m feeling really full. Whenever I see your food pictures, I want to run to the pantry and grab something to eat! 🙂

  3. Tonia says:

    Yumm those look so good. I so love chocolate. Glad I just drank a glass of chocolate milk. 😉

  4. katie says:

    YUM! They look delicious!