Chocolate Biscotti

chocolatebiscotti2.jpg

Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. As you may have noticed, I am a tad addicted to her book right now!

This very chocolate-y biscotti reminds me of a brownie, except harder. My initial reaction was slight disappointment. There wasn’t anything wrong with the biscotti, but it didn’t make me swoon and exclaim that it was delicious. However, after a couple of days the flavor grew on me, so perhaps this is one of those items that tastes better overnight.

I baked the original recipe in the book, but I came across a few very talented and inspiring food bloggers who modified it with success. You can find them at Cream Puffs in Venice, Tartelette, Veronica’s Test Kitchen, Jumbo Empanadas, Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, and La Mia Cucina.

9 Comments on “Chocolate Biscotti”

  1. Tonia says:

    Ooooo they look so good. I am a soft cookie/brownie girl. Never cared for the hardness of the biscotti. I know that a lot of people dip them in coffee or what have you, but I prefer not to have to do that. LOL They do look good though. 🙂

  2. Veron says:

    They look terrific Caitlyn. You reminded me that I just need to make them again.

  3. Oiyi says:

    Yum, I love biscotti! Especially chocolate biscotti.

    I got this book for Christmas, but only have made one thing so far. It’s so neat to see you baking up a storm from the book.

  4. tut-tut says:

    Yes, this is just the kind of thing that you should put away in a tin (after it’s cooled!) for a week to “cure” before you dip one into your coffee. They look too good to hold off eating, but do; you’ll be glad you did.

  5. Beth says:

    Yum, I love biscotti. But I hardly ever make it for some reason.

  6. dorie says:

    Caitlyn, everything you’ve baked looks so fabulous! Reading what you said about the biscotti getting better after a few days made me think that you’re a more patient person than I am — I always think that things get better after a few bites!

  7. I just ordered this book on-line a few days ago. I can’t wait to get it and start making recipes out of it! Your biscotti look delicious!

  8. I’ve never made biscotti before. hmmmm…. maybe its time to try? I’m not such a good baker as the rebel in me resists any form of measuring, timing or exactness.

  9. joyce says:

    mmmm! i haven’t made chocolate biscotti in a long time…
    try the recipe in the “biscotti” book — i’ll try to find the page for you…