Peach Crumble

peachcrumble1.jpg

Last week I baked a Peach Crumble, which was essentially another version of the Plum Raspberry Crumble I made in July. I liked this one much better as it wasn’t nearly as tart as my first attempt.

Modifications:
:: 3 medium-large peaches in place of plums
:: omitted raspberries
:: increased amount of white sugar mixed in with peaches. I eyeballed this, but instead of 1/6 cup I probably added almost 1/4 cup.

I am curious about whether you all remove the skins from peaches prior to baking, and if so, how? I used a knife to score the bottom of the peaches with an X, and then immersed them in boiling water for 1 minute. The skin wouldn’t budge. I’ve read in multiple places that this is the way to remove skins, but it didn’t work for me. Perhaps it was the type of peaches? I used tree ripe. But the skin didn’t bother us so we still liked the crumble a lot.

peachcrumble2.jpg

Next time I hope to show actual knitting content!

10 Comments on “Peach Crumble”

  1. Garrett says:

    Oooh, that does look deliciously yummy!

  2. gleek says:

    mmmm, peaches! i’m actually going to make a peach upside down cake tonight 🙂

  3. Tonia says:

    Looks good. Too bad I don’t like peaches. 😉

  4. Christina says:

    I have some peaches that give up their skins easily, and others than just don’t want to be peeled. I take a sharp paring knife and pull the skin away from the fruit, without a flash boiling. Easy peasy. I cut them in half first to avoid cutting my self.

  5. Beth says:

    I have peaches sitting on my counter, so maybe I’ll make this today! I bought plums to try the other crumble, but forgot to buy some other things. The plums are still in my fridge, but I bet they’re bad by now. I hope I’m not the only person that does stuff like that. 🙂

  6. Jillian says:

    I made peach blueberry crumble last week and it was soooo good. I skin my peaches exactly like Christina does – cut them in halve and then use a sharp paring knife. That’s how my grandma taught me!

  7. Oiyi says:

    Yum, I like a scoop of vanilla ice cream with my crumbles.

  8. katie says:

    I peel peaches with a paring knife, but I just recently bought a neat serrated vegetable peeler from Oxo (Good Grips) that I think would peel them even more easily. I saw it reviewed in Cooks Illustrated and then I saw it at Linens & Things, so I bought it. It peels tomatoes so easily.

    The crumble looks delicious!

  9. I don’t personally peel my peaches because I’m lazy and I don’t mind eating the skin. But I did see Cooks Illustrated’s review of the serrated peeler that Katie mentioned, and it sounded pretty handy.

    Your crumble looks DELICIOUS. Almonds and peaches are always a good combination!

  10. Felicia says:

    Yum, that looks incredible!