Sweaters!

It’s been quite awhile since I attempted to knit a sweater. The last two I finished were in late 2005 and early 2006, and in my book they were not very successful projects. One didn’t fit well because I was simply careless about gauge, and I’ve never even worn it out. The other seemed okay at the time, but I didn’t wear it at all last year because the yarn felt too itchy around my neck and the sweater seemed to have “shrunk” from its post-blocking size, making the length too short for my taste.  For both projects, I struggled greatly with sewing in the sleeves.  After those experiences, I felt like I needed a time-out from sweaters (and sweater seaming in particular). 

I guess the break was long enough, because when my knitting mojo returned recently, I was totally interested in sweaters.  Go figure, huh? The first one I cast on for last month was Wicked by Zephyr Style.  I was inspired after seeing Jillian’s gorgeous version earlier in the year. And there is no seaming because it’s knit in the round from the top down! I managed to score the Artyarns Supermerino at a super duper price through someone’s destashing, which is always a plus!

wickedorange1.jpg

I took the above photo a couple weeks ago, and admittedly Wicked still looks exactly the same because I’ve been consumed with the other sweater on the needles.

centralparkhoodie1.jpg

Yup, it’s the Central Park Hoodie from the Fall 2006 KnitScene. I have got to be at least a year behind the crowd on this one. I am using Cascade 220, and I chose the color after seeing two gorgeous ones here and here. I am knitting the pieces separately as written in the pattern, and my goal is to take a seaming class to learn how to do it properly. We’ll see how that goes.  I have actually finished the back and am working on the left front, but I still have a looooong way to go.  So it will probably be awhile before I have another FO to show!

15 Comments on “Sweaters!”

  1. Your sweaters look great … love the orange colour. I knitted one and completed it but I never got around to put it all together. They are still in my cupboard. 😦 I’m starting to have knitting itching fingers after seeing your projects.

  2. Oiyi says:

    The orange is going nice for Wicked. And I also like the color for Central Park Hoodie. I am not a garment knitter, but maybe it’s because I feel like I don’t know how to seam properly. Plus, too many parts to sew together!That class sounds interesting.

  3. Tonia says:

    They are both coming out lovely. Glad you got your sweater mojo back as well.

  4. Jes says:

    Ooooh, I have a bit of sweater desire too! I can’t decide what to do, but those are both great choices. I’ve got so many options I can’t pick one, and I see you couldn’t either 😉

  5. jillian says:

    That’s the best kind of knitting compliment! Thank you!! And hooray for top-down sweaters. Love ’em! Your orange Wicked makes me think of a Creamsicle. Yummy.

  6. Ooh–beautiful colors! I’m sure both sweaters will turn out just lovely. You’re making progress by leaps and bounds!

    (Oh, and I think that taking the seaming class is a great idea–I was just mentioning to GPG this morning that finishing a sweater so it looks good is absurdly difficult and time-consuming in comparison to the actual knitting. (Maybe that’s why I don’t knit very many sweaters.) I really should find one myself; you’re giving me a good kick in the pants to start looking.)

  7. gleek says:

    ah the CPH!! that’s definitely in my ravelry queue. i love that sweater. can’t wait to see how yours comes out!

  8. Adrienne says:

    Your projects look fantastic!

  9. Beth says:

    Your sweaters are looking wonderful! When I knit my CPH, I used The Knitters Book of Finishing Techniques and it helped a lot.

  10. kudos for getting back on the horse. We sweater knitters welcome you back. Love the color of the Wicked!

  11. Leslie says:

    Oh boy, do I like that hoodie!! I’m anxious to try to knit one of Stephanie Japel’s items since she also does the top down method of knitting. I have the “boob holder” in one of my knitting binders and I think I might try that one first since it’s just a short, pouf-sleeved sort of shrug-like. I think it’s a free pattern from her website.

    I can’t wait to see your hoodie done!! And YAY you for getting Artyarns at a bargoooone!!

  12. isel says:

    Great sweater choices. I am loving that orangey color with the subtle variegation. Yum! And the CPH looks glorious in the gray yarn. My CPH is patiently waiting for me to get inspired. To be honest, the seaming still scares me a little bit, too. Hopefully, we’ll both get over that and enjoy some great sweaters before the winter is over. 🙂

  13. joyce says:

    great color choices! to me, they look like great progress!

  14. Julia says:

    Woohoo! Swater knitting is so exciting…I’m planning on doing Central Park this winter too, so I’m also behind! I should probably take a seaming class for it as well, I need to work on that. I wonder which one is easier, Rogue or Central Park? I have to decide which to do first!

  15. Suzie says:

    The sweaters look great! I’m working on a Wicked too–but I’ve been distracted and need to get back to it. I love the color of yours!